View Full Version : braided trace
Hows it goin
Been checking out a lot of different rigs for different species and have noticed that a lot of people use a braided main line with a mono trace. Just curious if anyone uses braided trace and pros and cons.I use braid with mono but am open to any ideas cheers
Dean
21-06-2007, 01:00 AM
Dean, as good as braid is, it isnt the end solution when it comes to reel to hook tackle. I only use the mono trace with my braid because A) it is clear and less easily seen and B) Because there is no stretch in braid (good for control and sensitivity) at the point when a fish strikes the line gets shock loaded and has a much higher chance of breaking. By using a mono leader you get that chance for the rod to bend properly so it loads up on the fish slower and not breaking your braid. Know a bloke that bought a new boat and went and got 2 or 4 new overhead rods with all the top gear, top braid too. After 2 trips I was on his boat when he was telling me he was going back to mono because he kept getting snapped off on the new braid. When I saw his rig it was strait to wire trace.
Went to mono leader problems solved.
Sorry for the drawn out story
Cheers Chris
Jack Thomas
21-06-2007, 06:20 AM
it works, but I prefer mono only.. as you get the full stretch and more hookups.. good luck mate
21-06-2007, 07:20 AM
You must have a mono / flurocarbon leader. This provides a shock barrier, is much less easily seen and also much more abrasion resistant.
luigi
21-06-2007, 04:55 PM
G'day Dean,
I have been using 50lb gelspun twist (same stuff they make braid out of) as a leader for several years now & swear by it. The trick is to keep your rod pointing at around a 90 degree angle away from your lure in the water as this will allow your rod to act as a shock absorber.
The main reason why I like the gelspun leader is because it doesn't retard the lures action during low speed retrievals. Use heavy mono leader & you will have to increase retrieval speed somewhat to keep the lure's action at an optimum level. It is my firm belief that when luring for demersal species, the slower the retrieve or troll, the more fish you will usually catch - that's been my experience at any rate.
Actually, I have been making these leaders (2 mtrs long with 55lb snap attached) & selling heaps of them through my Lucinda workshop. There has been great feedback over the years & people keep coming back for more.
Cheers - Lou