View Full Version : Your Unbiased Placcie Rod Verdict?

11-06-2007, 08:22 PM
Hi all.

" A fishing Rod only needs to be good enough to catch you the fish" in the hands of someone who knows how to use one. How true is this statement? If I wanted to better the fishing experience by using a lighter, more sensitive rod than my trusty 7ft glass blank that is at least 20 yrs old, why do I need to spend huge amounts of money to upgrade for plastics? If I was to buy a decent plastics rod, there is so much to choose from.

Someone I know loves the Shimano Raider,another loves the ( I think the spelling is right) reddington, another would go an Egrill, and there's the Loomis $150.00 guarantee. I would spend over $200.00 if I can be confident of getting a rod that will "blow me away" more than the fish I chase. If I am already having a ball of fun on Snapper, why should I spend more money on a new rod? Will it really make that much difference?

Opinions?

P.S No I am not going back to bait before anyone decides to try humour this thread ;D ;D

turley
11-06-2007, 08:42 PM
It's very much IMHO how much you are prepared to lay down initially. Spend 300+ and you get great service, a replacement garantee and a nice rod to work with. Spend less than that and you get a nice rod, don't get to pick the exact characteristics as much (less options), have to pay more for replacements, heavier, not as sensitve but you dont' have to pay the initial amount. You are also not generally going to cry if you break your cheaper rod aswell....

Best option, is to use a bit of both. I have a Blackdiamond Clearcut 1-3kg and a nitro crankbait which are both 300+ rods and use them as I enjoy them but, I am always careful with them. For creek bashing, kayak fishing I have a shimano rack raider which is a great rod for the money, but if I break it, I am not about to cry about it as it wasn't the huge expense. I also chose a raider barra mauler as again it is in the sticks/rocks for barra and cod, specially walking/climbing in Northern NSW it can get a knocked around a bit so, I didnt' spend as much.

For the application you have said, I woudl say the biggest difference you will feel from your old fibreglass is the sensitivity of a graphite rod, especially if you chose a fast taper rod.

dagwood
11-06-2007, 08:45 PM
Scalem, I am pretty new to plastics and just shouted myself a new 6'6 Berkley Dropshot as per previous thread. I have other older rods that I have been using but broke the tip off my favourite. Have found that a rod, whether old or new, either feels comfortable to use for various fishing methods or it doesnt. Mainly fish plastics in the creeks at present but have just bought new 4.45 Stessco and hope to have a go at Snapper (I have never caught one) this year. Some of my older rods will have to suffice once I come to grips with what gear is suitable for this species. Any tips will be greatly appreciated.
Regards Darryl

t4topcat
11-06-2007, 09:13 PM
Scalem,
I just purchased a ATC Hardstick 3-6kg 7' spinnerbait spin stick, they're graphite and from a bit of research I've found that the manufacturing side of the company is run by Bob Loomis (G's brother who after 19years in family business moved on apparently), they do have a range of models and they only cost $119.00 with a lifetime replacement warranty, if they fail under normal usage (at no cost from what I gathered from my tackle shop). The rods have a great finish feel crisp and responsive and they're decked out with full Fuji Componentry and cork grips.

11-06-2007, 09:51 PM
I got a hand line I will part with for a couple hundred, you wont get more in touch with your chosen quarry than with that, feel every little bump and I reckon with practice it would also work with them plastic things
ps am I shownin my age cause I am only a youngin

BilgeBoy
11-06-2007, 11:00 PM
Scalem you gotta go get an Egrell IMO. These guys make a brilliant rod and are top people to talk to. Have a talk to Frank00...he will set you straight!!

BilgeBoy

Deiter
12-06-2007, 02:12 AM
G'day Scalem. On the subject of rods and cost, I just bought 2 the other day. great to use on the spastics and they flick a 1/4 ounce jighead about 50 yards. They're 2.4m, carbon, light, sensitive, stiff enough tip to jig with a small twitch, cork grips, and the price? Well, lets just say the lot cost me less than $60.

