View Full Version : Tinnie Setups/Layouts/Modifications
21-06-2007, 08:19 PM
Tinnies come in all shapes and sizes, but what Im interested in seeing is how some of you have made your tinnies better, like storage space, placement of batteries, radios, fuel etc, what DIY/Modifications have you guys made to make your tinny a better place to be, could be anything from the simple beer holder to placement of seats, fishing platforms, eskies etc... pics would be great..
reason for the post is im in the market for one, just interested in seeing what some of you guys have done in terms of aftermarket fitout and ingenious solutions ;D
Ps its not intended to be a thread about which brand of tinnie/donk, im interested in seeing good practical ideas
21-06-2007, 10:06 PM
old 12 foot brooker/ 18hp tohatsu tiller/34 lb electric
welded a ali battery shelf on left hand side between seat and transom, sounder and gps bracket screwed directly onto seat on lhs, transducer fixed with silicon under rear seat. Glovebox for keys etc in middle seat. Frame made between fron seat and anchor locker and 3 mm ali chequer plate pop riveted to this for a sort of casting deck.
rough and ready and works for me, ideal for dragging over logs etc when up some rivers
jimbo 69
22-06-2007, 12:15 AM
old 12 foot brooker/ 18hp tohatsu tiller/34 lb electric
welded a ali battery shelf on left hand side between seat and transom, sounder and gps bracket screwed directly onto seat on lhs, transducer fixed with silicon under rear seat. Glovebox for keys etc in middle seat. Frame made between fron seat and anchor locker and 3 mm ali chequer plate pop riveted to this for a sort of casting deck.
rough and ready and works for me, ideal for dragging over logs etc when up some rivers
I'm interested in this thread as well, some pics would be good.
I've got a little 12ft stessl, I haven't had it long but it's an oldie, has a johno 15 on the back.
Has a false floor between the front and middle seat, I am thinking about puting a sounder in and would like to see how other people set theirs up.Also the glovebox in the middle seat sounds like a good idea.
spose i should take some pics of it.
Tailortaker
22-06-2007, 08:18 AM
I bought mine second hand, the previous owner put a good carpeted false floor in, he removed the middle seat to make more space, the gap between the front seat and bow has been covered in marine ply and carpet to suit the floor (seat carpeted to) to make a small casting platform. I put a couple of hinges and a sunken marine hatch handle on it ( the ring type) so now its a handy storage space. the fish finder is attached on the port side of the rear seat. I have a swivel seat in rear only. the eskey sits where the middle seat used to be. I bought the battery from battery world. its only small but big enough to run the sounder, nav lights and fluro light for a decent session ( never run flat yet ) it was to small for propper battery box but battery world said us a lunch box so now thats fitted to the floor tucked under rear set. on the sides where the middle seat was are pieces of carpeted ply, on them are rod holders, knife holders and clips which hold my landing neat and paddles. THe boat is organised and tidy when i'm fishing, everything has it place which makes life easy.
Chris Ryan
22-06-2007, 09:42 AM
Hi Mike - bloody good idea to start this thread mate. Even though I have a larger boat, I keep thinking a tinny would be good tohave for those days where the family doesn't want to come or I need the big V6 to tow to the ramp. Just the image of me in a 12footer........not a lot of room left :)
NormC
22-06-2007, 11:56 AM
Mike, my tinnie is used as a roof topper, so everything has to be removable. It is a 3.5 m Stacer, so with it's small size I have to try to keep everything in it's place. We spend a lot of time in it when away, so I've also tried to make it comfortable for Kathryn and me.
Floor is removable. Seats are on slides so positioin can be changed. Sounder / GPS is also on a slide and a RAM mount so position and angle can be changed. Extendable landing net is cut to length to fit neatly between thwarts and is connected to side of boat with velcro tape. Platform between front thwart and bow is foot rest for Kathryn and has the battery and some storage space under. Paddles, bait pump and gaff are clipped to back of rear thwart. Glove box in front thwart holds small items that I leave in the boat (torch, suction mounted port/starboard light, etc etc). Have a number of small storage pouches cable tied to spots around boat to hold small tools etc. Floatation vests are under front thwart. Bow mounted Minn Kota up front.
