View Full Version : Soft Plastics in the surf

karrier
05-06-2007, 06:30 PM
Gday everyone heading up to Teewah Double Island next week ( Thank god for long service ) wondering if anyone has tried SPs with any luck in the surf. I can't see why they would not work but have not had a go myself. Interesting to hear any suggestions etc
Thanks Karrier

sambos
05-06-2007, 06:37 PM
never tried the in the surf myself mate,those dart eat just about anything though.my only concerns would be casting distance and sweep.therefore probably requiring a reasonably weighted type.
good luck

karrier
05-06-2007, 07:04 PM
Yeah I do worry that the dart will destroy my Sps. Mind you I have a heap of plastics that just sit in the box that i have had no luck with so they might be worth a try. I wonder if the plastic worms would catch whiting?
Karrier

craig51063
06-06-2007, 01:10 AM
yeah its great fun though it is a bit of work .sp worms do catch whiting on the beach.and big shads will catch flathead and jewies .i rig the worms as if they were live bait and the shads a retreive in short burst and use a lifting motion with my rod [ a light 13 foot graphite beach rod ] to give the lure a bouncing motion on the sand. i also reckon bream would be a worthy target on sps as well .also the shads i use are wheighted and sit flat on the bottom and are between 4 to 6 inches long .
good luck and post your result to let us know how you went
craig

johnlikes2fish
06-06-2007, 07:22 AM
I have had a few goes in the surf and issues like casting distance sweep and presentaion due to waves adversely affect the lures my main problem were tailor I wanted to catch them but my sps got chewed up and I lost loads of jig heads 15g slugs are a better option imho

Ram-rod
06-06-2007, 08:25 AM
Sp's go well in te surf, try the close gutters on low and outgoing tides. you will be surprised. i was.
first used them with just my 7 foot graphite with 1/4 oz jig heads and 3inch berkley minnows down at Stockton beach at Newcastle and got smashed. Don't worry that you can't cast too far, don't try. Just fish the close gutters at low tide, i catch most of the fish at my feet at the edge of the gutters.
Great fun and a lot of fisho's don't seem to fish the gutters like that.

geoff72
06-06-2007, 08:28 AM
have seen a dvd with guys fishing with sps from the surf,they got some great size flathead right at there feet in the shallows only about 1 ft deep.

Leeann
06-06-2007, 10:22 AM
Rob and I have caught countless flatties from the surf. The best session was Shark Bay down at Iluka with 30+ fish for the session. At that stage we were fishing all the holes along the beach at low tide.
We were using Ecogear Grass Minnows in the 3" size with 6gm/9gm Squidgy round ball jig heads with the 2/0 hook.
Cast out, allow to sink and jerk the rod tip a couple of times, allow to sink again and wind up slack. Continue this through the retrieve. Also using 7ft rods and 2000 size Daiwa reels because you don't need to cast a long way.
Most of the fish we catch are between 1 metre and 10m out from the shoreline.
We concentrate a lot of our efforts at spurs where the wave action washes over the bank which in turns dislodges food morsals which then drop over the edge into the deeper water.
Flatties and whiting are often found here and we have a lot of luck with the plastics in these areas.
We also catch fish at the shoreline where the spur starts in the really shallow stuff. Sometimes there's almost a "gutter" forming and this shallow water holds fish like you wouldn't believe. Cast parallel to the shoreline and you'll be surprised with what you catch.
Still catch most of my big whiting in the surf on fresh prawns, worms, pippies or yabbies.
You're on a beach where you can use the 4wd so move from gutter to gutter... look for bait .... VERY important no matter what the fishing!
A couple of hours before and after low is generally the best but it'll depend on the formation and the height of the tides!
Have fun :)
Leeann

karrier
06-06-2007, 03:12 PM
Thanks for all the great advice and tips. I could go up there and do the same thing I have done hundreds of times before but Im always looking for different ways to catch fish. Leeann thanks for a great reply. I will give the sps a go during the day and do some serious bait fishing in the dark. I noticed today they actually sell plastic pippies!!! I don't think I could part with my hard earned for them.
Karrier