View Full Version : Gear For Catching Flathead & Bream Onland
cuzincupitt
29-05-2007, 05:33 PM
hi all,just starting fishing & would like to know what rod & reel & line to get as i'am new to fishing i don't mind spending abit of money on gear gear,cheers:-/
B_E_N
30-05-2007, 10:38 AM
hey mate by the sounds of things your after a decent rod that will cater for alot of different fishing, the outfits ill suggest could be used for most estuarine species even squire. could be used for lures, soft plastics and bait also.
people have a preference to the brand of a reel but i wouldnt get anyhting other than a diawa or shimano, shimano being my favourite, you can pick up a good cheap reel for about $50-$70 like an aeronos, slade, sedonna, in the 2500 size, should be written on the reel and box. id buy a 300yd spool of berkely fireline braid and put that on, braids great IMO easy cast light and breaks well over the decribed breaking strain. id use 6lb and do on my aeronos! also pick a fairly bright colour, just helps to see when useing soft plastic and dosent have any adverse effect on your fishing.
there are heaps of rods to choose from but id look for a grpahite rod, 6-7 foot long, cork grips because there nice and light and fuji guides/runners. fuji have the best guides and they will last a long time! id be looking at any rod within the 2-5kg weight range, and try not to get a very stiff one.
also before you buy pick it up and feel it, get a rod that feels good and light in your hands.
that setup should cover a variety of fishing tech, saltwater and fresh.
if you want more info just pm me mate
cheers ben
CodSquad
01-06-2007, 11:07 PM
Just a thought, on land may not be the best place to start looking for 'em... !
Tailortaker
19-06-2007, 10:51 AM
G'day there, If you havnt allready bought your new gear I"d have to say that Ben's advise would be the right advise for you. Just remember to keep it light exspeicaly for bream. If you have bought something let us know how you went.
Grant
B_E_N
19-06-2007, 01:56 PM
if your still looking around for gear mate give us a pm, just brought a new rod and reel for gf so i can recommend some places to get stuff from cheap
Mike_W
20-06-2007, 05:02 PM
I'm using a 2-4kg 6'10 Berkley Dropshot (under $100) with Shimano Symetre 1500 ($120 and get free spare spool) and 4lb and 8lb(spare spool) fireline with either 4lb, 8lb or 14lb leader depending on the situation. Pretty much my general purpose rod for any land-based fishing.
sik008
20-06-2007, 05:33 PM
a little light rod with light line and a good reel that can cast a long way. use anywhere from 20 to 40 pound leader. Use soft plastics that are pink, green, yellow, ect. Anything that is bright. My favourite is the Squidgie Fish Killer tomato...always a success... for a reel a good brand like shimano or fluger will do.
I have the shimano Nexave 4000 with a ugly stick (2-3kg) which is my light fishing combo and i love it!!!!!
cheers alex
barkers creek
20-06-2007, 05:57 PM
gday mate
ill have to aggree with the other guys
i would use 10lb braid with 20lb leader shasing flatty and up the leader to 30 chasing bream around pillions and rocks ect.
i got fishing with sik008 often chasing flatty and have a good result on gulp pumpkinseed 2'' and squdgie fish but hey any softy should work,flatty dislike bright lures in the clear water so i would stick with pumpkinseed but went its bitt more dirty i would get into the squidgies
cheers nath
alleycat
20-06-2007, 06:38 PM
Mate if you want a nice light outfit go have a look at the pflueger 3-5 kg matched with a shimano stradic 1000 with 4-6 lb crystal fireline, very nice light outfit yet you could land decent snapper on it under the right conditions.
Phishaman
21-06-2007, 09:40 AM
I've recently purchased a Berkley Dropshot 6'6" ($89) and a Shimano Sienna 2500 reel ($60) and am happy with both. If you have a little extra cash, it's probably better to step up to one of the Shimao reels that come with a few extra features and an extra spool so that you can run 2 different line weights without any trouble.
I was pleasantly surprised to discover that you can set yourself up with a decent enough rig for under $150. This of course doesn't take into account the fact that expensive shiny lures and sparkly soft plastics have enticed me into buying them more that they have enticed fish into my catch bag!
:-[
B_E_N
21-06-2007, 10:12 AM
some of the cheaper shimano reels that dont come with a free spool like the areonos for example are still good because they can be easily ordered from shimano australina, just go to the website an email them, an aeronos 2000 spool is $20, saves buying another reel for another set up
Crumbo
21-06-2007, 11:32 AM
I use a 1-3kg struddie sic stick with a 1500 symetre reel. loaded with 4lb and 8lb flurocarbon leader fireline. It has caught me heaps of good flatties, bream and some decent trevs. All on SP's of course, but would still do the job with bait.