View Full Version : How good are 140 HP Johnson / Suzuki 2004

01-06-2007, 09:39 PM
Hi All

Thinking about a boat fitted with 140 HP Johnson /Suzuki 4 stroke that done about 480 hrs mostly towing lures for marlin.

What is the lifespan of 140 HP 4 Stokes used this way?

Who services them? Suzuki or BRP or either, are the parts totally interchagable?

What does one need to know about this motor?

Its a 2004 so wondering what the likelyhood of future problems after use like this and what the white "Suzukis" are worth.

Thanks in anticipation

Chimo::)

soulfish
01-06-2007, 10:02 PM
chimo, nice looking voyager

BM
01-06-2007, 10:39 PM
Chimo, as you are no doubt aware the Suzuki/Johnson 4 stroke is the same engine. It was a joint technology agreement. The same as the Mercury/Yamaha 4 stroke agreement. They are Yamaha engines.

Now given that BRP is getting out of the 4 stroke market all together and plans to have Johnson engines only up to 30hp and then delete them altogether as I understand it, the value of a Johnson branded 4 stroke will fall through the floor.....

Even though its exactly the same as the Suzi model there will always be the stigma/perception that its an "out of production" engine. I would not touch a Johnson 4 stroke for this reason and this reason alone. Unless you are getting the engine for an absolute song because once the situation becomes common knowledge those engines will have very little value at all....

Even though spare parts will be available for 10 yrs as per our legal requirements (but probably from Suzi anyway) and then for a lot longer under the Suzi name that won't change the effect that "out of production" has on the marketplace.

Out of production engine has close to ZERO value in the average consumers eye, so bear that FIRMLY in mind when considering buying something that quite simply NO LONGER EXISTS............

Hope I've made it plain enough for you coz they will have about the same value as the original OMC Ficht engines.......

02-06-2007, 08:04 AM
Yep nice looking Voyager, the one from Coffs I am guessing.

bay_firey
02-06-2007, 08:08 AM
so,
how do we know it is a voyager and where are the pics / link ??

02-06-2007, 09:13 AM
Hi Guys

Thanks BM:-* Interesting stuff to be aware of.:speechless:

Hey you other:cowboy:s , stick to the subject, your getting distracted:-X This sort of diversionary behaviour is why our other halves sometimes comment that we need to focus on the issue at hand ::) rather than the stuff some of us do ;)

fishing111
02-06-2007, 11:01 AM
Its a Suzuki engine painted white, "big deal". Everyone knows that Johno 4's are white Zuk's. As for plumetting prices and resale from BM...laughable..;D One motors painted white, the other black,WOOPTY DOO.. It would not sway me in the least, as long as the motor was in good nick.

Dan5
02-06-2007, 02:17 PM
Mate i had the 70hp 4strk did over 4700hrs and it is still going strong my mate bought it off me don't worry about brand name get a reliable engine which these definatly are all the pro's here have switched over to them and reckon that they are the best engine yet.Part's won't be an issue get em from suzuki.You will love that engine once you've had it for a little while.I would rather buy one of those engines second hand than a brand new merc or yammie just heard to many bad reports on those engine's also used to do the maintence on 4strk yams and give me a suzi any day. Cheers Dan....

BM
02-06-2007, 07:47 PM
Its a Suzuki engine painted white, "big deal". Everyone knows that Johno 4's are white Zuk's. As for plumetting prices and resale from BM...laughable..;D One motors painted white, the other black,WOOPTY DOO.. It would not sway me in the least, as long as the motor was in good nick.

To each his own opinion Paul251. I assume you are a boat dealer also??? If not then you are talking about your own personal opinion and thats it.... I am not.

Mate, its a bit like Chrysler. They were the best technology engines of their time. The business was sold off dueto political issues in the US and it never recovered ground. So when it can happen to the best outboard brand it can happen to any outboard brand that ceases production.

chainsaw
02-06-2007, 09:06 PM
Chimo, For what its worth I just bought a Suzy 115HP 4str that had over 2100 Hrs on it in 3yrs use, seen the servicing records and bought it at a good price so i'm happy with it. The chap bought exactly the same new motor again (he leases them for tax reasons same as taxi drivers do) Being a mechanic I had no hesitation.

Rod

BM
02-06-2007, 09:17 PM
It might be worth my while pointing out that I have not stated or insinuated that the Suzi 4 stroke is a bad engine. Far from it. By all reports they are a very good engine.

