View Full Version : Bag Out, Gps Position Provided

15-06-2007, 04:43 PM
G'day ;)

Hit the water late for my standards with plans to head out to mud, seabreeze was predicting a glassout early.

Launched at manly around 0530 and headed over to the island smack bang out the front of the leads, I passed a west cardinal, a north cardinal and then a port marker to get there...... so there's your clues ;). Fished there for a bit with 2 other boats with a 10kn sw breeze and the occasional 15kn gust, landing only a small squire and a herring of sorts on plastics.

I spent sunrise there on the reef and after no action, I decided to scoot south. On my trip south I passed a south cardinal and another port marker..... Set up a drift in some nice murky water and first cast first drift........... IM ON!!!!!!!!!!!

I was pretty happy with this, nice weight and in the esky she goes, no need for a measure. Second cast IM ON AGAIN, set the drag nice and light and had a good tussle with it, few minutes later and I Had another in the boat..... I'm thinking this is a great move!

I had another boat to my north, and after they saw me hook onto a few fish on my first drift, they came and drifted the same line.

Another drift after that and a few more hits and another one hits tyhe eky and then another and then another inthe boat.

Ended up boating 5 legal squire from 38 thru 47cm, I threw the 38 back in expectation of the bigger ones hanging around, and because they were coming so easy.

Alas that wasn't to be as the fish shut down for me at around 9 or so.

I also met mick out there in his smells like fish, good to meet you mate and he can attest to the fish I have.

We both had a chat to an old fellah when we were leaving, He was stoked with a 40cm bream he caught on a live whiptail. He was a bait fisho so he smelt a bit :P

About a 10 min run back to manly with glassed out conditions be about 1030ish

This is my first bagout, and new PB on plastics for me for a 47cm snapper.

GPS position? well...... If you cannot work out where I was....... get out on the bay more :)

15-06-2007, 04:45 PM
The Catch from This moning

15-06-2007, 04:55 PM
Great report! :) Very imaginative! ;D ;D ;D

Well done! :)

15-06-2007, 05:05 PM
Well done Dave it's a good feeling when it all falls into place.

If anyone wants to have a dig about your bagout as another thread is going technically you didn't because you let one fight another day. ;)

15-06-2007, 05:10 PM
Nice catch there Dave. What did the damage?

15-06-2007, 05:24 PM

Dave, I got the little bloke in the boat, so I counted it!!! Fair enough though. Just means that Next Time It will be a bagout again, becauce I know it can be done

Charleville, I have been taking notes from yourself ;)

Neil, Favourite plastic of the day was gulp 5'' jerkshad in nuclear chicken.

Funnily enough, it's been a few trips now but the floating pilly wearing the ever fashionable flight of gangs didn't even get a look in today either!!!!

chief
15-06-2007, 05:26 PM
Well done dave ,nice fish

Deiter
15-06-2007, 05:29 PM
Good work Dave, and love the sense of humour.

Damo

15-06-2007, 05:32 PM

Thanx chief

Thanks damo, and just for the record I've been seeing members giving u an answer.. i'll let u know my grubs are under control :P

lumox
15-06-2007, 06:07 PM
good fish like the report

15-06-2007, 06:21 PM
Great catch Dave and good read. I know what your boat looks like so seeing as I don't have a GPS as yet I will just tag along behind you. (Hopefully #2 can keep up) ::) ;D Nah I'm kidding of course. No doubt will see you on the water another time.

juju
15-06-2007, 07:19 PM
Im still trying to work out why i stayed home this morning....i would have been there......doh...

Silent
15-06-2007, 07:58 PM
This is my first bagout, and new PB on plastics for me for a 47cm snapper.

Know how you felt when your first bag out & PB...must be on high...:D
Anyway many congrat's...8-)

beefaman
15-06-2007, 08:05 PM
Good work mate. Straddy always fires this time of year

Great White
15-06-2007, 08:12 PM
Top report Dave and well done on a bag out ;D ;D ;D

Did you turn left or right at the west cardy LMAO ::)

Don't give to much info out or the "FISHING POLICE" will be onto you mate:-X

rjamesy
15-06-2007, 08:33 PM
Sounds like a awesome trip... very jealous. Just read your report to my wife and she wants to go fishing NOW :-)

Waiting for my Stacer 5.69 Coral Runner which should be ready next month (being built). So excited...

Keep the great reports coming.

Jamesy

jez and suze
15-06-2007, 08:40 PM
gday mate,
nice catch,wish i hsd an rdo today....weather was fantastic!tomorrow is horrid as usual....i followed you unill you turned because of the road works....and by the omount of water coming out of your boat.....i think you may have a hole!

15-06-2007, 10:11 PM

Haha Jamesy, sounds like you have a fantastic wife there... treat her well. I have a lady friend who gets a lil jealous when I tell her about my trips... she is in melb and some of you may remember the report from march.

Jez, Thanx mate, I garuntee that there's no hole in there, The water is just from the spray that I cop mainly because of the low sides.

Poo, See you out there soon no doubt..... I think u'd be able to keep up no worries;)

Straddie does fish well this year, Hope you liked my little riddle ;)

richieboy
15-06-2007, 10:41 PM
Straddie does fish well this year, Hope you liked my little riddle ;)

That's no riddle...............All roads lead to Wello! Even I know that. :P
Congrats on your bagout.

Richie

16-06-2007, 05:32 AM
Well done Dave :)
Mate, I'm going to have to take your advice...get out in the bay more because I had to get the B to B out to see where you was. (bad english that but oh well)
:)

mickstar001
16-06-2007, 10:41 AM
Absolute p*sser of a report Dave, funny how people assume its Wello, keep that spot to yourself! Cant believe you bagged out AGAIN, well done mate, some nice eating right there, plan to wrap my two "small 40cm models" in banana leaf etc etc on the bbq tonight!! Was good to catch up with you out there, was lots of fun too trying to keep three boats together whilst 40cm bream man untangled the 300m of fishing line out of my prop! GRrrrrrrrrr.

Not two minutes after we went our seperate ways i headed back to the ramp and noticed a school of tuna cutting the surface about 300 metres running parallel to me, rigged up a TSMK in about 5 seconds and threw ahead of the school and zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz fought the bugger for about 20 minutes, chasing it in the boat my myself and trying to keep the line tight whilst nearly getting spooled is quite hard. The bugger then spat the hooks. My first ever fight with a tuna (i think thats what it was), and was very exiting. Was too much for my 10pd braid.

Great read and congrats again on your PB and BAGOUT Blackened!

Mickstar

16-06-2007, 03:06 PM

Tuna!!!!!!! i've been waiting a long time for a school to pop up infront of me like that!!!

Well done on the hookup

16-06-2007, 05:02 PM
Another bag out! That's awesome stuff Dave:tekst-toppie:

toolman2810
16-06-2007, 06:22 PM
I fish mud fairly frequently, can catch 30 undersize fish in a 2 hour session. H