Hope the pics turn out. They are a bit rough and taken in the car port, so not great.
NormC
22-06-2007, 12:00 PM
More pics of my tinnie
NormC
22-06-2007, 12:14 PM
Last pics. I promise.
22-06-2007, 05:16 PM
Well Mike as soon as I saw this thread I just knew you had the bug to get your own tinnie real bad. Could it have been the weekend in the pin in #2? Well I could post a few pics up but not sure that #2 is a good example and you already know what it looks like. Lol I think I am getting as excited as you mate at the prospects of getting a little boat of your own. ;) Good luck with it all and if there is anything I can do to help just let me know.
paulos00
22-06-2007, 06:32 PM
Hi Mike
I have modified my 4.35 SP sea jay quite extensively, I take no credit for the "thought" process that has gone into the mods as a friend who built custom plate boats for 30 years specified what to do
The mods were
1) Pods added, this significantly increased the stability and improved the handling of the boat
2) Grab rail added to back
3) Step out of water, probably could have come up with something better
4) Side pockets
5) Rod rack / spear gun rack
6) Lockable under bow section and added fuel / storage / seat area
7) Sliding seat for driver
8) Side console with lockable storage
9) Anchor well and bow roller
10) Front bench seat
All of the above were done by an ali welder
Not to mention the usual, rod holders, bilge pump, nav lights etc
Best of luck
PS Just realised the kids have been playing in the boat again, that's not a real donut by the seat! (the real one is probably under the floor:) )
22-06-2007, 07:00 PM
Fellas, great ideas here, given me some ideas, funnily enough Paulos Ive pretty much decided to get a Sea Jay Territory which has plenty of floor space, like the storage ideas here, and Norm those sliding seats mate, now thats a hell of an idea,,,, keep those ideas and pics coming, much appreciated
mike
22-06-2007, 07:02 PM
mine is completely plain..side pockets..front and rear seats..just a fuel tank deck behind the rear seat...tiller steer motor...everything is basically open..more fishing space.
Paulos00,
Who did your mods?
I'd be interested in fitting a set of pods to my boat.
Some of the extras on my SeaJay 4M Bass N Barra
deathstar 3
22-06-2007, 09:20 PM
Paulos00
How do you find the pods?
Do they have much affect while underway or mainly at rest?
I like the idea of them also.
Thanks john
paulos00
22-06-2007, 09:32 PM
Hi Luc
Danny at Pacific Aluminum Trailers (might be Pacific Aluminum Campers), I don't have his number to hand sorry, but based in logan village, great guy, his workmanship is superb but I warn you he is extremely busy and may not be able to slot any work in for weeks / months.
paulos00
22-06-2007, 09:44 PM
Hi DeathStar3
The Pods are great they give stability whilst stationary and underway, get the boat to a plane quicker and stop a following sea / sudden slow down - stop, wash from swamping into the back of the boat.
The other nice thing is the boat doesn't get that "bounce" when getting in and out via them, as can happen with a step.
SCOTTYGC
22-06-2007, 11:22 PM
i havent had my boat long but have done a few things to make it more user freindly
I made a template up out of carboard for where i wanted to mount my sounder,gps,radio and stereo
i took it to the welder and he made it up for me
The arm with the sounder and gps on it swings out for when i am sitting down
With it folded away i will be getting somthing to hide it all and make it lockable for when im not with the boat
and maybe some tinted perspex on the back and over the top of them to protect them a bit from the sun when there are out
The white box has a bus bar in it and all my wires go into that box
I will be adding a few switches to the front of it for lighting and anything else i havent thouhgt of yet
heres a few pictures
Shane Dyer
23-06-2007, 08:12 AM
Who does all your welding and fabrications scotty?
24-06-2007, 07:47 PM
My tiny tinny.
The second picture is as I got it.
All the doors are open in these.
:)
Nice job ScottyGC :)
24-06-2007, 07:54 PM
And now all closed up.