Granted, the guides aren't silicon carbide, and its probably not going to last me 10 years, but not many carbon rods will. And i don't have to worry about it breaking/ dropping/ scratches etc. and that suits me fine. My first fish on plastics was on one of these rods 8 months ago, a little kingy of 6kg, caught on 6kg mono at the kneerings off Mooloolabah in a very rugged 14m of water.

I don't need expensive delicate rods anymore, not when these do the same job. I don't fish comps, so i am not after that extra 1 or 2%. I get 'em cheap coz i know the importer. I'll see if he will let me get rid of a few to Ausfishers' if your interested. Heck, for that price you can throw it away or give it to the kids if you don't like it.

Damo

12-06-2007, 04:48 AM

I use a live fibre lightning strike 10, which is a 7' 2-4kg spinstick with cork grips.

I use to have a 6'uglystick and still fish with it but after going from a glass rod to the lightning, the difference is massive.

I performs really well for me and when you make the switch, you will wonder why you didn't before.

They retail around the $129, I got mine for around $65... I have contacts within wilsons :D

In the short, go and get yourself a quality dedicated plastics rod, they were designed for the job

B_E_N
12-06-2007, 10:19 AM
just got 2 shimano sss 1-3kg, graphite rods ht eother day, nice 7' spins with cork, fuji guides and look great nice and light aswell, only $50 each!

Jeremy87
12-06-2007, 02:31 PM
Yeh a good rod isn't going to necessarily catch you more fish, but it can make casting easier, reduce fight time, reduce wear on line etc. It all comes down to making your day out on the water easier and more enjoyable. It can also be a bit of a wank saying look at my shiny new rod and reel but i think everyone is guilty of that in one way or another. My advice if you want to spend some money on a rod is make a list of features that you want in a rod, and then go to as many tackle stores as you can and pick up and play around until you find one that you like, this could take a couple of weeks (do not walk in and buy the first and most expensive rod the salesman shoves in your hand). Don't get tied down with brand names, i for one feel that loomis is overpriced and in terms of componentry you don't get much bang for buck. There are alot of good australian made custom rods out there and you'd be surprised how far some of the mass produced rods have come. I recently opted for a pflueger medalist as a new light spin rod over the likes of loomis feeling that they were outright a better rod and nearly half the price as a bonus.

Deiter
12-06-2007, 06:22 PM
Yeh a good rod isn't going to necessarily catch you more fish, but it can make casting easier, reduce fight time, reduce wear on line etc. It all comes down to making your day out on the water easier and more enjoyable. It can also be a bit of a wank saying look at my shiny new rod and reel but i think everyone is guilty of that in one way or another. My advice if you want to spend some money on a rod is make a list of features that you want in a rod, and then go to as many tackle stores as you can and pick up and play around until you find one that you like, this could take a couple of weeks (do not walk in and buy the first and most expensive rod the salesman shoves in your hand). Don't get tied down with brand names, i for one feel that loomis is overpriced and in terms of componentry you don't get much bang for buck. There are alot of good australian made custom rods out there and you'd be surprised how far some of the mass produced rods have come. I recently opted for a pflueger medalist as a new light spin rod over the likes of loomis feeling that they were outright a better rod and nearly half the price as a bonus.

Well said Jeremy, some good points made there, couldn't agree more.:)

marty+jojo
12-06-2007, 06:31 PM
Get yourself as good a quality rod as you can afford,as they say "you get what you pay for". I own G.Loomis,E.Grell and Strudwick rods, all are good... the best... I like the E.Grells. You pay more for higher quality graphite and better components. The higher quality graphite translates to more sensitivity, quicker hook sets and further more accurate casts. My opinion anyway. For fishing sp's in the bay i use an E.Grell S2... 7foot 2-4kg 1piece with a Daiwa Sol 2000 with 6 pound fireline. My other rod is an E.Grell S4...7 foot 4-6kg 1 piece with a Daiwa Certate 2500 custom R with 10 pound fireline. I highly recomend them both.
Marty.

