View Full Version : What reel do I need/want???
09-06-2007, 07:09 PM
Gidday all,
Well I've got my little project rod all finished and I've broken it to the cook that I haven't got a reel to use with it (and I even survived) ;D
So what reel will suit??
It's a 6' Hastings blank rated 6-17lb with a chucking weight of 1/8-1/2oz.
It's set up for an overhead reel and I want it to learn to chuck plastics.
I probably won't catch anything on the plastics but I might learn how to throw something other then my Alvey's
Money wise up to $250.
So suggest away!!
Cheers and ta
Scott :)
PS if anybody has something that may suit me and want to sell it...I'm open to suggestions as well. :)
BilgeBoy
09-06-2007, 07:23 PM
Hi Scott
I recently picked up a great little overhead reel that would have done the job:P
Are you after a low profile or barrel style!! I would have though the low profile in a Shimano!!
Oh and the other thing...I hope you still have your patience...because those overhead bait casters sure take some getting used to!! I must have sat in my back yard flicking a small sinker at a log for hours and hours. Even then I regularly got birds nests etc. So good luck with it mate.
BilgeBoy
09-06-2007, 07:23 PM
how dare yuo swear.......learn plastics??????????????????????? you been sniffing something? :) The dark side isnt luring you is it??????????????
MIke
09-06-2007, 07:32 PM
mate if your chasing a nice easy to use and troublefree baitcaster,,,
theres no such thing
however,,, sitting beside that fuel tank in the shed thats got your name on it i have a shimano ""lexica lx100"",,,,
i can truly say that its been used about 3 times since new,,, and then i upgraded to the model that i emailed you re the rod blank query
still spooled with the same line that i bought with it;D;D
if its gunna help let me know,,,, i'll post a couple of pics for ya
09-06-2007, 07:35 PM
how dare yuo swear.......learn plastics??????????????????????? you been sniffing something? :) The dark side isnt luring you is it??????????????
MIke
Just for positive proof for me to say the buggers don't work...that's all.
And I might be able to cast some else other then the 4 and 6" Alveys.
Besides I need a new reel and another $15 Alvey isn't go to cut the mustard I"m afraid.
Don't pick on me..I've been a bit crook :'(
As for low profile or barrel....doesn't really matter to me.
That should probably read.... Huh, what's he mean??..... Ah, Just kidding :D.
I can't use either at the moment so the simple answer would probably be the easiest for unco-ordinated me to use.
I had a quick gander on the net Chop and couldn't find any info on that one. Have you got a link for the specs??
I have been looking into a Calcutta 200b but a bit wary because of two reasons. a) what I've read they say for use in freshwater and b) is it too big for the rod??
Deiter
10-06-2007, 10:02 AM
Finga, if you are gonna use it to mainly throw spastics up to 1/2 oz, why not go for a spinning reel? depending on the type of reel-seat you built into the rod (trigger?), shouldn't be a drama. I can see no benefit using a baitcastor over a small eggbeater for the intended purpose. PLUS, you will cast further with the egg....
Just food for thought.
Damo
10-06-2007, 10:08 AM
Thanks for the input Deiter but with the type of pistol grip it has that's impossible.
Cheers Scott
:)
Deiter
10-06-2007, 10:17 AM
Thanks for the input Deiter but with the type of pistol grip it has that's impossible.
Cheers Scott
:)
Don't forget old mate "Hacksaw"
He can make the impossible possible.;)
RobGoesFish
11-06-2007, 05:59 PM
Do you plan on casting below 1/8th of an ounce? What are you chasing with them?
The lighter wieghts you try to throw the harder it will be to avoid birds nests.
If you aren't going below 1/8 of an once I would probably go a Daiwa HRF. Mate picked one up yesterday from anaconda (got them to match an online store then take 10% off the difference) Ended up just in your price bracket. Competing Shimano in that price bracket is the Chronach.
If you want to cast much lighter weights, well, good luck.
11-06-2007, 07:45 PM
Do you plan on casting below 1/8th of an ounce? What are you chasing with them?
The lighter wieghts you try to throw the harder it will be to avoid birds nests.
If you aren't going below 1/8 of an once I would probably go a Daiwa HRF. Mate picked one up yesterday from anaconda (got them to match an online store then take 10% off the difference) Ended up just in your price bracket. Competing Shimano in that price bracket is the Chronach.
If you want to cast much lighter weights, well, good luck.
Mate, to be honest...Don't know.
Very new to this caper and learning as I live. It'll probably cost me a mint in mistakes but that's life.
Pretty keen on the Calcutta 200b. Any opinions good or bad??
