View Full Version : Omens & Uppercuts.
28-05-2007, 07:14 PM
Omens and Uppercuts !!
If I started this story at the beginning, it’d take until the Touchy M & G to write it, so I’ll start mid-way.
After a late start ( omen 6 ) to the day ( Sunday 27th ) I headed to Landcruiser Mountain Park, some 2 hours NNW of Brisbane up past Kilcoy. Traveling out through Brisbane I took the left lane at a certain road, but ended up behind “ 3 abreast “ cyclists.( omen 7 ) , I then was forced to take a wrong turn ( omen 8 ) and ended up on the right road, BUT, due to road works could not exit the right offramp and had to take another and longer route ( omen 9 ). By this time I was thinking to myself, there have been SOOOO many omens for me NOT to continue, should I ? Yes, I thought, I’ll push through these and luck will be on my side.
The journey to L/Park was not that bad and I thought I had beat the omens. Found my way to the office, paid dues and proceeded to find a couple of mates that were competing in the Tough Tracks Challenge. Found them only to find they had been eliminated from the final round not 5 minutes before I got there, but did manage to win a stage the day before.
I got a lift back to camp, via some very steep inclines and ruff terrain in the 500HP Scout. Did I mention the batteries in my camera died ( omen 10 )
Packed up the Toyo Scout ( picture here abouts and on trailer ) and as it was my first time to CruiserPark the boys were going to show me around. Followed them to the Pig Pen where there were a number of people enjoying themselves. I surveyed the area and noted that all waterholes looked deep. Drove about a bit more and one fella tells me that the waterhole “ over there “ is only 2ft deep. “ are you sure ? “….. “ Yep , just been through it “. So I look at it and decide that I needed a little bit of momentum. Backed up the Nissan and gave it some throttle. Pictures below tell the story. 2ft my ****. 4ft more like it.
OK, so I hit the water at speed, came to a sudden stop and turned the motor off ( this turns out to be a good thing ). Water starts coming in through the floor and my bot bot is getting wet. Snatch on and the car is removed within minutes. Open doors to let water out and start removing Tadpoles from windscreen……
Tow Nissan back to camp and remove Air filter, tubes and things to Turbo, tappet cover off and remove glow plugs, turn motor over and blow out water from engine. Found an aircompressor to blow water from Turbo. Flatten battery from too much turning over. Find out that the jumper leads I have are RS… ( omen 11 )… or is this tooo late. ??
It is decided that the vehicle needs to be towed to Brisbane to have the engine stripped and fluids replaced etc etc. Tow vehicle a few K’s to the Office where I make phone calls and find a willing accomplice to hire a car trailer and take me home.
While I wait, I remove seats, floor coverings, panels, seat covers and anything else I could. Now it is getting dark and I am wearing shorts and t-shirt and thongs… bbbrrrrrr ! Mate turns up just before 7 and we load the Nissan.
Heading out of the park there is a steep hill and we are in 2wd……. Can you see it coming ?????? We didn’t…….. back wheels spin, lock up brakes to no avail, we are heading backwards at a rate of knots and cannot see to steer rig to safety. Luckily ( if you can say that ), we jack-knifed the trailer into the scrub and that stopped us from disaster. Got out…..no damage…. Locked in hubs and off again. Made it another kilometer and notice the trailer wheel is deflated, well one was, still 3 good ones !!!!. Change the flat with spare… bugger-all air in that one. Heading back it poured with rain.
After a short stop for a snack and cuppa, and regain our thoughts and count certain blessings, we make it back to Brisbane and drop off Nissan at Goodyear Autocare Springwood. We go to a nearby servo that I will be able to hire a ute for a few days. ( omen 12,543 ) . “ just pick up that phone and it will connect you straight to the hire company “,, says the attendant. Good…… “ you have been placed in a que and we will answer your call shortly ‘…….. AT 11PM ????? These people are kidding. Anyway, after hearing this about 6 times, another voice answers “ there is no-one available to take your call, please leave a message “. Mmmmmm……….. “ I want to hire a ute “. OK, try again….. same….same. This time leave ALL details and teel ‘em I’ll call in the morning. Forgot to mention about the big sign.. “ hire cars 24hrs/ 7 days “.
