View Full Version : Jacks in the Logan??

barraman
17-06-2007, 06:30 PM
Whent for an arvo fish with the wife up the Logan today and landed 2 small jacks on the placcies both fish only 20cms but crikey they hit hard!!
Has anyone ever caught jacks in the logan? and if so any size about them.

Cheers, Mick

BennyJ
17-06-2007, 11:34 PM
Mate caught heaps of them , spent my life growing up on that river and i can tell you there are some good fish swimming around . You did well to bag some jacks this time of year we would be chasing jew now . The jacks on a stinking hot summer arvo with a dusk high tide can be like a north queensland rock bar at times. they go off

Well done

timor 2
18-06-2007, 08:20 AM
yeah barraman got a few jacks last year using Mullet flesh during winter while i was fishing for breamdown near marks rocks. How was the water yesterday is it still a bit fresh after all the rain????

_Dan_
18-06-2007, 08:46 AM
Hey mate,

You werent in a white tinny with an electric by any chance?

I saw a couple working a certain area with plastics while out yesterday

whitingkiller
18-06-2007, 08:50 AM
yeah barraman got a few jacks last year using Mullet flesh during winter while i was fishing for breamdown near marks rocks. How was the water yesterday is it still a bit fresh after all the rain????

Timor2 - That raing had no effect on the water colur in the logan
i fished marks rocks on the long weekend and the water is clear, which is not
good for the logan if you wish to catch any decent fish.

barraman
18-06-2007, 09:16 PM

Got both jacks at marks rocks,plus heaps of undersize breambo's, as for the water it was crystal clear and salty as hell!!

Cheers, Mick

barraman
18-06-2007, 09:32 PM
Hey mate,

You werent in a white tinny with an electric by any chance?

I saw a couple working a certain area with plastics while out yesterday

"Hey Dan" No not me in the white tinny, all though we were giving the placcies a good hiding! we didn't hit the water till 2:00pm,
we've got a plain 3.8 tinny with bow rails and blue ausfish sticks up front and an over confident missus who thought she had my number after catching 2 legal bream in a row before I even had a touch::) but alas I won out with the 2 little jacks and a nice moses at 36cm on a live herring, thank christ for the moses or I'd still be hearing about her good fortune:-[

Cheers, Mick