'Junior' is a bit more grubby now.
Just a little bit of blood and guts around the edges now :)
o0odjo0o
25-06-2007, 12:49 AM
Hey finga what size tinny is that??
25-06-2007, 07:20 AM
3.7m Edgetracker
25-06-2007, 08:56 AM
Great thread Aigutso.
I'm toying with the idea of modifying my 4.2 catcher.
Sure will save a lot of $$$$$s over replacing it with another new boat................
I'm thinking, remove the thwarts, add side decks, a wave breaker set-up with a hinged central opening for easy anchoring, side pockets, maybe some sort of set up with the side decks to allow additional flotation above deck, some sort of fascia up front to mount electronics.
The pod idea looks great, also want some sort of boarding system ladder, step etc as I like a bit of spearing, and if knocked o/b etc.
Cost a few $$$$$$$, but I know the boat/motor/trailer is reliable and has been well looked after, and certainly cheaper than a new replacement.
Cheers, will watch this thread with great interest.
SCOTTYGC
25-06-2007, 10:03 AM
Who does all your welding and fabrications scotty?
brumbs marine in ashmore
Nowhere Bob
25-06-2007, 03:39 PM
Geeze finga, what have you got over your sheet metal worker? [ looking at that it'd have to be photos of him with a woman not his wife!]
Tell me, does the radio shelf make a hmmmmm noise when it opens?
Damn thats fine. double plus appreciation.
25-06-2007, 03:51 PM
Thanks Bob :)
I'm the sheety.
Actually I'm a broken down sparky that gets bloody bored. :'(
;D No, I don't think there's a Mmmmm from the radio bit. I think those noises are always in my head. :P
Cheers then. :)
Chris Ryan
25-06-2007, 04:39 PM
LOL - I'd expect a Star Trek or Star Wars door opening sound when all of that gets used. You should be proud of that effort Finga - wow.
Wahoo
25-06-2007, 04:51 PM
looks sweet Finga,
how do you find that matting you have on your floor?
25-06-2007, 05:35 PM
Matting is excellent.
None slip and a breeze to clean.
Cheap too so the esky stays put :)
Lots of other advantages too like sinkers stay where I drop them :)
I had a black rubber anti-fatigue mat but it was tooo hot for my little tootsies on a hot summers day.
tidy rig there finga, I noticed in the first pic there is a hydrofoil on the motor (may be mistaken) do you still have it fitted? or did you remove it? notice any difference if you did remove it.?
25-06-2007, 06:27 PM
Mate, I've removed it and put it back on.
It does improve planning speeds slightly but I spent ages setting the motor up correctly before hand.
25-06-2007, 09:41 PM
Finga,
some great ideas there and great use of space, post#21 pic with the sounders and the donger.. very impressive... given me a lot of food for thought... surprising what you can do with a tinnie.. wow
mike
25-06-2007, 10:37 PM
Finga that is some seriously good gear you have there. Where abouts are you can i get a quote for some work to my boat?
Cheers Chris
elliven
25-06-2007, 11:35 PM
g`day fellas ,hers what i`ve done to my tinnie.i was thinking of getting rid of the middle seat but i was concerned with losing strenght so i decided to leave it in still ok space though.i converted a storage box into a live bait tank,it isn`t huge but it does keep bream alive all day.
26-06-2007, 06:33 AM
Finga that is some seriously good gear you have there. Where abouts are you can i get a quote for some work to my boat?
Cheers Chris
Sorry mate. My disability doesn't allow me to do too much real quick.
It doesn't even allow me to say what I'm going to be able to do today.
That project took 2 months.
Nowhere Bob
26-06-2007, 07:59 AM
Finga, you should be damn proud of the job you've done. Interested to see more detail on draw under thwart.
elliven, you raise an interesting point. "getting rid of the middle seat but i was concerned with losing strength"
Any structural engineers out there in Ausfish community?
My thoughts were:
The welds [seat to hull] appear pretty light weight, and are on the sides rather than the top of the thwart.
This lead me to think that perhaps it's not so much keeping the top sides from spreading. More about damping torque, stopping the twist. But the drive axis is pretty much centered, so it doesn't need much.