My response is in DIRECT relation to the original post which is referring to the Johnson branding of the engine.

Roughasguts
02-06-2007, 09:38 PM
So are there any other identification marks or numbers on that engine to tell it apart from the Suzuki.

Cause I would be tempted to get the Suzuki decals, and the exact paint and return it to an ordinary looking Suzuki.

Mind you buying at a reduced rate could be a bonus me thinks.

Dan5
02-06-2007, 11:05 PM
Hey look Chimo every one knows that the johnno 4strks are suzi's so don't let the white paint job worry you.The rigging kit is the only difference as far as i know the engine that i had was a evinrude at the time suzi wasn't selling in australia i had my outboard serviced by suzi and johnno dealers a few times neither had any issues as they both said 'well it's a suzi anyway'. And it will now give you the option of choosing a dealer to service it.They are a top motor and you will be happy.I think that someone valuing the motor at zero is a crock of shit where do you pick up a late model 115hp 4strk efi engine for sweet FA? absoultly nowhere! And you would know this by now as it sounds like you are doing your homework if the boat/motor are what you want at a good price jump on it...Happy trouble free boating........DAN....

soulfish
03-06-2007, 01:39 AM
chimo, i have a mate with 800hrs up with twin 140 sukes,great engines,never missed a beat.asuming that the boat your looking at is the one smithy is asuming as well,i think those engines would be perfect.what's wrong with the vag you've got mate?after previously owning 2 vag's and spending a lot of time on a mates voyager i'd be looking for a boat that didn't have a little man throwing buckets of water in my face every time i idoled back to a mark for another drift.{15-20knts head sea}beatiful well built boats but submarines in slop.got to duck like kosta!

fishing111
03-06-2007, 07:53 AM
To each his own opinion Paul251. I assume you are a boat dealer also??? If not then you are talking about your own personal opinion and thats it.... I am not.

So what i've written is my own personal oppinion, and what you've written is gospel. So sorry Lord !

There the same bloody engine. FACT
You can get parts through Suzuki/Johnson. FACT
There not a discontinued line like Chrysler, just a white Zuk. FACT
Zero value, get serious, if someone was trying to sell me that rubish i would high tail it quicker than the Flash,FACT.

roydsy
03-06-2007, 08:07 AM
There the same bloody engine. FACT
You can get parts through Suzuki/Johnson. FACT
There not a discontinued line like Chrysler, just a white Zuk. FACT
Zero value, get serious, if someone was trying to sell me that rubish i would high tail it quicker than the Flash,FACT.

Fact, they will devalue. That is all BM's point is. You have made your point that you disagree lord jeebus.

"Arguing on the internet is like running in the special olympics, even if you win, you're still a retard."

fishing111
03-06-2007, 08:26 AM
Than why did you chime in Roydsy ?
Well Roydsy,all i did was put a pro against his con, as he deems himself the authority on whats worth something and whats not. Maybe you could go and tell all the people out there with white Zuks that they have zero value. All i did was write a reply, next time i'll get your permission!!

Deiter
03-06-2007, 09:35 AM
Easy lads. As a matter of personal opinion (and not owning a boat yard), I wouldn't care what bloody colour THAT engine was, coz they ARE the same engine, and if you are selling, any boatie worth his salt will know that they.

As for the white zukes having zero resale value, why don't you pop into a few boat yards that either still have them in stock or have one on the back of a used boat and offer them bugger all, with the accompanying arguement that "They are discontinued mate, not worth anything!".

I bet i know what reaction you will get. Different story when the shoe is on the other foot.

I know what you are saying BM, and as a boat yard owner you may choose not to have pay well for them and consequently not stock them, but IMO, that would be at your own detriment. You see, its not the commercial sector that decides when something is worth "Nothing", it is the consumer, and i for one would still be prepared to pay a reeasonable sum to get my hands on one of those zuke 140's, regardless of what colour it was.

Damo

BM
03-06-2007, 09:39 AM
"Arguing on the internet is like running in the special olympics, even if you win, you're still a retard."

That line is a crack up Roydsy ;D ;D ;D I love it!!

Paul251 they are a discontinued product since you cannot buy a 4 stroke Johnson anymore. So for all intents and purposes they are out of production. Chrysler returned under the name of Force but it never got a good foothold.

