View Full Version : STESSCO boats feedback

Dantren
22-06-2007, 01:50 PM
I've done the rounds and have settled on a new Stessco 510 Albacore Centre Console.

Usage will be in the bay and offshore.

It seems to have the best combination of price, quality, setup and service.

Can anyone share their Stessco experiences - good or bad.

Thanks in advance.

Dan.

22-06-2007, 02:22 PM
Hi Dantren.
Wellcome to Ausfish!
I have a 4.2 Stessco Catcher, for what it is, ie a cheap pressed ally boat, I am well pleased.
Have had no problems at all with the boat in 4 years.
If I were to look for a similar style, ie economical pressed ally boat, I would certainly consider another Stessco, although I think I have read that some owners have had some dramas.
Probably the case with most , if not all, pressed ally brands, you get the occasional 'Friday arvo' special!

Mr__Bean
22-06-2007, 02:23 PM
Is Stessco the new name for Stessl?

From my recolection, which may not be entirely correct, the Stessl boat company went into volutary administration leaving many disgruntled customers cold after they had paid for their boats but had not yet taken delivery.

A google search should provide some details.

- Darren

22-06-2007, 02:38 PM
Mr Bean, I think Stessl became Makocraft.
Stessco is a different entity, I believe.

22-06-2007, 03:46 PM
yep, stessco are up at narangba and apparently have lifted their game heaps over the last few years to be qite a good tinny. they were known to be not real great in the past though. they also have a '4 seasons' brand name as well i think.

Seahorse
22-06-2007, 05:35 PM
bite the bullett and buy a stacer

Dantren
22-06-2007, 07:27 PM
Stessl still operates, and builds nice boats.
There is a sister company who call themselves makocraft. Also nice boats.

I've looked at all the brands - most of which are inflexible with owner input and special requests.

Sure, Fisher will do anything I want, but there is a six month wait.

The industry is going well when manufacturers can't keep up with demand.

One dealer was happy to sell me a boat, but needed it back for the next boat show????????

Seahorse - Stacer are Ok, but i think there is a lot of wasted room with the huge transom. They also have mass produced features like the ol' screw on plastic dashboards.

I also have little time for any manufacturer (tel-----) who markets boats to first time boat owners with boats that hardly have enough horsepower to get up on the plane.

I don't mean do have a whinge or dis other peoples boats - is it so bad to be fussy when you're putting up 30 big ones?

Thx. Dan.

Seahorse
22-06-2007, 07:55 PM
dan,
dont be backward in coming forward.
i find huge transom great. Can walk from side to side on the transom without any movement.
how many of the runabout dont have plastic dashboards. What boats dont have enough power to get up on plane.
I dont think u have any idea whatsoever.
It amazes me how one can make a short statement, not meaning a real lot, then someone has to try and rubbish other boats.
My first boat was a stacer. I bought a second stacer, and would buy another.
What boat do u have dan

Dantren
22-06-2007, 11:31 PM
Don't be offended Seahorse. I'm glad you are very happy with your Stacer.

My opinion shouldn't bother you if I don't know what i'm talking about.

Maybe I should adjust my writing style and elaborate next time.

I've just sold a Sea Jay 435 Escape. Before that I had a V-Sea, then a 560 Shark Cat, then a 5m Quintrex.

Anyway, do you have any feedback on Stessco boats?

Dan.

Seahorse
23-06-2007, 03:00 AM
i do get bit offended when someone rubbishes a boat that they have not owned.
Have u ever been in a new stacer. i got 489 with 75hp and goes real well.
a mate has a 455 stessco with a 50 merc and is happy.
well after owning all those boats u might see the light and go for a run in the new stacer

greg

Whitto
23-06-2007, 08:11 AM
:D G'Day Dan, I have owned a 3.85 Stessco Bass Tracker/ 15hp Yamaha, spent its whole life in Freshwater, bought this outfit 8yrs ago and have had not one ounce of trouble with either the Boat or the Outboard, Cheers Whitto;)

ozlongboarder
23-06-2007, 12:23 PM
I have an 98 model 3.75 Stessco Squire with a 15hp, I have had it for a year now. I cracked the floor along the keel weld about 30cm long. I had it welded during the week and had some reinforcing put in to stiffen the area up.

Its rated to a 25hp but I think it would be way over powered in anything but smooth water and would break the boat. My mate has a 3.75 Stacer and it is considerably stronger.

searunner
23-06-2007, 01:30 PM
I owned a 4.8 4 Seasons runabout which is made by Stessco I bought because i lived near the factory in Narangba. After 3 months of owning the boat paint was peeling in quite a few places in which I took the boat back to the factory they really did not want to know anything about it. I went and got it checked by a professional painter to give me a report who said they have not etch primed the boat properly. In the end they had to fix it. I sold the boat 6 months later saying I would never buy another Stessco. I now own a 5.25 stacer and I very happy with this boat. Sometimes it's worth spending the extra few $$$

Seahorse
23-06-2007, 03:13 PM
at least u now have a good boat, craig. hope dan is reading this as he started it and bagged stacer.

Dantren
23-06-2007, 04:51 PM
Good to hear there are a couple of good boats out there.

Looks like any brand can develop problems - ask WagsOnThe Water.

I guess all you can do is trust your builder/dealer to provide reasonable after sales service if there is a problem.

Dan.

Whitto
23-06-2007, 05:34 PM
Good to hear there are a couple of good boats out there.

Looks like any brand can develop problems - ask WagsOnThe Water.

I guess all you can do is trust your builder/dealer to provide reasonable after sales service if there is a problem.

Dan.
G'Day Dan, It's a bit like luck of the draw. I've seen brand new motor cars with major problems, u would think brand new anything u would have a reasonable amount of time before u had to attend to any problems, Boats like anything else are as good as the next it all depends what your needs are with that boat, If your have a desposable income you can go mad and have a boat purpose built, All I can say is go with what you need and what appeals too you and your financial capability, Cheers Mate and good luck Whitto:D