Anyone got any thoughts?
Added
Talking to a bloke I work with. He told me when he used to pillage the reef as a commercial line fisher he did lots of experimenting with reconfiguring the dories, including pulling out the thwart for esky space. He said that the Booker 12's that they used, if middle seat removed, after a time, longitudinal cracks would appear.
This would sugest to me that there is a port - stbd torque issue, rather than a bowing bow to stern.
Thoughts?
Tailortaker
26-06-2007, 10:22 AM
The middle seat was removed from my tinnie by previos owner, i thing he added welds for strength ?? not sure i will find out.
elliven
26-06-2007, 10:55 AM
g`day fellas,
Finga i`m in the same boat as you ,pardon the pun, with my disability,it took me ages to finish my boat even with the little work that i did.i can only chase the fish when well
mini696
26-06-2007, 11:51 AM
Both the seats in my boat are removed, there is a lot of stringers to support the floor , and strengthen the hull.
I wouldn't go removing the seats without doing something to strengthen the sides.
Nowhere Bob
29-06-2007, 09:37 AM
Thanks Mini 696.
Still thinking about it, but I'm not going to weld bits in any where, I need to think about where the support is needed.
Finga: the shelf under the seat, simple slide - or draw rollers?
Do you lock it in with a bungy/ bolt /or latch or does friction hold it in place?
29-06-2007, 10:25 AM
Simple slider that has a raised lip at the front of the fixed bit under the seat so that the draw drops down a tad when closed and then gravity pretty well stops it from coming open.
Simple and effective. :)
bigtez
29-06-2007, 10:54 AM
Here's my tinnie. Have just redone the floor and put in a live well underfloor. Have also added plumbing for an esky/livewell and deck wash. Still have a few bits to tidy up after it has had a test run.
Terry
29-06-2007, 11:17 AM
:o:o
Now that's a flash one.,
Well done on the decor matey :)
Geeezz!! Finga.
The only thing you left out was the kitchen sink.................I think....
Nice work mate. I hope you don't mind if I copy that radio box. I'm a sheety myself but lack imagination.
Unfortunatly I also have a disabilty that slows my fishing.........my job;D . (no offence intended)
oddbudman
29-06-2007, 01:19 PM
bigtez, you are well and truly pimpin'
geez, i would love to see that beast on the water
MyWay
29-06-2007, 04:07 PM
here is my battery under rear casting deck
right hand side switch penal with sounder and GPS
front casting deck with glow box and storage under
four seats position and lots of rod holders
just ignore some rubbish inside boat :)
bigtez
29-06-2007, 08:51 PM
Now that's a flash one.,
Well done on the decor matey
One of the joys of being a trimmer.
bigtez, you are well and truly pimpin'
geez, i would love to see that beast on the water
Was thinking of naming it pimped, pimpin or something to that effect. Or maybe FLAMIN' BOAT!!!
Going for a test flight on the Redcliffe reefs tomorrow morning.
mobsta
01-12-2011, 08:31 PM
Here is my DART. I installed a Fish finder on a ram mount, holders for the oars/paddles,wired and installed all led lighting and I custom made a Battery box out of PVC celluka foam. Very happy with the result. All wired for a bow mount leccy in the future. Many thanks to all the other members for sharing there layouts in this thread and many others. Hopefully i have helped someone else with my layout.
74179741807418174182741787418374184741857418674187 74188
mobsta
02-12-2011, 10:18 AM
Unsure of why my pics are not thumbnails like everyone else's. ???
08/03/12 - All sorted ;D
Chamelion
18-11-2012, 11:53 PM
Figured I might share my current boat here now that I've 'personalised' it a little... Please excuse the fact she's a little dirty. Haven't had a chance to give her a proper clean since the last outing a few days ago.