I'm not claiming to be the oracle on all things boating. No way! But I have sold around 150 boats and lots of engines since 2003 and in doing so i have spoken to many many customers. So whilst you posted your opinion about it being the same engine and it wouldn't bother you, thats still only one persons opinion (which of course is entirely valid). I know what the public sentiment is like on discontinued products, purely from having spoken to so many people and the overwhelming collective opinion from all the customers I have spoken to is that they walk away or treat with great scepticism any product thats no longer sold.

Take Suzuki of old for example. Very wishy washy attitude to Australia in early years, poor spare parts backup. Dealers shy away from older Suzis on trade in boats because we KNOW how hard they are to sell because people are/were very suss on the company. Sadly, as much as I love Chrysler outboards they are in the same category. Much harder to sell so avoid buying or trading one.

I'm not sure of the current situation with Suzuki but my understanding is that spare parts are still not as easily obtained as other brands. Whilst this may not concern some it could well be the difference between a boating holiday or a holiday with a broken down boat with a week or more wait for a part instead of overnight delivery of a part.

03-06-2007, 09:40 AM
Ditto to what Soulfish had to say on the Voyager. Not a cat fan are you?

BM
03-06-2007, 10:05 AM
I just had a quick re-read of the posts. I didn't say ZERO value. I did say, very little value and yeah, perhaps I have overstated it a bit.

If you had 2 engines a Johnno and a Suzi (both 4 strokes, secondhand and same yr of production) the Suzi will be easier to sell and will achieve a higher price. However, you might jag a first time boat/engine buyer who doesn't know the Johnno is discontinued and you might get the same money. Anything is possible.

Damo, I know its the consumers who determine value (to some degree) but I think I covered that in my previous pot (re public opinion).

All I was doing was giving Chimo some insight from a dealers perspective which in turn is a reflection of public opinion gathered from talking to hundreds of people.

As an afterthought, heres an interesting test: pop into a boatyard where theres a used boat with a Johnno 4 stroke. Find someone looking at it and just ask them:"would you buy this knowing that the engine on it is no longer produced under the Johnson name, even though the same engine is made by Suzuki and you will have to buy parts at some stage from Suzuki because Johnson won't hold stock". See if they'd buy it then or if they'd wan't a decent price reduction.

A customers mind could then start to wonder, and you see it asked on the forums often enough "are these engines actually identical?" and then they'd be worried about "well will the Suzi bits really fit, I know the salesman selling the boat said they would but is that true?".

It just complicates things. Far easier to not get into the situation in the first place I believe. Certainly from my perspective. If I consigned a boat with a Johnno 4 stroke I would say to the owner that the Johnno might make the sale a sticking point and either delay a sale or require lower dollars to attract a buyer.

soulfish
03-06-2007, 02:28 PM
yeah smithy i am now.all boats have thier pro's and cons though.

03-06-2007, 04:52 PM

I think your pathetic little quote stinks and should be removed. My wife is a special ed teacher and crap like that does not rub well with me as it wouldn't with any parent, brother, sister or relative of any persons with a disability. Your flippant little comment probably says a lot about you as a person.

03-06-2007, 05:37 PM
Hi Guys

Just back from the Touchy M&G and see theres been some action here.

Thanks to all who wrote for the comments.

To say I'm looking and thinking re a number of boats is probably the best way to describe whats happening. Not sure which way I'll jump or even if I'll jump. Have not spent enough time in cats to know, a walk around would also be good but not a wet one, the existing machine is good too .......................... Too many choices ....................... Needs vs wants ? etc

Took the little 3m tinny to fish the M&G today and it was great too. Guess what becomes more and more evident over the years is that all boats are a compromise and as one who wants it all, its hard to decide.

With a hypnosis and or the right drugs I might even get the other half into it and then would have to find another type of machine in the cruiser style to consider too.

Thanks again

BM
03-06-2007, 06:00 PM
Chimo,

If the bride can be talked into it a Bertram 25 flybridgeis a great compromise between fishing boat and family boat.

My wife loves the Berty 25's and wants to get one, or a Savage Lancer 26 flybridge etc etc. She likes the fact that you have a galley, a dunny an the kids can't (well sort of) fall overboard. Of course many smaller boats have good freeboard for kid safety but they dont have the whole family package concept. Well, not in my personal opinion anyway.

03-06-2007, 06:50 PM
Hi BM

That still does not resolve the issue of "the bride" knowing shes in a boat and floating on water.................