( OMEN 2,349,978 ) <So I tell my mate, you go home and I’ll get a cab. Call cab, 5 minutes later he turns up. “ where to ? “…… “ Sherwood “ I say…… “ where’s that ? “. YOU ARE KIDDING…………… So I tell him the directions, he’s half asleep, all over the road and it cost me $44.00. ggggggrrrrrrr.
OK, after a shocker of a sleep, I hire car in morning. I have to catch a train to near where hire company is. I look up time table etc etc and find train leaving shortly the goes directly to the station I want. Get on train ( front of train displays “ Shorncliffe “ ), get to Roma street and the announcer says that the train only goes to Bowen Hills and I have to change trains. To me, this is a big deal as I haven’t been on a train since Jesus played fullback for the Israelites… OK, manage to ………bugger it, this is taking way too long.
At this stage, the car turns over and starts but we have issues with dash lights not doing the right thing. We will change all fluids tomorrow and filters,.
I have cleaned out all electrics ( CRC and air blown ), washed all interior, taken computer chip thingie to have cleaned and re lacquered. I have the snatch strap in water and the seat covers have been washed.
I have many bruisers under my chin for the number of Uppercuts I have given myself over the last 24 hours. All you need to know that the Nissan will live to fight another day, but the fight has been taken out of the driver. Omens… listen Phill….listen. !!
Go gently people....... :'( :'(
28-05-2007, 07:19 PM
more pics of other stuff
28-05-2007, 07:24 PM
ppppppppppppppppppppppppppp
russ81
28-05-2007, 07:26 PM
Hows it going Phil
I know those omens all to well and i to ignored all of them and payed the price dearly at least i know of one other who has come to the demise of land cruiser park:smash: i suddenly don't feel so bad.
Russ
Nice one mate don't ya luv it yeah yeah it's not deep she'll be right trust me!!Had a similar thing happen at magela crk crossing the water was about 1200 deep looked out my window nearly eye level with the water.You just get that sinking feeling hey.. good pic's Good luck Dan........
28-05-2007, 07:47 PM
I guess one word sums it up..... Bugger ! :o
thedeckie
28-05-2007, 08:41 PM
There is another two words Damo...............................
YOU IDIOT !!!!!!! ;D ;D
Dont ever ask to borrow my car!!!!:P
PS: Will lend ya me boat anytime.
2DKnBJ
28-05-2007, 10:10 PM
Ohy Dear,Oh My
Just one question Phill...Was the water warm.
Cheers Dazza
MY-TopEnder
28-05-2007, 10:21 PM
Oh phil you poor bastard.... such a nice truck too :P
I live by the theory... avoid mud at all costs. Its like unprotected sex... a few minutes fun but a lifetime of pain.
I thought you had a snorkel on that thing anyway.
29-05-2007, 04:48 AM
There is another two words Damo...............................
YOU IDIOT !!!!!!! ;D ;D
Dont ever ask to borrow my car!!!!:P
PS: Will lend ya me boat anytime.
he could put the boat onto dry ground
trophee
29-05-2007, 05:52 AM
I have a theory - boats are for water - cars are for land.
The last couple of weeks you have been trying to disprove that . Boats aground and cars in the water.
Hope everything cleans up OK.
rob tranter
29-05-2007, 06:31 AM
Phil,
You obviously failed to read ALL the signs
"TOYOTA PARK";D
Not Nissan;D
Thats a heap of bad luck mate, but it can only get better from here
Hopefully:D
Rob8-)
Reel Hard
29-05-2007, 06:34 AM
Thanks Phil I needed that pick me up this morning. RAFLMAO.
Not good but it is funny.
You are going to have electrical issues in the future, time to trade up.
29-05-2007, 08:37 AM
the list is getting bigger Phil, stay away from trees, stay away from water when in a vehicle designed for land (the hard stuff ya walk on), boats are designed for water (wet stuff for swimming and such activitys, as aposed to land).
Hows insurance cope with a claim like that, maybe a right off?
things have gotta get better Phil if there is any such thing as carma as you do so much good carma
rob tranter
29-05-2007, 11:27 AM
the list is getting bigger Phil, stay away from trees, stay away from water when in a vehicle designed for land (the hard stuff ya walk on), boats are designed for water (wet stuff for swimming and such activitys, as aposed to land).
Hows insurance cope with a claim like that, maybe a right off?
things have gotta get better Phil if there is any such thing as carma as you do so much good carma
I think I've missed something here
Wheres the thread on the boating problems your having Phil?;D
Rob8-)
Reel Hard
29-05-2007, 11:30 AM
I think I've missed something here
Wheres the thread on the boating problems your having Phil?;D
Rob8-)
You just haven't known him long enough.