This is her just before I made the purchase
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/529995_10151380744925432_265502690_n.jpg
Had a couple of leaks in the hull and a couple of broken welds that I didn't notice until after I bought it. Whilst I was having those repaired I decided to get some extra bracing put in for the floor. The current floor had developed some weak spots, so this served the dual purpose of making the boat a little more rigid and giving me some more life out of the current floor.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG247_1140x855.jpg
Had the leccy mounted.. Initially wanted a hornet trophy style alu plate welded on and then painted, but this was much cheaper and thankfully is rigid enough. There is a tiny bit of flex in the gunwale, but only noticeable if you are looking for it.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG255_1140x855.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG252_1140x855.jpg
Absolutely love the deck space.. The leccy foot control fits under the nose there out of the elements when not in use.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG366.jpg
Rear deck.. Plenty of room.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG349.jpg
Heaps of room under the rear deck... second photo shows a full size tin of lanox in there. It's big enough for 2x 60L eskies and a couple of tackle boxes no worries.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG356.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG358.jpg
Rear half of the rear deck houses the 25L fuel tank and a container of two stroke oil on the port side and on the starboard is my marine battery and small esky containing a few small tools, ductape and zip ties. Tends to hold a tin of lanox and some rain ponchos too.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG359.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG361.jpg
Sounder setup... Rear one is an older model, but still does a fantastic job. Has a fairly high pixel count, so I assume it was fairly dear back in the day. Front is a lowrance elite 5 sounder/plotter that I snagged for $299 incl navionics gold. Do intend on trading it out for a DSI model though. Not terribly keen on the gunwale mounting, but as the original one was all ready there I just plopped the new one up there as well. Does quite well though and I can swivel the elite 5 around so it's viewable from the front casting deck.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG351.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG354.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG355.jpg
Does have a switch panel and a ciggy socket.. Nothing fancy, but does the job and I quite like the location... Very handy being able to keep the phone on charge whilst out in the boat too. Especially if I end up having to use the phone for navigation in the event of my elite 5 kicking the bucket or the marine battery running flat.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG350.jpg
All round white light, which I'm definitely going to replace with a taller one that throws off less glare around the boat. One of those led ones with the vertically thin lenses.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG363.jpg
The 'captains chair' lol
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG364.jpg
Chamelion
18-11-2012, 11:53 PM
Front hatch on the casting deck that houses my deep cycle battery. Will likely convert this space into a live well at some point and relocate the deep cycle up under the very front hatch. It's lockable.. Handy as a deterrent if I'm leaving the boat alone for a short time though easy to circumvent for anyone who's keen enough to get in there.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG367.jpg
This is what lives in there - 120ah deep cycle in a battery box with a waterproof 50a manual reset circuit breaker bolted to the outside. Does the job very well and I'm disinclined to seek any form of improvement. The breaker has all ready saved my leccy once. I think I've hit the bang for buck curve in the right place. Whole lot (battery, box, breaker, wiring) was about $170 - Battery second hand but more or less un-used.
Had the strap tie downs made at a local fabrication shop for $2 each. Much better than the plastic ones that come with battery boxes. Strap was $5 at bunnings. Keeps it all in place nicely.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG251_1140x855.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG381.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG380.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG369.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG371.jpg
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG377.jpg
Leccy wiring fit just nicely through a gap here:
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/Dory/IMG370.jpg
Down the track I would like to switch the motor out to a four stroke forward steer and a GANAT Swingaway Steering Console.
Would also like something like this (https://whitworths.com.au/main_itemdetail.asp?cat=136&item=83413&intAbsolutePage=1) in somewhere, maybe to the right of the deep cycle.
Definitely want to organise some better rod storage.. I love this idea and plan to 'borrow' it.
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/P1180682.jpg
The other thing I'd like to do, upon replacing the motor at some point would be to pod each side of the rear, something along these lines:
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/PortPodandStep.jpg
kingcray
19-11-2012, 07:04 AM
lookin good chamelion. Some great ideas there. I havent seen too many leccies side mounted like that and it would suit my boat - 4.3m catcher. Could u tell me who installed it for you and what were the costs?
