View Full Version : Wello today

alleycat
05-06-2007, 12:00 PM
Just a quick report, went out this morning and thought i may do well seeing as it was overcast, anyway was pretty quite and i only managed 1 at 42 cm by knockoff time at 8 am, bumped into a few workmates of many years and good to see them among the fish, ive managed to have them come over to the darkside and both now fish soft plastics on light gear ( watching them tie leaders is good for a laugh) and lucky enough they now get amongst the fish and both have knocked off a few nice snapper, this fella must have gone 65cm i reckon, not bad for a couple of old meatworkers lol.

Black Duck
05-06-2007, 01:25 PM
Nice fish there alleycat, pitty is wasn't yours, your mates did well!! Still a 42cm fish is nothing to sneeze at if your looking for a quick feed or just having some fun.

I'm starting to think about going over to the darkside as you call it and was wondering what set up to look at using in terms of rods/line/leaders and of course types of plastics etc??

Your advice will be appreciated!!

Black Duck

Tinn
05-06-2007, 01:39 PM
That is a nice wello snapp.

What has happened to your Mud island trips Alley?

alleycat
05-06-2007, 02:12 PM
That is a nice wello snapp.

What has happened to your Mud island trips Alley?

Was a tad chicken of southerly getting up and was only a quick trip as i had to knock off at 8..

alleycat
05-06-2007, 02:17 PM
Nice fish there alleycat, pitty is wasn't yours, your mates did well!! Still a 42cm fish is nothing to sneeze at if your looking for a quick feed or just having some fun.

I'm starting to think about going over to the darkside as you call it and was wondering what set up to look at using in terms of rods/line/leaders and of course types of plastics etc??

Your advice will be appreciated!!

Black Duck

Hi blackduck, if you want a good rig for under 300$ go the berkley dropshot 7ft2 2-4kg with a diawa excellor 1500 with 8 lb crystal fireline with nitlon 16lb leader, always double your fireline to tie leader and use albright or double uni knot, i use squidgy finesse 3gm heads in no1 for shallow reef (8-16 ft) and berkley salt water pro heads in 1/0 in 1/6 to 1/4 oz for deeper, use either atomic 3 inch minnows or gulp 4 inch swimming mullet in pumkin seed and you will do well. cheers

Aquarius
05-06-2007, 03:19 PM
Nice size snapper your mates caught there Alleycat.
Its been a bit quiet out there lately but i'm sure the new moon will fire them up.
42cm squire still gives you a feed so the trip produced even if it was slow fishing.
A top way to start off the working day.
Cheers Brent

Seahorse
05-06-2007, 05:26 PM
i think i might be with u black duck. might be something in these plastics.
Surely we have right rods and reels.
I use shim baitrunners. how will these preform with plastics alleycat?
Thanks for bit advise on types and hooks.
How do u do the rig? Trace? Or tie those heads straight to line? Any weight?
Its all so very very new.
As black duck said, all help appreciated.
Sounds like fun on that darkside

greg

alleycat
05-06-2007, 06:01 PM
Hi greg, mate little spinning reels like 1500 excellor cast much further than baitcaster, yes use leader always, 1.5metres is good, cast lure and let sink to near bottom but not on bottom, point rod tip at where lure hit water and give 3 nudges to go from pointing at water to vetical then wind up slack while letting lure sink for 2 seconds or so, oh and hang on, the hits are savage.

Jus74
05-06-2007, 06:18 PM
G'day Guys,
Fella's I'm alleycat there the use of a smaller spinner and light rod is the go. You really need to to be able to be in touch with you jig head. Thats why the use of fireline etc is good as it has limited stretch. You don't have to spend much to get started. I have set up a Berkley Dropshot 7ft and 2000 ABU reel and a Shimano Raider 6ft8 with Shimano Slade spinner for around $160.00 each. And plastics well you just pick them up you would bait, but beware they are addictive. Don't be afraid to come to the darkside.
See you on the water.
Justin.

Seahorse
06-06-2007, 03:46 PM
thanks alleycat

greg