29-05-2007, 05:25 PM
I cannot believe the " It's only 2 foot deep " line worked on someone over the age off 25:o . It's usually effective only on young guys full of beer , rum and ... driving hi- lux's. The other line that works a treat on the young fella's is yep drove that track this morning in that , "pointing to my standardish patrol "and made it but you have to know what your doing on the last bit!!!! Red rag to a bull , gets them every time;D ;D ;D ;D ;D then all you do its sit back and watch the fire works.
Ps. seen that scout compete many times, goes very hard;)
bastard
29-05-2007, 05:46 PM
Next time you attempt something like this it is a good idea to have a snorkel and also it pays to hook your strap up first and leave it inside the car so when you get stuck you can pass it out the window for a quick recovery,i still bet you had fun.
MY-TopEnder
29-05-2007, 06:33 PM
No mud at Ormeau.... haha that navara of yours got lockers in it yet Phil?
Next time you attempt something like this it is a good idea to have a snorkel and also it pays to hook your strap up first and leave it inside the car so when you get stuck you can pass it out the window for a quick recovery,i still bet you had fun.
30-05-2007, 04:12 PM
I saw a Landcruiser ute today which had a mount on the back with an outboard motor fitted onto it. Had no clue why but after reading your omen story Phill I can see some potential for mounting an outboard on the back of the Nissan. Sorry to hear of your demise. I am thinking the experience may just slow you down a bit? Lol
30-05-2007, 05:16 PM
Are there any videos :-X;D;D;D;D
bastard
30-05-2007, 05:42 PM
I saw a Landcruiser ute today which had a mount on the back with an outboard motor fitted onto it. Had no clue why but after reading your omen story Phill I can see some potential for mounting an outboard on the back of the Nissan. Sorry to hear of your demise. I am thinking the experience may just slow you down a bit? Lol
PoodrooThankyou poodroo,for the last 3 days ive been fighting with the wife and fighting with the boss,and you are the first person to make me laugh my guts out.I really needed that.:)
30-05-2007, 07:22 PM
Thankyou poodroo,for the last 3 days ive been fighting with the wife and fighting with the boss,and you are the first person to make me laugh my guts out.I really needed that.:)
Lol You're welcome bastard. I feel kind of funny calling someone that. Almost ended up in a fist fight the last time I called someone that name. :P I noticed we live in the same suburb too. That could have been you I heard laughing maybe? ;D
30-05-2007, 11:28 PM
So far so good.
Nissan has been started with minor implications. Had 3 complete engine oil changes, diffs, gearbox, etc etc. All electrics appear to be back to normal ( I hear ya Kev ). Snorkel being fitted Friday, new rear suspension Thursday. The floor coverings are staying out for a week or so to completely dry out.
As for other stuff like remote central locking, spotties, speakers, air horns etc, I haven't tested them yet, but will do Friday or over the weekend.
IAN, I know it is probably funny, but why would anyone seriously tell someone to do something, full well knowing that it could end in tears and big $'s. After speaking to a few 4 x 4'ers, it appears that this is the mentality of some of the " genre '.
I accept full responsibility for my actions and am still giving myself uppercuts, but I still can't come to terms with the intent of the clown that convinced me the water was 2ft deep. OK, it has taught me a lesson, expensive one at that. I know that next time I see a feret like this and he is talking the talk, I'll jump in his 4 x 4 and put it to the test. I can get into enough trouble by myself, I don't need a VI to assist me.
I haven't found any more tadpoles, which is a good thing ::) ;D ;D
ROB, I haven't got lockers on the Nissan and don't see a need for them atm. LSD's are fine.
BLAZE< No insurance claim on this. They don't insure against the #@#* head theory.
GREG.. No video..... :P
trophee.... Yes, rules are meant to be broken, just needs a suitable ::) person to attempt it.
thedeckie.... thanks for going ' gentle ' on me. Onya FOS ;D
I might have to get a VHF installed in the Nissan.8-)
Reel Hard
31-05-2007, 06:37 AM
Phil I know of successful insurance claims for this.
Have you driven it yet as the clutch can be seriously affected as well with slop.
Tip is that all serous 4bs have no floor coverings.
