View Full Version : Wello saturday 16th -
SURLY
18-06-2007, 08:50 AM
Hi All,
Yes I have read all the comments on bagging out, revealing spots etc but basically i have always used the site as a source of information and will continue to do so, I hope others do the same. Actually if it wasnt for members of this site I wouldn't have been exposed to the joys of plastic fishing.
Further to this i have views on bag limits and legal size but just because I wont keep a squire smaller than 40cm doesn't mean others should. Generally we only take enough for a feed, hey but whats a feed to me may not be the same to you. Unfortunately I am allergic to fish so generally a couple of 45cm squire would be more than enough for the family.
Anyway a mate and myself decided to brave the strong winds saturday morning of wellington point. There was only a couple of other boats out there probably something to do with the white caps.
We persisted for 3 hours picking up quite a few fish. No real size but a couple of nice 48cm squire and one around 42cm were put on ice. We let go around 6 around the 35-39cm range with only probably another 10 or so squire caught in that session. Lost a couple of decent fish but probably would have been around the 40cm mark.
Saw an amazing site, snapper feeding on the surface. There was heaps of bait around getting smashed. As we motored back over the reef i saw a dead bait fish struggling on the surface and this snapper probably around 50cm just came up and grabbed him. About 20 minutes later a school of about 5 baitfish were skipping along the surface hotly pursued by another snapper in the 45-55cm range. it was incredible until the dolphins came>:(
The 5' gulp minnows and the 4' swimming mullets were the plastic of choice.
Anyway thats my report.
18-06-2007, 09:15 AM
A good interesting report! Many thanks!
I wonder why we feel that we have to go on some sort of a guilt trip for catching a feed. Obviously with a bag limit of five snapper, we are only ever going to catch a feed and if lucky, a few extra to freeze for the 'tween seasons. None of us will be squandering the resource though.
Anyway, "Well done!" on your catch and for sharing your observations of the snapper feeding on the surface with us. :)
wetnwild11
18-06-2007, 09:37 AM
Hi Surly, we were out on Sat morning also, we ended up with a feed. Plenty of garfish in the berley . It was to windy for plastics with a leccy, so resorted to bait.
I was blown away by 3-4 bigger fish. Sounds like you did well with the plastic. Very interesting post m8.
Eric
Aquarius
18-06-2007, 09:45 AM
A just reward for braving the sloppy conditions on Saturday.
Well done.
Yep i have also seen the Snapper feeding on the surface usually during summer time when all those jellies are around.
They really smash into the jelly fish its an awsome site.
Cheers Brent
alleycat
18-06-2007, 09:50 AM
Good lesson learnt there mate, if i ever see anything chopping the surface i cast into it and most times it is snapper, i managed 16 legal snapper in a couple of hours in february when they were chopping one morning and i thought they were trevally, also in regard to jellyfish!, lots of little bait fish get in with the jellies to hide so always try a few casts near them. cheers.
So that means there must be plenty of squire around Wello at the moment but I heard the place is fished out and you saw fish feeding on the surface I don't know who to believe and more.
Well done on the catch
sounds like a exciting outing...would have been someting to see!!!
richieboy
18-06-2007, 12:37 PM
So that means there must be plenty of squire around Wello at the moment but I heard the place is fished out and you saw fish feeding on the surface I don't know who to believe and more.
Well done on the catch
The smart comments are getting pretty mundane now Tinn. The other threads just about done mate so I reckon you've made your point. Besides, I don't think anyone's said Wello is "fished out", just heading that way if pressure isn't relieved a little......Enough said and each to there own.
I thought you said you weren't that smart arsed sort of bloke.:-/ I'm sure you're not, but let's just get on with fishing IMO.
Top fish Surly, great report. yet to see em on the surface myself. :o
Richie
Wasn't trying to be smart Richie boy it is just funny how one persons says one thing and another person says the opposite. I just amazes me how people come to some conclusions
Back to fishing for me thanks Richieboy wish my wife would say that to me ;D
Deiter
18-06-2007, 02:45 PM
Good reprt Surly - very interesting.
Tinn, the only reason ppl say smart@rse things is to be funny in a smart@rse kind of way. Just ask my missus, she'll tell ya I am the king of smar@rse.:)
As Richie said, its getting that old, archeaologists are starting to dig it up. :-X
This isn't directed at you solely, as that thread has left a bit of an aftertaste around here. And isn't that a sarcastis shame.::)
It's also true that there were some odd conclusions stated. I can only put this down to the fact that this is a public forum, and you don't have to be a Rhodes' scholar to post your opinion. Even the blind and uneducated have an opinion. I only wanted to make the point that it would be a shame if you couldn't catch a fish there because these same scholars make so much noise the fish flee to Pakistan. Take your bag limit everday if you want (if you can catch 'em), no problem at all there, as long as you eat them . Anyone who tells you otherwise, well, if you haven't got anything nice to say.....:-X
Damo
18-06-2007, 06:50 PM
Good result Surly,
When they are on the surface like that it's unbeatable fun throwing placcies at them, and not having time to let it sink because there's no need to. Keep the posts coming - 2 fish is plenty if you don't eat them, that's good!
