View Full Version : Search for the 40cm+ bream
robdiep
17-06-2007, 11:03 AM
hi all,
headed back down the GC again last nite in search for 40cm+ bream. it was quite slow and quiet everywhere we went. we went to spot x for our final flick before we head home.
bream were smashing up my cut up bait. landed 2 large bream but not quite 40cm. 1 was a 38cm just 2cm shy of my target but still a nice catch with 6lbs. the other was 35cm.
my bro in law was flicking sp's and he landing quite a few undersized flatties. i saw him getting quite alot of fish so i decided to put a sp on. first cast.. waited abit.. winded in.. ah crap snag.. tried pulling it out, but then it started moving, i'm on.. it was a decent one.. fighting hard.. up comes a good size flatty. 50cm+. my first decent fish on sp. went home happy, but no 40cm+ bream.
maybe next week.
robbie
Not 40 but good enough in my books....:)
laney
17-06-2007, 11:34 AM
hey mate,
i also live on the Goldie and struggle to get descent bream in salt. i live on a fresh water canal and i have cracked the 40cm mark numerous times with my biggest goin 42cm. Awesome fish there mate good work. i hope i can start getting some decent ones in the salt too
cheers Josh
White_Steenbras
17-06-2007, 02:19 PM
Nice Breabo's mate, keep giving those placcy's a go mate.
Cheers WS
chief
17-06-2007, 04:36 PM
The old bream saved us in the wind saturday arvo,A couple of tearers there mate
robdiep
18-06-2007, 11:58 PM
thanks all for your comments..
sure is fun catching fish on SP's.. but at the moment i still prefer bait.. dont get me wrong i will still use both.. just some days bait will outfish plastics and some other days it's vice versa
robbie
sharkbaithoohaha
19-06-2007, 05:54 AM
Nice Bream there Robbie.Can I ask what bait did the job for you?Personally I get the BIG bream on small live poddy mullett,on a gang of small size1 hooks in a suicide pattern.
alleycat
19-06-2007, 09:00 AM
Robbie ive had real good catches of bream on the culprit swim fin grub in motor oil colour, big w has them, match it with a jighead with a no/2 hook and you should go well, 3 inch berkley minnows in smelt scales also a good plastic for bream.
the gecko
19-06-2007, 12:13 PM
38s a ripper.
I reckon the big bream haven shown up yet. Give em another 3-4 weeks, then try mullet flesh at night.
Chris Ryan
19-06-2007, 02:57 PM
Great catch mate. That 38 will become 40 over the years.........."the older I get the better I was" theory :)
84mick
20-06-2007, 11:25 AM
Thats still a great catch mate!
Cheers, Mick.
WOW well done! Nice to see some bream comming in to the Sea Way.
20-06-2007, 09:38 PM
They are really good quality bream, congrats!
It's only a matter of time for the big one though, throw a cast net in the seaworld penguin pool when the staff are not looking, there's heaps of 40+ cm bream in there!!;D I'm sure they won't mind if you only keep one!!
21-06-2007, 04:24 PM
Well compared to my zero Cm Bream and flat head you are doing extremely well. Once I get my act together in a coupla weeks and my ribs heal, I'll be heading out to try for some quality fish like this.. Nice haul mate :D
SheppyG
22-06-2007, 12:04 PM
Hi Rob,
nice catch down there on the Goldy. I had never seen a bream bigger than my biggest of 38cm also. Until a few weeks ago i was chasing Barra up near mouth of the Fitzroy in Rocky. My mate who I was fishing with (who is not a fisherman) landed a silver bream 48cm, on a large live prawn under a float.
What is the biggest bream that anyone has heard of?
I think I attached a pic. Still learning....
B_E_N
22-06-2007, 12:22 PM
my grandfather has told me this story countless times, but im fairly sure hes not liying, hes not one to exaggerate or lie. but when he was a boy he was fishing down off the rockwall/shark fence at shorncliffe one night when he almost got destroyed by the biggest bream he's ever seen and caught. he didnt weight it but he said it was the length of the old old courier mail opened up. still ill never know if it was true or not, not many people had acces to a camera in those days and no really used to it photograph a bream! but hes grandfather, his father, my dad and myself are all keen fishers, and in 70 years he hasent seen or heard of one bigger.
tanglefoot
22-06-2007, 12:46 PM
Sweet bream old mate the bigger ones are still to come in yet
wouldn't mind that size bream everyday
robdiep
22-06-2007, 11:29 PM
Nice Bream there Robbie.Can I ask what bait did the job for you?Personally I get the BIG bream on small live poddy mullett,on a gang of small size1 hooks in a suicide pattern.
good old servo frozen white bait mate! ;D
robdiep
22-06-2007, 11:38 PM
Hi Rob,
nice catch down there on the Goldy. I had never seen a bream bigger than my biggest of 38cm also. Until a few weeks ago i was chasing Barra up near mouth of the Fitzroy in Rocky. My mate who I was fishing with (who is not a fisherman) landed a silver bream 48cm, on a large live prawn under a float.
What is the biggest bream that anyone has heard of?
I think I attached a pic. Still learning....
I've seen pics of silver bream that are 60cm, easy 3kg+. But they are not from Aussie waters. :o
warrior1
23-06-2007, 01:26 AM
there was a tackle shop near the woodypoint jetty,not sure if still there had photo of bream over 5lb thats massive.their is a dam next to pine river up petrie way that used to be open to the river which has all sorts of fish trapped in it,my son caught one in there 44cm last year[not allowed to fish in there privite prop]
Tri-Kun
24-06-2007, 06:20 AM
Dont mine me asking, any particular reason for 40+cm bream???
Some kinda of competition maybe???
If its the person im think of then i got my eye on you :P, If not my apology...
Tri
Daniel_603
24-06-2007, 05:50 PM
Thats a great Sized Bream mate.There was a bream comp on the Gold coast the last couple of days were i went to watch the weigh in and there were afew good Bream that were round that 40cm mark .There definatly out there.