View Full Version : Platypus lo stretch
zigfreed
15-06-2007, 10:05 AM
Hi All
Saw an ad for this stuff in B & B mag. Was wondering if anyone has used it and if it was as good as what they claim. Being an old school smelly mono fisherman, have tried braid but wasn't all that impressed when weighed up with the cost difference to spool up 4 x 500mtr reels with the stuff.
Your thoughts????
Jeremy87
15-06-2007, 10:46 AM
Lots has been written both on this web site and many magazine articles in terms of the braid mono debate. Bait fishermen don't get the full advantage of braid that lure casters do. Unless your fishing in deep water mono if still generally regarded as the preffered option. In terms of the cost, top shoting mono with about 150-300metres of braid depending on the application is common practice and more cost efficient.
A bit more information on what species you chase and where you fish would help people give you more specific information.
zigfreed
15-06-2007, 11:23 AM
Thanks Jeremy will try and be a bit clearer.
Wasn't looking for the braid v's mono debate but more the zero strecth against normal mono's.
In the summer months i troll lures and livies for pleagics and in winter bottom bash and put livies out for a cobe anywhere from the goldy up to noosa. Currently use platypus pretest clear in 6-15kg range, best line i can find for the amount of money spent and have no troubles with it. Fish to a depth of 180 feet in these areas.
Was wondering if it is a noticeable reduced stretch against normal mono, but not as severe as the braid.
Jeremy87
15-06-2007, 11:57 AM
Do you mean lo stretch, the advert with the big bloke holding a couple of trevors. If thats the case I don't have to much to say other than i know a couple of blokes who use it and like it, i'm not actually sure how much stretch it has, it would be interesting to find out how it compares to other mono's. The other Jeremy on Ausfish does alot of sport fishing with ansa and i recall actually wrote an article on mono and it's different stretch factors so he's probably worth talking to.
zigfreed
15-06-2007, 12:08 PM
Thats the stuff i meant Jeremy.............better change the post title.
thanks
NeMo84
15-06-2007, 02:02 PM
nah ur right zigfreed, its platypus lo stretch, the pink stuff, im also keen to know how it goes as im tryna decide what to spool up my new alvey 650 with.
O SEA D
15-06-2007, 07:14 PM
Just bought a bulk spool of it and its going real well.Small diameter but still very strong.
15-06-2007, 07:35 PM
I re-spooled my Trynos 30 with some Platypus Lo-Stretch 50LB instead of the Platinum this time.
I have only used it on about 3 trips but it does have a better feel when bottom bashing. I was in a fight with a big shark a couple of weeks ago with the rod loaded up and the line didn't snap, I was more concerned about the rod breaking.
I was a bit worried about pink line though ;D but it's early days yet but I'm happy with it so far.
NOjacks
16-06-2007, 03:26 PM
i have a pfleager spining reel that i spooled with lo stretch 17lb dont know if its the reel or the line but it seems to twist reel bad comes off the spool if you dont keep tension on it gets air nots like braid somtimes as well. ive got a tss4 with pre test platypus mono 25lb no worries i think i should have saved my money and brought pre test for the pfleager as well
zigfreed
18-06-2007, 02:05 PM
Just bought a bulk spool of it and its going real well.Small diameter but still very strong.
O SEA D
Tried trolling lures eg. divers or tremblers with it yet???? If so do you reckon you can get a noticable higher speed of troll with the reduced diameter???
Black Rat
Go buy a reel cover quickly, dont want anyone to see that pink line till your a couple of mile offshore.......
Just kidding, thanks for the feedback fellas
bundylundy
18-06-2007, 05:52 PM
Just put 15 kg lo-stretch on my TLD25 and cauaght a nice Spannish on it over the long weekend. Seems to work fine. Only problem was having to pull the line off the reel to put more backing on than I had on with the previous 15kg line. Winding, winding, winding. I also happen to know the big fellow holding the 2 trevours in the photo. He comes from down Bundy way, the home of trevours.
Jeff.
Deiter
19-06-2007, 10:02 PM
I oicked up a 500m spool of 8kg on the weekend, fitted the lot on a spare spool for my daiwa ep6000 egg.
After playing with it a bit i can tell you that it certainly has less stratch than normal mono. normal mono gives about 30% under load and this stuff was only giving about 10%. I thought that was impressive!!
Apart from being pink, it does seem a bit more 'wirey' than platinum or penn 10x that i normally use. Time will tell, just need this breeze
(read gale) to p!55 off so i can give it run.
Damo
Reefmaster
20-06-2007, 07:23 PM
I use 25kg low stretch on a regular basis now and I'm very happy with the results. I find with 1lb of lead it does become a little stretchy but not much different to other monos. It is generally more sensitive and seems to be very strong. Attached is some pics of fish caught on the last couple of trips using 25kg Low stretch. The AJ was a good test and weighed 37kg.
Tassie JR
22-06-2007, 09:32 PM
i have 15 kg lo strech on 2 of my baitrunners it is really strong, i only had it on one baitrunner but the platipus pink started to get old and weak so i re spooled it with lo strech very happy with it!!!!!!!
cheers tassie JR
22-06-2007, 11:08 PM
I bet that Amberjack went like a bat out of hell. Was fishing with an older bloke a few years back off mooloolaba he hooked up on one of those and i thought it was going to pull him overboard. Some good looking fish there.
O SEA D
23-06-2007, 07:18 AM
Great for trolling and when you hook up to a big paleagic it cuts through the water better than some of the larger diameter lines reducing the chance of pulling hooks and losing fish.