12-06-2007, 10:39 PM
Thanks for your replies Guys, I'll reply individually.

Best option, is to use a bit of both. I have a Blackdiamond Clearcut 1-3kg and a nitro crankbait which are both 300+ rods and use them as I enjoy them but, I am always careful with them.

Mate, this is the top end of the scale for me, but I have not seen or heard of these brands. Where are you located? You are right about the sensitivity of the rod, which should be the instant differentiator if I purchase one. I'd love to give your rods a test drive.

Scalem, I am pretty new to plastics and just shouted myself a new 6'6 Berkley Dropshot as per previous thread. I have other older rods that I have been using but broke the tip off my favourite. Have found that a rod, whether old or new, either feels comfortable to use for various fishing methods or it doesnt. Mainly fish plastics in the creeks at present but have just bought new 4.45 Stessco and hope to have a go at Snapper (I have never caught one) this year. Some of my older rods will have to suffice once I come to grips with what gear is suitable for this species. Any tips will be greatly appreciated.

I've heard the dropshot is a good choice too, now that you have the right gear (both boat and rod) feel free to drop me a line ( no Punn intended;D ) and I will give you any tips I know to help you, if new to the bay and Snapper. My personal opinion is that if you have used plastics in the creeks, you will be blown away at how easy the Snaps are to catch by comparison.

The rods have a great finish feel crisp and responsive and they're decked out with full Fuji Componentry and cork grips

Chris, this sounds a good deal, I am very interested in seeing one of these if they are similar quality. Can you PM or let me know where to see them?

I got a hand line I will part with for a couple hundred

LOL Throw in some rubber bicycle tubing and how could you resist a deal like that!!

Scalem you gotta go get an Egrell IMO. These guys make a brilliant rod and are top people to talk to. Have a talk to Frank00...he will set you straight!!
BilgeBoy

Who you been talking to Bilgeboy?? Don't answer that! I know, I have spies!! Frankoo was the person I was referring to when I said Egrel at the beginning. Why would I have bought some of Franks' gear at good prices ( one was a Wilson Live Fiber) because now he uses nothing else!!

Dave, Marty, Jeremy, all good advice and all good quality gear, I have run out of time setting up in the format above, still getting used to it, but thanks!

LostNearBribie
13-06-2007, 08:43 AM
Mate the ATC rods that are around at the moment are great value for money.
Light, great components etc.
There is another couple of posts on here about them.
Just another option.

13-06-2007, 09:27 AM
people where catching fish on cord and home made hooks long before any new age "thermo nuclear, triple black, chemicaly sharpened, double turned down eye" stuff was ever invented and it all worked and probably still would, it all comes down to money, advertising and enjoyment of your "sport" i have more gear than you could poke a stick at, but one of my favorite rods is a kind of cheapish Silstar 6 foot light action thing, that I use for bream from the boat, plastics wading and working the shore, Whiting with bait and a whole lot of other stuff, something YOU like and suits your needs is far better than anything some Celebrity is using on a fishing show but as with all sporting loves, you can never have enough equipment, and there is always something new out there that will hopefully make up for your lack of skill!

13-06-2007, 04:30 PM
people where catching fish on cord and home made hooks long before any new age "thermo nuclear, triple black, chemicaly sharpened, double turned down eye" stuff was ever invented and it all worked and probably still would, it all comes down to money, advertising and enjoyment of your "sport" i have more gear than you could poke a stick at, but one of my favorite rods is a kind of cheapish Silstar 6 foot light action thing, that I use for bream from the boat, plastics wading and working the shore, Whiting with bait and a whole lot of other stuff, something YOU like and suits your needs is far better than anything some Celebrity is using on a fishing show but as with all sporting loves, you can never have enough equipment, and there is always something new out there that will hopefully make up for your lack of skill!

