View Full Version : Unusual captures Brisbane River?

One Day
01-06-2007, 09:07 PM
After reading some of the posts about the quality and species of fish in the Brisbane river of late I thought I would put the following out there.

What is your most unusual capture in the Brissy river?

For example if someone told me a couple of years back they caught a threadfin or jew around the metre mark in the river I would have thought they were full of s*%t. Could be interesting.

rogersto
01-06-2007, 09:23 PM
This little fella ranks as the most unusual.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/0/0e/Blinky.gif

barkers creek
01-06-2007, 10:02 PM
bhabhab good one mate ,
im from up north but i duno i herd of small crocs smashing lures in the upper reaches and crocs are rare them selfs down that way so that would be my top 1

bballfisho
01-06-2007, 10:05 PM
a grunter bream, 3inch whiting, catfish....
i find just catching a fish other than a cattie is rare and unusual

Nico.d.R
01-06-2007, 11:54 PM
i hooked a 50cm black bream on a plackie .....in the bum hole , he wasnt happy

Vic1
02-06-2007, 09:41 AM
Baby cobia

Braddles
02-06-2007, 03:03 PM
The usual bream and flat head, but also have caught cod, shovel nosed sharks, flounder, a jew fish of about 20cm, mud and sand crabs and at the entrance beacons - does that count?? - an amazingly colourful and pretty parrot fish! Plenty of rays including a whip ray.... (MEGA DANGEROUS - extra long whip barbed tail they flick well back up over there head - was banging the gunwale while it was still in the water at night - didnt even know it was a ray until the tail missed my leg by inches)....

Oh I forgot - the crabs were in pots and on lines too... and there has been the odd squire (undersize) too

Nico.d.R
02-06-2007, 08:43 PM
i also saw three blokes at the end of the rock wall at fishermans catch a nice 50-60 cm snap in the same day i got my black bream , and nearly coped a 3000 dollar fine . CAUTION do NOT fish with in 50m of any boat or pontoon and 100m from a dangerous goods ship , we got pulled up by port sercurity and told we have you face and boat rego on film you will get finned 3000 if we catch you again . I thought it was a bit harsh i didnt know it was not allowed i looked for no fishing signs and there were none , i didnt see the sign at the pinkenbah boat ramp at 4 am so i guess i was lucky .

gaintsquid
02-06-2007, 08:48 PM
Today around the westlake part of the river i had a big flathead on the line probs 70cmish i was so happy untill it shook violently and snapped my 15lb line :(

02-06-2007, 09:26 PM
it wasnt terribly long ago that big jewfish were regularly caught in the city reaches of the river. I remember hitting the waters under the riverside expressway trolling big chemical light sticks with bibs glued on and trailing trrebles for jew there. We managed to boat one that was 3'2" and missed the hooks with 3 other strikes the last night we tried there.

Surely there must still be some decent structures along that river that will still hold things to eat all the bait in there.

o bag
02-06-2007, 11:59 PM
got a octopus tonight on prawn, good size, fished at this spot got some whopper bream, nice whiting out of there, few shovel nose, seen a bullshark jumping out, small and very big cod and squire/snapper, seen photos from a mate of two 50cm tailor....its always good to fish the river, never know what your going to catch

fish05
03-06-2007, 07:20 AM
An 85cm threadfin salmon caught on a ten cm prawn in the upper brisbane river near jindalee bridge and some nice flatties also have caught a couple of little jew around 20cm around the indooroopilly stretch of the river... but yeah i love fishing the river theres always the element of suprize......

goggles
03-06-2007, 07:17 PM
Nico interesting u should say that they told u 50 meters as the rule is 30mtrs, and how do they clasify a dangerous goods ships unless it was a tanker as most ships usally have a quanity of hazardous cargo on them.Goggles

chop
06-06-2007, 05:50 PM
hmm.I have caught bream,estuarycod, squire, grassy sweetlip and a gt.Pike eels normal eals,hooked a few mud crabs.Fingermark bream and some kind of perch too.A taylor once .I love the river and release most what catch.

:)

brisbane_boy
02-07-2007, 09:36 AM
Iv been doing a bit of fishing in bris and found a lot of stonefish

Sean
02-07-2007, 10:43 PM
I was spun out once as I caught a catfish!!!! Couldn't beleive it!!!

3rd degree
03-07-2007, 02:37 PM
I've fished in the river for 25 years now, not so much in the last 10 years as the greener pastures of the bay and offshore waters have been my focus.

Approximately 15 years ago a few mates and I would go to Newstead Park on a Friday arvo after school. We'd buy fresh bananna prawns from Areana's Bait and Tackle (now gone) and a few Beers from the Creek.

The massive bananna prawns would work a treat on jew, and over a period of about 2 years we lost count as to the number of jew we caught and saw others catch ranging between 30cm and 160cm.

We also caught numerous big stingrays and bull sharks, a few cod, a couple of blubber mouth bream, many flathead and bream.

A number of the fish we caught back then, in particular bream, would have a parasite growing on the side of them. The parasite looked like a cross between a tick and bug of some sort.

That was a long while ago now and the river has improved in quality considerably since. You would think that the habitat for fish would have equally improved.

theclick
03-07-2007, 02:41 PM
I've fished in the river for 25 years now, not so much in the last 10 years as the greener pastures of the bay and offshore waters have been my focus.

Approximately 15 years ago a few mates and I would go to Newstead Park on a Friday arvo after school. We'd buy fresh bananna prawns from Areana's Bait and Tackle (now gone) and a few Beers from the Creek.

The massive bananna prawns would work a treat on jew, and over a period of about 2 years we lost count as to the number of jew we caught and saw others catch ranging between 30cm and 160cm.

We also caught numerous big stingrays and bull sharks, a few cod, a couple of blubber mouth bream, many flathead and bream.

A number of the fish we caught back then, in particular bream, would have a parasite growing on the side of them. The parasite looked like a cross between a tick and bug of some sort.

That was a long while ago now and the river has improved in quality considerably since. You would think that the habitat for fish would have equally improved.

Those parasite things are pretty stock standard. About 1 in every 5 fish I have caught lately has had some sort of parasite on it, and thats both within populated estuary systems and out in the open seas. Most of which are of the same description as what you have said. I usually just knock the parasite off and chuck the fish right back in the water.

kingtin
03-07-2007, 05:14 PM

Contrary to what most people would think, the prevalence of fish lice is an indication of healthy water. They are a natural predator of fish and are less prevalent in unhealthy waterways, apparently succumbing to pollution quicker than a fish would.