Cheers and ta
Scott :)
Wahoo
11-06-2007, 08:46 PM
Finga
the calcutta 200b is a great little reel, on special ATM $189, cheapest i seen for a while
RobGoesFish
11-06-2007, 08:50 PM
Crackerjack: Where can I get a calcutta that cheap???
Finga: I reckon you should take the rod down to a tackle shop chuck a Calcutta on and see how it feels then decide, if you want something a bit light you can try a lowprofile baitcaster.
Just remember this will not be a breaming rod.
turley
11-06-2007, 08:51 PM
Honestly, calcutta 200b is not going to cast weights less than 7g any great distance. Even then, 7g is going to be a bit of a struggle. My recommendatino would be to look out for a Daiwa Alpha 103 or a Shimano Scorpion 1000 (prefered and one for sale in fishingmonthly website (not mine)). Both will be able to cast 7g further and start to dabble a little with less than that. Upgrade both with carbontex drag washers and you got a beast of a finnesse reel!
I own a HRF and pick my millionaire CVX 103 everytime for anything less than 10g. Spool is too heavy(25g) and magforce z doesnt' work as well with lighter weights.
Wahoo
11-06-2007, 08:59 PM
Crackerjack: Where can I get a calcutta that cheap???
Hi Rob, Cairns tackle n bait has a sale this week Ph 40314040
12-06-2007, 06:10 AM
scotty,,,, same as you,,,, couldn't find any info,,,,,
the tinny's about to get wet again,,, when we return i'll phone shimano and send you through whatever info i find
To cast the light weights your rod is designed for is a tough ask of any baitcaster.....well really a tough ask of the goose holding it. There is one option made for the task tho'. the good old closed face reel. My dear ol Dad swears by his old Daiwa Goldcast closed face reel. Has used it for 30 years fishing for "perch" (bass) and these reels will cast a light weight more accurately and further than any baitcaster you like(in average fisho's hands that is). they're not ideal for braid but suit mono and flurocarbon perfectly and are ideal for a light overhead rods if your throwing light weights in tight places.
A daiwa Goldcast will set you back 90 bucks and they are sooooooo easy to use!! practically idiot proof. there are cheaper brands available but i cant remember what they are.......maybe quantum or something weird. they're still big in the states esp. for trout fishing.
cheers, Roo.
12-06-2007, 03:43 PM
You are sooooo right there Orby old china..
I had one when I was a kid and wished they made a bigger version. As you say they're idiot proof and that'll suit me just fine. :)
Anybody know of any new versions of the closed face spinner??
They still make the goldcast but I'd prefer something with a bigger spool capacity.
14-06-2007, 07:39 AM
Well I let the moths out of the wallet and brought a Calcutta 200b off SteveB.
It was in the rods and reels section of the for sales.
When it gets here I'd better go and visit my brother and sit on his pontoon and practise for a week or so to see if I can learn how to cast the bugger.
Now....the next question....is it better to learn with tiny weights or go the higher end of the recommended lure weight for the rod??
Thanks for for the input.
Cheers Scott :)
Scott,
Start out with lures/jigheads at the larger scale until you get your timing right.
Also keep your line size to a minimum.
Things go pear shaped fast when you cast light weights into wind with heavy line.
Start out with your spool brake set so that your weight just drops under it's own weight and then tighten it a poofteenth. You'll back it off more later, but this'll stop creating an artificial reef with the gear while you're learning.
Use the inertia from the back swing to flick the lure rather than try to hurl the bugger.
Count to 10.... slowly :bomb: :angryfire: :furious2: :bigcry:
14-06-2007, 08:16 PM
To cast the light weights your rod is designed for is a tough ask of any baitcaster.....well really a tough ask of the goose holding it. There is one option made for the task tho'. the good old closed face reel. My dear ol Dad swears by his old Daiwa Goldcast closed face reel. Has used it for 30 years fishing for "perch" (bass) and these reels will cast a light weight more accurately and further than any baitcaster you like(in average fisho's hands that is). they're not ideal for braid but suit mono and flurocarbon perfectly and are ideal for a light overhead rods if your throwing light weights in tight places.
A daiwa Goldcast will set you back 90 bucks and they are sooooooo easy to use!! practically idiot proof. there are cheaper brands available but i cant remember what they are.......maybe quantum or something weird. they're still big in the states esp. for trout fishing.
cheers, Roo.
this made me think,,,,,,,, i've got one of these,,,,, so i went hunting
haven't found it yet,,, but i've settled a few old arguments over stuff that i thought was borrowed and not returned,,,,, and found some stuff that i should have returned;D;D;D
nah not really,,, just threw that in
i'll be having a clean out though,,, some of the boxes i opened haven't seen the light of day since we moved into this place,,,, but the tackle box has certainly benefited
SCOTTY;,,,, in case you get tired,,, pics of the baitcaster in question follow