Hi Noel,

I guess what you are saying here is what I am thinking - I am reluctant to spend money just to keep up with the latest "fashion" and having the latest and greatest - but is it really? No doubt if I take up the offer to borrow one of these in one of my next excursions with a fishing buddy who has one, then I'll know and will probably never look back.
I don't mean to brag, and I am not being arrogant because I confess I still have a lot to learn about fishing - but in the skills department, I do OK;)

13-06-2007, 04:36 PM
I agree with NoelM...fish were being caught on cane rods and alvey reels long before most of the names mentioned above were even thought of.

13-06-2007, 05:23 PM
I agree with NoelM...fish were being caught on cane rods and alvey reels long before most of the names mentioned above were even thought of.
When your going past one day call in and have a gander at my high tech. split cane and funny setup Alvey. You pull the stripper guide up to spin it for casting.
The split cane is Lenny Butterworths 15th rod he made.

Crumbo
13-06-2007, 06:54 PM
I currently have a strudwick sic stick pro and abslouly love it. I also have a dropshot and it is also a great rod for the money. Just thought i'd chuck the struddy into the equation.

t4topcat
13-06-2007, 07:06 PM
Scalem,
PM sent mate I hope it helps.

14-06-2007, 06:57 AM
I second Crumbo on the Struddie. I have used Raiders, StarloStix, Dropshots and Catanas but the Struddie is a class above. I got it at the Mart and got 40% off so it only cost about $60.00. Can't see the value in spending a bundle when a cheaper option seems to work pretty well. The Dropshot would be my second choice though some of the pflueger medalists look to be good value

14-06-2007, 08:37 AM
I am not saying that new and custom rods are not great or maybe even necessary, ( I have custom rods and 'store bought" and indeed built rods for many years) I was just kind of saying that fish where being caught and landed on jigs and lures and plastics many years before a lot of the new "high tech" stuff was even thought of, but it is still good fun and "sometimes" more enjoyable with new gear, a classic example is the new "knife jigs" metal jigs have been used for over 30 years, and they had the hooks on the WRONG end, but they still caught boatloads of fish, both by pros and rec fisho's, I do not say that the hook on a "swinging" leader on the front of the jig is not better (or worse), it is just different, BUT it is NOT needed just because some TV presenter said so, because that's whar he/she use, the fish do not know what or who is attached to the other end of whatever it is that is pissing them off after having what they thought was a quick snack, get what I mean?

username_taken
14-06-2007, 01:50 PM
There's been plenty of talk about rods, What about a reel to go with? I'd be really keen to see what reels people are teaming up with these rods ?

14-06-2007, 02:22 PM
hhmm my reels consist mainly of Shimano and some Penn in the smaller spinning reels, Penn only in the larger models, ABU exclusively for baitcasters now, Penn for game reels and a couple of TLD25, but they are only "light" game reels really

username_taken
14-06-2007, 07:28 PM
I'm looking at a few Options.

Rods :
Berkley Dropshot 6'6" 2 pc 2-4 Kg $75
or
Shimano SP Starlo Stix 7'2" 2pc 2-4Kg $85

Reels:
Daiwa Regal 10xi - $99
or
Shimano Sedona - $99 ( with free Shimano Sonic Pro? rod )

Size options for the reel seem to be either 1500 or 2500, but I have no idea what that sizing refers to :)

I'd probably load it up with 4 or 6lbs Braid and 10lbs leader ( fluro or mono )

My rod length choices are based on the fact I'd rather have 2pc for portability, and will be mostly land based so longer rod to get a longer cast is correct ?

Thoughts ?

Jeremy87
14-06-2007, 07:50 PM
Stay away from cheap daiwa spin reels the shimano at that price range is the better optain. Cheap daiwas are rust buckets and the drags go sticky pretty quick and stay that way. Wouldn't consider a daiwa spin reel until they have a tournerment drag system at which point the tend to take over as the better brand depending on size and application.

username_taken
14-06-2007, 08:54 PM
wow really? From the specs I was reading I thought the Daiwa was going to be the better reel. more bearings, some sort of fancy 'digital gearing system'. Still I guess there's a big difference between specifications on paper and actual usage.

