View Full Version : Advice on trailers
whatscracken
29-05-2007, 03:12 PM
I currently have a 16 year old redco trailer for a 4m tinnie that has seen better days. The frame itself is still in good nick but as for the axel, springs and wheels well they're cactus. Can anyone tell me if its worth while just replacing the running gear and if so can you recommend who to does this?? Or is it just as easy to spend the money and trade the old girl in??
kingtin
29-05-2007, 04:16 PM
I currently have a 16 year old redco trailer for a 4m tinnie that has seen better days. The frame itself is still in good nick but as for the axel, springs and wheels well they're cactus. Can anyone tell me if its worth while just replacing the running gear and if so can you recommend who to does this?? Or is it just as easy to spend the money and trade the old girl in??
A trailer that size should be pretty easy to clean up. Have a good look at it, think what needs doing, and then ask yourself if you could do it yourself. if you think you can, then price the parts and compare the hassle of it all with buying a new one.
Parts are easily available, even at places like Supercrap ;D Just make sure you keep the trailer within it's stated capabilities for rego purposes.
bastard
29-05-2007, 05:10 PM
All the parts can be bought from a wholesaler in beenleigh,they supply the shops,they are called active fabrications and are nice and cheap.
Kleyny
29-05-2007, 05:23 PM
I would spend money putting new gear under her.
Easy to do yourself, and others have said not all that dear.
Some of the trailers are made with a solid axle so they take allot of rust before they are U.S.
The springs are around $50 a side form memory.
neil
gone_fishing
29-05-2007, 05:33 PM
id look to rebuid most auto places carry srings bushes axles or a trailer mob in your area only cost a couple of hundred and a couple of hours if frame ok better to rebuild
snelly1971
29-05-2007, 06:55 PM
Have to agree with most of the comments above...I just wanted to add that i have seen too many people with great boats and crap trailers...spend the few extra bucks and restore it properly ....After all...there is nothing worse than planning a trip..and your trailer letting you down...
Cheers Mick
29-05-2007, 07:13 PM
Fix up is good. Trade-in bad as they'll offer nothing probably.
Active Fab. is the go for the parts.
If you need a hand just give me a cooee.
A complete axle, spring, wheel swap over should only take a few hours.
The main thing is to make sure there's no rust in the main frame.
What sort of wheels did you have as I have some little alloys here collecting dust. I even have an axle or two but the chances of them fitting would be low.
Cheers Scott
rayken1938
29-05-2007, 08:02 PM
I also have a couple of axles that may suit let me know what length you require and I will have a look. I am nearby at redland bay.
Ray
sambos
29-05-2007, 08:19 PM
gday whatscracken.
i,ve rebuilt our trailers under carriage twice know .its for a 24 ft boat therefore duel axel.both times it has cost around 1500 for hubs, axels, brakes ,ubolts etc.after last replacement i was informed the axels are solid highly unlikely need replacing only flakey surface rust.flog it with a big hammer and it pops off.should be cheaper next time
try" QLD Veichle Components" there on the north side
whatscracken
30-05-2007, 07:24 PM
Thanks for all the advice fellas. First thing is check some prices on replacing whats stuffed and then go from there. The rebuilt seems like the way to go