View Full Version : flathead @ shorny

B_E_N
16-06-2007, 11:45 PM
hey all,
couldnt resist a fish in todays weather so after getting out of bed late went down the road and had a quick flick in front of the cliffs at shorncliffe with the tide running out managed one flattie at 50cm on a smelt gulp minnow and thats about it. massive crowd at the re-opening of the upgraded lower moora park. really nice ive been watching the progress for a while now and the kids play ground is insane. the best one ive seen, the little bungalows are great and it looks really nice. next time you hagve nothing on or want a bbq do your self a favour and go check it out!
ben;D

Fish_gutz
17-06-2007, 10:52 AM
Hey Ben , well done on the lizard;I just got back from moora park this morning after a wander along the pier with the young fella and it certainly has come up a treat especially for the kids.

B_E_N
18-06-2007, 02:38 PM
yeh i think im getting the lizards sussed in my area will catch at least one very session i have even if im after bream.
and also the playground looks a lil dangerous, went thru it with the gfs niece and i bet some kids are going to wind up hurting themselves, but apart from that will provide shelter for the bums no doubt!

18-06-2007, 04:09 PM
Hi mate, thanks for the info, always interested in somewhere to take my boy for some fun, and maybe I can have a bit of a fish too :D.
Do you find high or low tide works best ?

Russ

barkers creek
18-06-2007, 05:39 PM
gday guys,
im pretty much the total oppisite in the early monthsi started using plastics around january and managed to get utleast 1 everytime if not 3 or 4 in a periode of 2 hours,i been down the last few times same lures, same tides,same place diffrent result.
anybody know why they have just stopped bitting i havent even had a hit.

B_E_N
18-06-2007, 05:49 PM
barkers creek, there still there, if your able to have a walk at low tide along the flats in front of the cliff out from the rocks you'll be able to see quite a few lays in the sand even around into the creek. a good spot at night is right in the creek where friday st meets alpass pde theres a light with a small rocke drain that comes out, at low tide you can see heaps of flathead lays in a semi circle where they must sit on the edge of the light.
russ, ive found a high tide works best either on the left hand side of the big pier or the right hand side of the rock wall. on the roock wall side i wade out to about knee depth and just walk along and flick, same can be done on the left hand side of the jetty but im lazy most times and just walk along the path, lots of bream to be had on this side aswell. if you ever want to have a fish around there i live just near the train station so im a minute walk away, could show you the spots i work, give us a pm if you want and i can sling ya my details,

cheers ben