Drugs administered in her tea of a hypnotherapist are the only options I can think of short of a stand in; but I can't afford a divorce; we have discussed it!

C

BM
03-06-2007, 10:08 PM
hehe.....

I guess fortunately for me the bride does not get sea sick.. Fortunate again I guess as she loves fishing and boating so its only a matter (when dollars allow) to set up a nice 25+ footer the way we want it..

mako101
04-06-2007, 05:42 AM
I think your pathetic little quote stinks and should be removed. My wife is a special ed teacher and crap like that does not rub well with me as it wouldn't with any parent, brother, sister or relative of any persons with a disability. Your flippant little comment probably says a lot about you as a person.

You beat me to it!.

Regarding motor resale it is a completely different story if a brand is discontinued as compared to one where parts will be readily available indefinately imo.
In fact they would be worth more to some boaties since Johnson has such a good rep and there is no downside whatsoever when parts are still available.

roydsy
04-06-2007, 11:22 AM
Your flippant little comment probably says a lot about you as a person.

EDIT:
Nah, lighten up man.

That quote, which isn't mine as you say, is used by many and serves as a reminder that is only the internet and people need to lighten up. If you take it literally then thats your problem. I am not quoting it to make fun of disabled people, merely highlighting that the discussion as gone retarded.

It is now back on track, so sorry to sidetrack things.

saurian
04-06-2007, 11:52 AM
Roydsy , I love that quote .....Thankyou.......

reef_king
04-06-2007, 02:25 PM
Ihave 2x 140hp suzukis 2004 models done 990hrs on them. The only bad thing i have 2 say is there a bit gutless compared 2 other 4 strokes, apart from that they are efficent, and quiet as far as life span i know of more than 1 people that have over 6000hrs on them.

Big G
06-06-2007, 09:35 PM
I just purchased a jaycat 6000 and I put 2 140 Johno's on. I knew they were finished as far as the white paint and the Johnson sticker. I also knew that they were 140 Suzuki rebadged.......... I must be different as I had no hesitation and I liked the colour better....black reminds me of that other brand. I'm an engine reconditioner and I had Chryslers for years come to think of it I still have on my tinny......I still have no trouble getting parts for it. The Johnson /suzuki deal is a non issue.sum

07-06-2007, 10:17 AM
What are you hoping to achieve getting out of the Vagabond? Going to another big mono will only be playing with a few % points here or there. Maybe spend a bit of money on it, new motors, new electronics or whatever. To see any appreaciable difference from what you have now, the only other choice in trailerboat land would be something with a diesel stern drive or cats. Is having something on the water and option if you are looking at getting out of the Seafarer?

Here is that mate's Voyager. It had twin Ficht 150s. It was on its second pair when he got rid of it. Also know another guy that had one. They did look awesome on the water from another boat's perspective, like baby white Navy destroyers with that big nose out the front. They are exactly how Soulfish described and neither of these blokes had them for very long. One guy pretty much did the whole Seafarer collection at one stage. I know he started with the Vogue, had a Vamp for a while just as a fun boat and then must have gone Vagabond for a bit then Voyager. After that it was 26' Black Watch then 34' Black Watch now he is in a Deep V 250 Centre Console with a 250 Four Stroke Yamaha on the back.

seatime
07-06-2007, 02:31 PM
It didn't concern me when purchasing my Jono 140 that BRP were intending to discontinue the range. I prefer the white, and there's a Made in Japan badge on it to back-up it's origins.
Happy with mine so far, it's a '06 model that I got in December, it's got 140hrs up, coincidentally.:)

deadbeatloser
07-06-2007, 10:24 PM
Mate i had the 70hp 4strk did over 4700hrs and it is still going strong my mate bought it off me don't worry about brand name get a reliable engine which these definatly are all the pro's here have switched over to them and reckon that they are the best engine yet.Part's won't be an issue get em from suzuki.You will love that engine once you've had it for a little while.I would rather buy one of those engines second hand than a brand new merc or yammie just heard to many bad reports on those engine's also used to do the maintence on 4strk yams and give me a suzi any day. Cheers Dan....
do u work at a suzy dealership.? seen hundreds of yammys on stabicrafts around the world on oil rigs,sat divers support vessels. 6 major worldwide oil exploration companys use yamaha only. no omc . go valentino rossi .