View Full Version : PB Bay Snapper On Plastic

Obi _ Wan
11-06-2007, 09:09 PM
Hit the ramp at Clontarf at day light, a bit later than i had planned, anyway we were there, as i was moving the boat out from the ramp i noticed a white poly boat with an Ausfish sticker, i'll have to catch up with them later i thought but unfortunately we never saw the boat again today.
Conditions, to good, out around Woody Point in no time and heading North. Started a few drifts up past Redcliffe, no joy, after half an hour i noticed a boat about 3 K out with what looked loke a red flag up, i said to my mate is that a distress flag? he said he didn't know, i handed him the binoculars, yes it was the old "V" Sheet, so out we go, two blokes in the boat, outboard broken down.
We towed them back to Scarby Harbour, past the boat show around the reef, as we went past i issued a mental note to self, Yes you are right to stay away from this place, just like fishing for tailor on Fraser Island, shoulder to shoulder. Anyway droped the two blokes and their boat at the pontoon near the Coastguard and back around the corner past the boat show, back to our spot and started again, unfortunately the best part of the day was gone, over an hour to do the tow and get back.
Worse still all seemed very quiet, we slowly worked our way back down the coast until i found the best bait school of the morning, out go the plastics, must have been about half way down and whack zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzz this is going well on this light gear i said to my mate andzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz eventually i started to win, back a bit and a short run repeated many times, at last there it was and into the net 65cm's of M Bay snapper, although not my best snapper by a long shot it was my best in M Bay on plastic, a few pic's and into the live well, out with the plastic again and whack another, this time it was only 36cm's but still a nice fish. Six pound braid and eight pound Nitlon leader, 4" Pumpkinseed Gulp, 2500 Stellar and 7' T Curve.
And yes we also had to contend with other boaters roaring past at great speed only 20 meters away from where we were fishing, one of these days i will retire and only fish mid week.
Obi_Wan.

reelchippy
11-06-2007, 09:37 PM
Nice fish yep lots of boats on the water i was around peel today

T1
12-06-2007, 07:48 AM
Congrats OBI on the PB!! And well done on helping the fellow boaties in their time of need!

Take Care T

grant6336
12-06-2007, 07:56 AM
Well done on your PB snap in the bay mate, perhaps good karma for helping those guys out. This is why I like shift work, fishing through the week, less of a crowd.

abbot_86
12-06-2007, 05:29 PM
nice snap obi, i had my 1st session on plastics outside the other day ,only one small squire but had heaps of fun
cheers abbot

mad max
12-06-2007, 05:35 PM
after half an hour i noticed a boat about 3 K out with what looked loke a red flag up, i said to my mate is that a distress flag? he said he didn't know, i handed him the binoculars, yes it was the old "V" Sheet, so out we go, two blokes in the boat, outboard broken down.
We towed them back to Scarby Harbour

Dont you just hate that when it happens !! Usually it only ever happens on the perfect morning during the peak fishing time...still, what goes around comes around i guess.8-)

death_ship
12-06-2007, 05:53 PM
what no mobile or radio in their boat? nice snapper on the light stuff

12-06-2007, 06:15 PM
Awesome stuff Obi_Wan. That is exactly the same as my PB and mine came from Mud also. It sure gets the adrenaline pumping huh? You must be on as much as a high as I was. Congratulations.

Obi _ Wan
12-06-2007, 10:26 PM
Thanks for the comments, it certainly was a real buzz to get a fish like that, in that manner, they go like hell on that light stuff. I lost what i reckon would have been a bigger fish a week or so earlier when the hook pulled out, but you don't really know just what size they are until you get them into the boat.

Poodroo, It seems ages since we swaped notes, thanks for the congrats, i have been having a few good weeks lately, got my first jew on plastic in the Pine, only a 60cm fish but still a jew, i'll try and catch it again in a few years when it grows up a bit. Was sitting at the table the other night with a cup of coffee and thinking of the different species i have caught on plastics since i took it up a couple of years ago, bloody incredible about 40 species, thats counting all, vermin included.

Thanks again all.

Obi_Wan.

13-06-2007, 06:55 AM
Thanks for the comments, it certainly was a real buzz to get a fish like that, in that manner, they go like hell on that light stuff. I lost what i reckon would have been a bigger fish a week or so earlier when the hook pulled out, but you don't really know just what size they are until you get them into the boat.

Poodroo, It seems ages since we swaped notes, thanks for the congrats, i have been having a few good weeks lately, got my first jew on plastic in the Pine, only a 60cm fish but still a jew, i'll try and catch it again in a few years when it grows up a bit. Was sitting at the table the other night with a cup of coffee and thinking of the different species i have caught on plastics since i took it up a couple of years ago, bloody incredible about 40 species, thats counting all, vermin included.

Thanks again all.

Obi_Wan.

Obi_Wan it has been a while. You must be too busy catching fish of late. ;) I have never tried counting the species I have caught on placcies but I can be happy knowing that most of what I have caught has been the species I was targeting so I must have the colours worked out or something. Occassionally I have had the odd vermin or two jump on but that doesn't happen very often. My last trip I was after snapper and flathead and that is all I caught. Would have prefered more squire than flathead but who's complaining? Certainly not me. ;D

Chat soon,