View Full Version : Mud In The Dark
bluefin59
12-06-2007, 12:12 PM
Went to mud this morning 2 am would you beleive for something different to do ,the run from nudgee beach was pitch black no moon nothing thank god for the g.p.s funny how the eyes adjust in the dark ,got there about 2.30 am tried a few placcies no luck so thought i would go to the darkside and use the stinky stuff squid,pillies ,and mullet no luck at all changed spots twice tried different combos of sinkers and hooks ,still not a bite . It was blowing a good 15knts a bit uncomfortable to say the least ,the moon came up as a small cresent about 4am which gave me some natural light ,still no bites . About 5 .30 got a bit of light over the horizon tied some placcies back on the sounder started to show a lot more action on the fcv620 first drop smashed tried to bring him up but after a couple ofvicious head shakes the tho 10lb fluro snapped rerigged in a hurry now i had some light to see the old eyes are starting to let me down , anyway after that it was on must have pulled 20 snaps this mornig with some blistering runs ended up keeping 4 fish one went 62cm one at 52cm and 2 at45 put heaps of legal ones back went of the chew about 7.30 had a great time i will try and post a photo of the 62 on yhe brag mat as the misses wouldnt come with me last night ,early start early finish back at boat ramp as it was just starting to glass off ..........
Sounds like a TOP session there BLUE! Now everyone will start going to Mud again so keep up the good posts... Some of us need the space back at Green/Wello!! :P ;) ;D
Take Care T
Looks like I am off to Mud now or should I go to Wello or Green gee fish every where and some can't catch one I don't know I might just give up trying
Nice fish bluefin59
Looks like I am off to Mud now or should I go to Wello or Green gee fish every where and some can't catch one I don't know I might just give up trying
Don't worry TINN, perhaps i can take you under my wing and pass on some invaluable hints & tips... :P ;) :P ;)
BAR UP
12-06-2007, 01:28 PM
Hey bluefin, top report & good fish. Pretty good these RDO'S but i wasted mine today. Had a few rums last night & couldn't be bothered getting ready to go. Next weekend looks alright to give erm a smacking, see ya
BAR UP
12-06-2007, 01:32 PM
Hey Tinn, i take a short cut now. Turn right at the Boat passage ramp & out to Green first (only 9km) then if that doesn't produce i head north & maybee end up at Mud then home. Round trip about 50km
bluefin59
12-06-2007, 01:52 PM
Thats for sure barup just gotta love the construction R.D.O.s should be more of it job i'm on at the moment is almost finished might have to use a few of my banked ones up now the snaps are coming on the chew not a sole out there this morning you have got to love that . Might have to use them before he who will remains nameless [and brain dead ] totally wrecks our industry i cant afford fishing on $20 flat an hour mate...>:( >:( >:(
alleycat
12-06-2007, 02:22 PM
Thats for sure barup just gotta love the construction R.D.O.s should be more of it job i'm on at the moment is almost finished might have to use a few of my banked ones up now the snaps are coming on the chew not a sole out there this morning you have got to love that . Might have to use them before he who will remains nameless [and brain dead ] totally wrecks our industry i cant afford fishing on $20 flat an hour mate...>:( >:( >:(
WOW!! your getting 20 an hour!! your not being flexible enough mate, lots of flexible people getting 16$, sad isnt it, and they make it all sound so rosey.
LIVE_2_FiSH
12-06-2007, 02:54 PM
mate TOP session. alot better than the day before ey.
12-06-2007, 03:19 PM
A great report! A multiplicity of thanks for that.:)
Terrific fish ! :)
Mud in the dark is magic! :)
It would be fun heading across form sandgate without a gps,,,sure you would work it out....but its easy with the highway setting....would have been a touch nippy out there....must have been thinking what am i doing at 5am......if i wouldnt have had 3 jobs on today thats the time i would have been there.....oh well....gives me insperation.....at the moment im clear thursday and friday morning......can see some rain comming now....:-/
death_ship
12-06-2007, 05:48 PM
from sandgate you only need a compass, just head east then west on the way home, too easy.
ragman
12-06-2007, 09:39 PM
hey. not a bad catch. i think you were the guy i was talking to at the caltex at bald hills on sunday morning. craig
mickstar001
13-06-2007, 10:25 AM
Well done bluefin great catch!!
Mickstar
bluefin59
13-06-2007, 05:34 PM
Thats for sure ju-ju iwas thinking what the heck am i doing here but as soon as that light came over the horizon and it was game on it was deffinately all worthwhile a very intense session really worth the discomfort it was that cold even my hot water in the thermos went cold i will have to sort that problem out . Yes ragman that was me at the servo we just love our fin lots of luck for you in your adventures hope to see some reports on your adventures soon mate...bluefin598-) 8-) 8-)
Blacksheep
14-06-2007, 08:12 AM
Great report BlueFin, pity your missus wasn't there to put you in the pics with the Snapps.
Shane
ddobson
14-06-2007, 12:49 PM
Thats some sweat reds. Its fish like that makes early mornin starts worth it.
:D 20 Snapper and bust offs, thats what i call a hot session all in a couple of hours. Good stuff!:'( :'( :'( Work! don't ya hate it!;D