Also, the rear decks did you do those yourself? im looking for someone to help me out with fitting some to my tinny
Dean
Adam84
19-11-2012, 07:33 AM
Hey Guys, I have spent the past 4 months repainting/tidying up a 14ft Quinnie I picked up real cheap. The hull itself was pretty good and came with a 30hp OMC set up with forward controls on a near new redco trailer.
I paint stripped the boat (not a fun job!) before respraying in a white 2pac, installed a false floor, anchor well, side console and some elec goodies. Most recently I upgraded to a 2 yr old 40hp Suzuki outboard for reliability.
Its 99% done, just have a few tidying up bits and pieces to do (including the ausfish sticker which arrived friday!!) But with a total outlay of around $4200, I couldnt be happier with how its turned out!
Pics before and after are below.
brock13
19-11-2012, 10:17 AM
nice job Adam looks micky mouse.always good to see an ol tinnie get a new lease of life
Chas & Clarry
19-11-2012, 07:02 PM
Hey Guys, I have spent the past 4 months repainting/tidying up a 14ft Quinnie I picked up real cheap. The hull itself was pretty good and came with a 30hp OMC set up with forward controls on a near new redco trailer.
I paint stripped the boat (not a fun job!) before respraying in a white 2pac, installed a false floor, anchor well, side console and some elec goodies. Most recently I upgraded to a 2 yr old 40hp Suzuki outboard for reliability.
Its 99% done, just have a few tidying up bits and pieces to do (including the ausfish sticker which arrived friday!!) But with a total outlay of around $4200, I couldnt be happier with how its turned out!
Looks great Adam, It'll be a much more comfortable ride with the steering where you have it now...would have been bumpy as hell as far forward as it was (we had a tinny set up like that many years ago...not comfy!)
Tim and Trace
stevej
19-11-2012, 07:30 PM
chamelion the x125 is a bloody good sounder
i have a furno 620 and have trouble getting images i could get with the x125
Ive managed to pick up baby snapper schools in botany with salmon on top and kings underneath clear as day
Chamelion
19-11-2012, 07:46 PM
lookin good chamelion. Some great ideas there. I havent seen too many leccies side mounted like that and it would suit my boat - 4.3m catcher. Could u tell me who installed it for you and what were the costs?
Also, the rear decks did you do those yourself? im looking for someone to help me out with fitting some to my tinny
Dean
Had the leccy installed by the same local mob who repaired my hull cracks, broken ribs and a couple of other broken welds. Cost of getting them to do the leccy was about $80.
That's a really nice improvement :D
chamelion the x125 is a bloody good sounder
i have a furno 620 and have trouble getting images i could get with the x125
Ive managed to pick up baby snapper schools in botany with salmon on top and kings underneath clear as day
Yeah, I'm quite impressed with it. I almost hesitant to say it, but I find it does a better job than my Elite 5. I tend to just use the Elite 5 as a chart plotter and the X125 as my actual sounder. The X125 not only seems to pick up fish better but it seems better at showing different bottom types, structure and most of all it manages to keep a track of the depth at speed. The Elite 5 seems to lose it's marbled and the depth reading will just start flashing and I have to slow right down for it to re-acquire the bottom. It does this at several different transducer heights... Maybe the ducer is just too close to the prop, not sure. At any rate, I've no intention of retiring the X125.
oldjoe
25-01-2013, 03:11 PM
Looks great Adam, I'm just about to start on a 5.2m custom centre console myself.
I have just moved the battery forward and centre under the seat and am looking at wiring options for sounder/nav/other goodies.
Does anyone have pics or diagrams on how to set up muliple accessories...I am a newbie at electrical things.
I have mobstas...very helpful, detail of diagram would be helpful
kind_cir
25-01-2013, 03:48 PM
4 meteres of 100x 6 mm ally plate, a drill, angle grinder and pop rivit gun.
Outboard jack plate.
Tool holder
Side pocket
Sounder mount.
cwcarter
25-01-2013, 11:58 PM
Have quite a few pics of my 82 Quintrex fishabout mkII resto in my albums.
Boofhead03
21-06-2014, 12:34 PM
A few photos of my budget tinnie modifications.