See you on the water!
Chris Ryan
18-06-2007, 07:17 PM
Good report mate. I do the same as you - Ausfish is my UBD & Encyclopedia of fishing. I like to hear the places people get wins and work out spots that are similar to try outside of the "normal" places.
Keep the reports and the pics coming, I love em.
18-06-2007, 08:23 PM
Good going Surly. I too have seen the same not that long ago. The little baitfish dance across the top of the water often. It gets me all excited knowing firstly that there are baitfish but mostly because I know something is chasing them Unfortunately it always happens out of casting distance for me but look forward to the time it happens next to me. Keep up the good reports.
ddobson
18-06-2007, 09:12 PM
Nice story i went out with brother for a quick flick on sunday and saw the bait fish jumpin from something big at only 7 pm and had to come in but if i knew that they were large snapper feedin i would have told the missus not to wait up lol.
ddobson
18-06-2007, 09:16 PM
Nice story i went out for a quick flick sunday at 7 pm with brother and also saw the bait fish jumpin in the glassy water (sounded like light fire crackers) and knew somthin big was chasin but if i knew it was large snapper feedin i would have told the missus not to wait up for us lol.
Adamy
19-06-2007, 01:08 AM
Good report Surly!! Brent (Aquarius) has it right - in early spring/summer we look for the jellies with no legs - if we see them - we know we're in for a good session - the best thing about it is you have a better chance of landing the bigger fellas because they are taking the plastics off the top and not the bottom - less chance they are going to rub you off on the coral.
Nice work and keep the reports coming - you're not the only one who learning something!!
Adam
SURLY
19-06-2007, 07:45 AM
Thanks guys
The number of baitfish being smashed up that morning was amazing, although i think the main culprits were the tailor and long toms. We actually often had a large number of hardyheads seeking refuge under the boat. (pity we were drifting)
The snapper feeding on the surface was only in about 12 feet of water and happened around 9 in the morning. i definitely think that the cloudy water due to the rough conditions extended our bite time.
Also a first for me was to catch 2 30+cm bream on plastics, i had caught legal ones before but never over 30cm.
My mate will post a picture of the squire later to day.
Rufus
19-06-2007, 10:33 AM
A photo of the catch.
beefaman
19-06-2007, 12:22 PM
Someone I know fished a place I know on the weekend, and got numerous squire and 4 nice size bream (all over 30) as well. Seems to be hotting up in certain places around lower South East Queensland.
Chris Ryan
19-06-2007, 02:46 PM
Someone I know fished a place I know on the weekend, and got numerous squire and 4 nice size bream (all over 30) as well. Seems to be hotting up in certain places around lower South East Queensland.
That new cloaking device works well mate ;) Beautifully concealed!! LOL
beefaman
19-06-2007, 07:32 PM
Wasnt me, and wasnt there 8-) ... or was it ::)
Great White
19-06-2007, 09:34 PM
Would have been a sight to see as I have not seen it for myself as yet :o Well done on getting a feed :) I think the recent rain and cold snap is behind the improved fishing over the past week.
Lets hope the wind drops so I can go for a friday night fish at Mud ;)
20-06-2007, 06:51 AM
We're getting very generalized now. The whole of SEQ has become a Spot X. ;D
Chris Ryan
20-06-2007, 07:06 AM
Based upon the gist of things at the moment, I thought I would share MY secret spot X to you all. I hope it is not too specific to get me in trouble too!! ;) ;) ;D
20-06-2007, 07:25 AM
Based upon the gist of things at the moment, I thought I would share MY secret spot X to you all. I hope it is not too specific to get me in trouble too!! ;) ;) ;D
Come on Big Puff......................is the spot at the intersection of the 2 lines? Or at the end of the tangent lines that radiate out from the dessection of the two tangent lines?:-/
Hows a guy supposed to drop anchor based on that X? >:( And is it to the same scale as Google Earth the pic comes from? ;)
gee fishing is such a scientific art now........................:P ;) ::) :o
Chris Ryan
20-06-2007, 09:07 AM
Hi Mike,
To work out where the spot is, disect the two rightangles to an equilateral triangle. Then take the square of the hypotenuse, add that to the length of the opposite sides, multiply by your age, then divide by the number of litres of fuel you have used over the past 12 months. The answer should give you a location somwhere close the infamous spot X......
Puff :D