Jeremy87
14-06-2007, 09:32 PM
I wouldn't really worry about the number of bearings as such as apposed to the quality. The sedona has 3 arb bearings, the same bearings you see the whole way through to there top shelf reels. The daiwa has 10 cheap stainless bearings to make it sound good. So lets look at it in terms of a expected value outcome.

You have shimano with its arb bearings that according to shimano last up to 10 times longer than ordinary bearings. Lets say they compared it to the cheapest sh!test bearings out there so the shimano arbs only last 3 times longer than daiwa standard bearing (not their crbb's which are good bearings).
So the shimano rate of failure due to rust is x
3 bearings times x gives you 3x
Daiwa has 10 bearings
10 bearings times 3x rate of failure is 30x
All off a sudden you have a conservative 10 times more likely bearing failure due to rust over a set period of time.

Small spinning reels do not require 10 bearings, there is not enough load bearing points in a reel to require this many bearings. 5-7 is optimal but 3 is enough to do the job.

As for the digital cut gears i don't think it makes much difference in the cheap models, the good reels are really well tuned but again its just to make the specks look better.

ashh
14-06-2007, 10:10 PM
my bream spastic rod is from hanaconda, 'mojico' brand 2-4kg action fuji reel seat and guides and cork grips for $40,oh and its graphite too, the reel I got for it off ebay some small 'oscillate brand' spinning reel for $23inc postage.
Lost count of how many bream I've boated and flattys and a solid 46cm jack. Bout a year old and still going strong...
I do have a few 'nicer' outfits in my kit tho.

cammac
15-06-2007, 02:27 PM
Well Ive only got 2 rods suitable for soft plastics.

!/ Berkley Dropshot 6'6" 2-4kg
2/ Silstar HG Graphite 1-3kg 6'6"

Both great value for money rods at under $100.

A lot of people turn their noses up at Silstar products and Im sure some of their products werent the greatest. but I must say the HG series of rods are lovely to use with crisp action and not too fast a taper. Fuji guides and winch and cork -couldnt be more pleased! Whether you can still buy this model Im not quite sure.

IMO any graphite would be a step up from a glass rod for SP ing - would be like going from a solid glass rod to a hollow glass one - what a revolution that was eh!
My 2 bobs worth!

Cam

16-06-2007, 10:29 AM
I use a Penn Powerstick 3-5 kg class rod. Was purchased for a steal at $49.95 complete with fuji guides all mounted on the backbone. I can't fault it for the money and it has already proved itself with some good fish caught. The only thing that let me down was the reel almost siezed after a couple of blinding runs. That problem is all fixed now however and back in action. ;)

username_taken
16-06-2007, 12:30 PM
A good reason we all buy from BCF rather than supporting our local fishing shop, $89 for a Berkley Dropshot compared to $129.

cammac
16-06-2007, 10:18 PM
you just cant compete with bulk buying can ya! same thing will probably happen to the local tackle shop as the local corner store ........ gawwnnn!!:(
Friendly Personalized service is got to be worth something doesnt it??

username_taken
18-06-2007, 09:47 AM
Went to BCF the morning and bought up my rig. Ended up being talked out of a Dropshot 6'6" to a SicStick 7' to get the extra casting distance while keeping the 2 pcs.

I got a 2500 Shimano Sedona reel which the guy very helpfully helped me load it up with 10lbs braid ( not fireline, can't remember brand name ) preloaded with 12lbs mono, and some 10lbs leeder.

When I get the hang of the flatties I'll get some much lighter line to put on the second spool, probably 4lbs fireline.

18-06-2007, 05:54 PM
Sounds like a nice rig. Bring on the fish