View Full Version : Mud This morning

juju
30-05-2007, 06:29 PM
Picked up my mate at 4.30 and were heading out the creek at sandgate by 5.....tried to pick up some live divers for bait on the way out, but just caught one small catfish after another....after 20 mins we gave up on that and went out to mud...within a few mins dragged up a small grinner....took a fillet off the side and put it out, Bang ...as soon as it hit the water, pulled in a what?.....a massive grinner......then came an asst of small squire, grassies,.....we then moved in close to the island and flicked lures right up around the logs, i had a flash of silver hit a chicken scream of the drag and straight back to the tree...gone....was a good size whatever it was.....hung in there for awhile...picked up a fe w more small squire...then we went around the bottom side and drifted around there...got onto another run of grinners and flounders (got 8)...and a small shark....came back towards the shipping channel but all was quite, and there was hardly any drift...stoped near teh adj bouy on the way back to get rid of teh last of the packet of worms i bought but it was right on low tide and we only pulled in 4 whiting......back in the ramp by2.30...was a nice day on the bay.....

Foxy4
30-05-2007, 07:39 PM
Just wondering what sort of running time the trip across to Mud from Sandgate would take on average. Might be far cheaper then driving down to Pinkenba Ramp

30-05-2007, 08:51 PM
Bayfisher and myself came back into Mud late in the arvo after a nice run in the Bay and added another 4 nice Squire to our assorted catch. Magic day to be on the water

Freeeedom
31-05-2007, 08:56 AM
Just wondering what sort of running time the trip across to Mud from Sandgate would take on average. Might be far cheaper then driving down to Pinkenba Ramp

I usually run to Mud from the Clontarf Ramp Foxy4. In good conditions it only takes about 20 minutes. From Sandgate it would be slightly shorter but since you can't gun it until you're out of the creek it's probably about the same timewise.
I use Clontarf so that, if it's a bit lumpy, I can still have a fish around the reefs off Woody Point and Scott's Point amd maybe bag a squire or three.
Cheers Freeeedom

juju
31-05-2007, 02:07 PM
Takes around 20 from sandgate .....depending on the morning chop, yesterday it was a really easy run....thing is its a all tide run from there, i go from clontarf sometimes....good ramp except on a low tide....

marty+jojo
31-05-2007, 03:43 PM
Hey guys while we are on the subject, does anyone know how far in kms from clontarf ramp to mud? I normally drive from home (Redcliffe) down to Brisy river,( Pinkenba ramp) and go to mud from there, i think it is a 12km run each way.
Marty.

Freeeedom
31-05-2007, 06:00 PM
About 10km from the Clontarf Ramp to the middle of the northern side of Mud - measurements from the grid of the maps in 'Beacon to Beacon'. I'll put the GPS on it next time if I remember. I reckon the Pinkenba Ramp to the southern end of Mud would be about the same
Cheers Freeeedom

marty+jojo
31-05-2007, 06:19 PM
Chhers Freeeedom,
The reason i launch from Pinkenba is i only have a 4.2metre Blue Fin with a 40hp yammy. It's quick on smooth water, but if the wind comes up it is only about 6 kms back to the safety of the river. Anyway seeing as though winter is here and we are going to get more of those magic days with no wind i'll have to give it a go.
Marty.

juju
31-05-2007, 06:58 PM
Chhers Freeeedom,
The reason i launch from Pinkenba is i only have a 4.2metre Blue Fin with a 40hp yammy. It's quick on smooth water, but if the wind comes up it is only about 6 kms back to the safety of the river. Anyway seeing as though winter is here and we are going to get more of those magic days with no wind i'll have to give it a go.
Marty.
Most of the time you would be looking at a downhill run home anyway, i find most of the time its more of a choppy run going over in the morning early than it is comming back.....i know one guy that avoids the chop by running in his 13 footer along close to the shore infront on nudgee and crib island, then turns and runs out to St Helena/Mud.....bit too shallow in close for my liking but....i just pass the yellow beacon at the front of the creek then run across on the "highway" setting on the gps at around 3000rpm.....as long as the forcast isent for more than 15 knts i reckon you would be right...

JJT
31-05-2007, 10:57 PM
dats ok bud by the looks of thing the weather helped you have a good day