View Full Version : Houseboat 2007 - Bream feast !!
craigie
19-06-2007, 02:13 PM
Just spent 4 days with a group of work mates plonked down the Pin on a Houseboat.
We basically anchored the boat in the one spot for the whole trip and threw the lines out the back.
At various stages, usually tide changes and Dawn & Dusk, the fish would fire up.
We put a steady stream of quality Bream in the esky for the entire trip, which equated to our most successful trip in the 17 year history of this annual voyage.
We tried a selection of baits inc, Mullet Gut, Mullet Fillet, Chicken Thigh, Yabbies, It didn't matter they all caught fish.
The quality and numbers of Bream this year at Jumpinpin have been sensational.
Craigie
Pic one - 35cm bream from the first night
pic two - "Starry" with 34cm Bream
Pic Three - Catch for the first 2 days only
Pic Four - "The Sav" with the fish of the trip at 37cm, caught Sunday night.
19-06-2007, 02:36 PM
Thats a good bag there mate. Why werent thye there a couple weeks ago/ Well done, sounds like a great trip.
Chris Ryan
19-06-2007, 02:54 PM
Great stuff mate! They are starting to heat up later this year, but they are coming in force.........or is it just my inability to angle properly?? :D
whitingkiller
19-06-2007, 04:01 PM
great catch there boys!
if you don't mind me asking, where abouts did u anchor the houseboat?
craigie
19-06-2007, 04:05 PM
We were part of the typical weekend flotilla in Tiger Mullet Ch !!
Certain parts of this location fish better than others ???????????
lifestyle
19-06-2007, 04:35 PM
Good old tiger mullet channel. I remember about 18 years ago we goy stuck into the ludrick there usual spot on the well worn bank.. I sometimes wonder if there still there. Top catch mate
Lifestyle
Dont know if i would have kept that many, but would have liked the action
craigie
19-06-2007, 06:23 PM
Lifestyle,
The Luderick spot is also a good Bream spot !!!
I too have caught luderick from the same area, although I have not targeted them for a few years now. We did however foul hook a Luderick on the weekend.
JuJu,
Always a good debate topic, how many fish to keep ??
Our catch worked out to be 15 fish per person for a 4 day trip. As no one family had more than one representative on the boat, it roughly equates to two feeds of fish per family.
I can assure everyone a stack of just legal size fish were released alive. It's a fun fishing trip not a wholesale slaughter & fish-cleaning trip !!
The good thing about the houseboat, if it's a bit chilly stay indoors and leave a few lines out baited, check them at half-time in the footy or when you need to get up for a tinkle or a fresh stubby etc etc. Most of the serious fishing was done during gentlemen's hours on the smaller daytime tides. The huge evening tides when the current was flying, a bait could sit for hrs and not get touched.
Craigie.
19-06-2007, 06:30 PM
well done Craig..looks like a top trip. No need to justify the number of fish.
Great White
19-06-2007, 07:12 PM
Top catch craigie, we hired a house boat for the Touchy M&G caught a few throw back and a couple of just legals :) Good to see there are bream at the pin I was starting to think that there were none ;)
ssab1
19-06-2007, 07:27 PM
nice.. the quality has been improving.cheers alex.wish i was on a houseboat last friday night.
19-06-2007, 08:34 PM
Good to see the yearly Booze and Bream jaunt went off ok, hope everyone stayed afloat.
Didnt happen to arrange anything with Sav for the Monduran or Awonga trip mate.
Freeeedom
20-06-2007, 07:21 AM
Well done - a nice catch of quality fish
Cheers Freeeedom
geoff72
20-06-2007, 08:18 AM
great trip,quailty catch
20-06-2007, 02:43 PM
You and Sav.... what combination.
Just add another -8 degrees to the temperature, a lack of fish and you could be in Hobart Tassie.
Oh... did I mention THE FRIGGIN SNOW !!!!!!!!!!
20-06-2007, 04:01 PM
Good catch of Bream there Craigie, very well done looks like a good trip was had for sure!
thesav
20-06-2007, 10:13 PM
It was a great trip and probably the best run of bream in our 17 years. Our limit was 25cm so anything under that or borderline went back. No running aground for once this year as well.
The soft plastic guys were there again drifting past us and catching a fish every 2 casts. Their quality was a bit sus but they had something on the end of their line that attracted the fish. I threw one around for a half hour to tag a 15cm flathead - so gave it away.
Webby, we did discuss the Northern trip at some stage but as usual made no decisions. I'll rediscuss with Craigie and see what we can come up with (without the stubbies)
Sav
And where is Bugman now?
jackson4300
20-06-2007, 10:40 PM
Some nice bream there mate, well done. A fair bit of filleting there, hehehe.
By the sounds of it, you were roughing it for most of the time...