Photo:
1-from the stern showing the bimini mounted rod holders
2-closeup of the rod holder- conduit cable tied to the bimini support
3-depth sounder mounted on a bracket through the rowlock bracket
4-glove box with cup holders
5-glove box with a volt meter, tacho/ hour run meter and one switch to turn off the charge from the outboard and one switch to turn off the battery output
6-inside the glove box showing the battery, voltage regulator to regulate the output from the outboard to charge the battery and the back of the switches
7-can't have too many cup holders ;D
Bennybumfluff
26-01-2015, 08:35 PM
Great thread. I stole some great ideas off it. I just finished doing a few mods to my 5.2m quintrex dory. A bow deck to store fuel and other bits, anchor well and padded rear seats(who likes sitting on cold aluminum). One of the padded seats has a cutlery insert from a drawer to store knives/lures etc... Also a rear storage box for safety gear etc... I had a bit of ply, foam and fabric left over so I converted my eski to an additional seat.
I'm in the process of constructing a box for all my electrical gear
Angryant
27-01-2015, 06:33 AM
Last year I bought a TABS 435 plate tinnie with a 40hp Mercury tiller steer.
I stripped the boat, sold the Mercury and replaced it with a 60hp 4st Suzuki Bigfoot after giving the hull a coat of paint.
I also installed a side console unit, put in a 7" Garmin sounder and I have started replacing the carpet.
It punches well above its weight in sloppy conditions.
Overall, I'm really happy with the outcome.
The old in Pic 1; the refurbished in pics 2,3,4.
toddo1
27-01-2015, 10:10 PM
Nearly finished my 420 explorer, bare aluminium 2 bench seats! So I gutted it and build to my plans will throw some pics up ASAP! Full casting decks, 7 ft rod locker console hydrolic steering side console hookless carpet etc etc done evrything smick
chocolatemoose
29-01-2015, 09:44 PM
ive been sneakily looking at ideas on this thread for our tv show :P
bushwacker
30-01-2015, 12:39 PM
Great thread, this is my 4.6m Dory most of the major mods were already done when i bought it107412107413107414107415 i have just added bait tank some safety and electronic gear + carpet, haven't seen any boat collars on here yet i have to say they are a fantastic thing add stability, positive floatation, stay a bit drier, and the biggest bonus for me is that it increases the boats load carrying ability i do 100+ km runs/camping regularly so carry heaps of stuff and jerry cans etc etc. Have a 60hp 4 stroke yammie pushing it, that is a 45l nearer 50 if u fill to top fuel tank, home made bait tank which works a treat 20+ big popeyes no worries. The set up at the back works really well can easily stand up and steer with the customary pvc throttle extension and gives good access to the bait tank and motor etc.107416107417107418107419107420
bushwacker
30-01-2015, 12:47 PM
10742110742210742310742410742510742610742710742810 7429
Chamelion
09-01-2022, 02:29 AM
Had to sell my last boat (on previous page) back in 2015-ish owing to financial difficulties and moving to another city. Fell out of fishing for a few years, but a few weeks ago my son let me know he wanted to get into fishing, so i bought a bunch of gear.... and a boat. Scored the boat pictured, which is an ally craft 395 avalon, mercury 25hp sea pro, motorguide cable steer for $2500. Have since serviced the motor, tidied it up cosmetically, replaced the sounder with a hook 7 reveal, bought a 100ah lithium battery, replaced the wheels, tyres, wheel bearings and winch and today I picked up a minn kota i-pilot for it to replace the motorguide. Estimate that I've got about $6k in it. It's possible that I might have been able to get something better for that money right off the bat, but I've really enjoyed working on it with my son and that is priceless. She goes quite well too.. clocked 50.5km/h on the GPS yesterday with both of us in the boat (200kg between us) with a fairly worn out looking prop.
09-01-2022, 03:05 AM
Good to see you’re back into it. You’ll have to use the go advanced button and upload pics. The attachments aren’t working.
Chamelion
09-01-2022, 12:04 PM
This was at purchase, before my son and I did any work on it.
https://i.imgur.com/jLk4cey.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/l4qEjc0.jpg