View Full Version : Quick trip to Wello

CreelReaper
31-05-2007, 12:34 AM
Just thought I'd share an evening with you all. Decided at the last moment to wet a line (on the way home from the jobbie). Initial intention was to soak some pillies and mullet gut around some Wynnum foreshore spots I have for Bream and Tailor. On the water at 8.00 p.m. ready and raring to go. What a night....just a hint of a northerly and water very calm. Bugger it.....lets change that to a quick sortie to Wello shallow reefs. WHAT A DECISION!!!!!:D :D
There were a few boats anchored and I couldn't get into my fave possie so opted for plan z!!!!!;) Couldn't believe it. First 8 casts all produced squire with 6 keepers 35 - 40cm......All in the space of about 30 minutes. Fished on and they just kept getting bigger. Ended up with 4 kept fish between 42cm and 49cm and around 15 smaller squire brethren. Not huge fish but very tasty.;D
Top of the tide was like someone threw a switch. Couldn't rise a scale after that until the small bream and moses perch moved in.
I am rapt I have recently acquired a new 4m rig with 30hp Yam and only fished 3 times with it. Christened it the first and second times but tonight just blew me away. Sorry no pics....still learning how to use the phone camera.

ALB78
31-05-2007, 01:04 AM
Gday watta, the fish did seem to have a good bite tonight, but i got my best fish after the turn of the tide on the start of the run out!! Looks like you got a good feed though, well done!!!!

31-05-2007, 06:49 AM

Nice work shane, get your kids to teach to use the phone cam :P

Let me know if you'd like my GPS to figure out your speeds.

T1
31-05-2007, 08:04 AM
Sounds like a good night there last night! Was sitting at a function on the Brissie Rvr thinking how nice it would have been to be out there (however the native view where i was wasn't too shabby either!)!

Take Care T

CreelReaper
31-05-2007, 08:51 PM
Hey Blackened, thanks for the offer.....might just have to drag you and a few others we know out for a trip. Yeah, the rig surely flies. Its been a while since I did the trip Manly to Huybers but it seemed to only take half as long as it did in the old tub.:o
Alb78... how close were you to Huybers. There was a few others there but I didn't see anyone when I left about 11 p.m.
T1 and all, yeah it certainly was an enjoyable night. Sounds like your night T1 may have been memorable too.8-)

Hope to see you all out there next time. Tight lines.....Watta Beauty!!!!!!

beefaman
31-05-2007, 09:45 PM
Nice work mate, love fishing Wello and hooking into some nice fish.