View Full Version : need some addvice for kids first trip
ice break
18-06-2007, 11:49 AM
hi .
want to take some kids on there first fishing trip .
thought would pump some yabys and fish for some whiting around the pine river .
Is there any good yaby flats in the pine or is there any shops that sells some live worms.any help would be appresiated.
want to get the kids into the best hobby in the world.;D
from ice break
alleycat
18-06-2007, 12:00 PM
Cant help you with yabbies but try and take a bit of squid to cut into small strips for winter whiting, and do you have a boat?, also bullocks heart cut into very thin work like strips is a killer on winter whiting.
Havent been down dohles rocks for awhile but im sure the bait shop is still there....if not the shop at the caltex at carseldine sells good worms, and i have seen yabbies there too..........not real sure about any yabbie banks along the pine but
Little grey men
18-06-2007, 12:30 PM
G'day Ice Break, I agree with JuJu, the Caltex at Carseldine is worth stopping at.
I sometimes stop there before heading over to Recliffe. I fish with my five year old boy every weekend, and have always found Redcliffe to be quite productive with lot's of kid friendly places to fish.
I think that the trick to getting kid's interested in fishing is try to make sure they catch " anything " on their first trip.
My boy loves his fishing now. He has his own tackle bag with soft plastics, lures ( minus the trebles of course ) The last two weeks he's been tossing little tiny spinners around North Pine Dam. He watched his Grandpa pull a three pound Yellowbelly out, and now that's the next fish on his hit list.
I also keep a fishing album with photo's of everything he catches, and interesting things we see ..........time well spent mate.
shayned
18-06-2007, 01:06 PM
Mate best thing to do is downsize the hooks so the kids at least catch something to keep their interest. Nearly time to chase gar off of the jetty at shorncliffe. Try onion bag of bread in the water tied off to the jetty to get a burley stream going 1-2 hrs before high tide some no. 12-16 hooks and floats, 4lb line and small peices of prawn flesh for bait.
B_E_N
18-06-2007, 01:13 PM
can even jig for pike off the shorncliffe jetty aswell, useing your long shank whiting hook with a 30cm trace to a sinker, just put on a little bit of wool and jig, or you can also get the pre rigged bait jigs from a tackle shop.
shorncliffe rock wall also holds some nice whitting at dark on a high tide so thats also an option
Chris Ryan
18-06-2007, 07:23 PM
Hey mate. I took my boy fishing from about 4yrs. He has caught some great flatties on squigies but has a dry run of late and has lost a little interest. Am going to try some of smaller hooks with bait to just get him going again. Sometimes though mate you find they are more interested in sandcastles, reading books or playing soldiers with sticks. It doesn't matter though as it is all good quality time with the kids!
I wouldn't fish yabbies with kids first time fishing, they are gone too quick and can be quite hard to hook fish on. I would buy a bait jig and find a bait school and let them catch baitfish......seems c*** to you but they will like it. Then slowly upgrade as you go out for more trips, let them set the pace. Also....very important, Take LOTS of Food. It's always one of the first questions, I'm Hungry!!! Good luck
ice break
19-06-2007, 09:12 AM
thank to everyone for replying and the advice been great help .ive got a boat but might take them of the banks for there first trip. live at murrumba downs so prity close to dolys rock .thanks foe the help
ice break;D
Chris Ryan
19-06-2007, 02:49 PM
No worries mate - happy to help a fellow Dad out. The food thing Sean mentioned is critical!! I also went to Ca$h Converters and got a portable DVD player for cheap for the boat. When they get a little sick/tired of fishing, whack it into the ciggy lighter and they can watch something in peace......they usually nod off too which gives you a little longer on the water if you want to.
19-06-2007, 09:26 PM
I wouldn't fish yabbies with kids first time fishing, they are gone too quick and can be quite hard to hook fish on. I would buy a bait jig and find a bait school and let them catch baitfish......seems c*** to you but they will like it. Then slowly upgrade as you go out for more trips, let them set the pace. Also....very important, Take LOTS of Food. It's always one of the first questions, I'm Hungry!!! Good luck
Sean, I agree 100% with your suggestion. Last summer found me holidaying in Hervey Bay, the bait was prolific off the Jetties, so the kids had a ball hooking the live bait one after another - most returned except the ones who found a little body piercing fun on the end of Dad's hook.:-X
Then we took the boat out and found a school around a red cardinal, with plenty of larger shapes showing in amounst them - according to the sounder. my 14YO caught a 40cm Spottie in the dorsal fin with the bait Jig as it was innocently swimming past. It was a hoot!!