G'day Phil,
Get the brakes esp drums stripped and cleaned before you drive it, along with the clutch slave - That dam silt will chew them out in no time flat.
As soon as I read this I thought - Pig pens claim another one - but I was also one of those back when the pig pens was actually just a dam - (15 years ago). I'd never been there before and saw wheel tracks going in one side and out the other - thought I'd give it a go ('cause I had my first ever set of mudders) and spent the next six hours using a hilift jack with a snatch strap and a bit of chain trying to get it out again. It was a week day and there was no-one around - good fun. The drum brakes on the vehicle were stuffed by the time I got back to Brisbane.
My very next trip to LCMP saw me pulling a new pajero out of the same dam, but this time we had to cut his seatbelts out to extend the snatch......his wife wasn't impressed with him at all.
Next trip to the park you'll be one of the blokes sitting on the tailgate sinking tinnies and just watching 'em go round the pig pens - cause you'll be able to have a little smile and the beer will taste even sweeter.
Good luck with the ute repairs mate, but judging from your last few trips I reckon you're just after an excuse to take it off the road and turn it into some exo caged crawling beast;D
C.J.
31-05-2007, 12:01 PM
So far so good.
IAN, I know it is probably funny, but why would anyone seriously tell someone to do something, full well knowing that it could end in tears and big $'s. After speaking to a few 4 x 4'ers, it appears that this is the mentality of some of the " genre '.
cheers Phill
Dont know phill, it's just something about LCMP that brings the worst out in people:-[ beer maybe , rum probably!::) i reckon every trip i go there you see some normally sane person do something totally rediculous to the 4x4 and not get away with it:P On our trips to the park the first day is a general attempt everything day, but by the second day if nothing broken or bent to much i'm more than content to go and watch other guys being silly.
It is amazing the sense of relief i feel wash over me when i drive out the gates and the vehicle is in one piece though;D
Reel Hard
31-05-2007, 01:10 PM
Yeah gotta agree with Ian.
Its more commonly refered to as rockcrawler training fluid.
Omens and Uppercuts !!
I surveyed the area and noted that all waterholes looked deep. Drove about a bit more and one fella tells me that the waterhole “ over there “ is only 2ft deep. “ are you sure ? “….. “ Yep , just been through it “. :'( :'(
i never come in here , but will have to start..:P
Phil, did you hide his body well??
big chance i would have been on the end of a hiding as well if it was me, too old, too slow. but i would have had a stern talk a goose that gave info like that just to be a smartarse..
hope it all ends well.
SCOTTYGC
31-05-2007, 03:01 PM
;d ;d ;d ;d :-x :-x ::)
31-05-2007, 08:53 PM
Phil...what can I say????
Just two words...you dill :-/
Fancy doing that to your little baby truck.
Just thought about something...Phil and dill rhyme. Maybe I'm a poet and didn't know it. ;D
01-06-2007, 03:40 PM
This is a major bummer.. I was thinking about going out to this park, but doubt I will now - I need my vehicle daily to do business.. Geez !
Perhaps you should tie a boogie board to the roof next time so you can paddle to safety ? :D
russ81
01-06-2007, 03:52 PM
Hows it going dirty sanchez
Mate it is a massive park with varying degrees of difficulties of tracks ranging from beginner to extreme the pig pen also has different obstacles placed in it you can quite easily go and have a great day four wheel driving without touching mud or damaging your vehicle it is a great day out and i highly recommend it
Russ
02-06-2007, 12:28 PM
UPDATE:-
Picked Nissan up on Friday, unfortunately it got about 10k's up the road and died. re-started and another 5k's it died again. Drove around another 1/2 hour and died. Flattened battery trying to start it. Put in another ( always carry a spare ) and tried. Nope, call towie. Before towie gets there, car starts, but alas, only for 2 minutes.
Good news, Spotties work, air horns work, speakers seem un affected.
I sprayed all elec joints with a CRC product especially made for this kinda thing. No it is not an average CRC, as it leaves NO residue. Started car......... ran for 40 minutes without stopping.
Now I have a front main seal oil leak..................
I will get that fixed next week but i am not going to drive the car until after that is fixed.
The rear of the car sits about 4 inches higher than before with new springs and shocks under her. I'll have to wind the front up as it has a nice " rake ".
Air-con, is the only thing not working.
02-06-2007, 12:33 PM
For finga:-
Phill the Dill went up the hill, to have a look at the view
He drove back down, around and round and ended up in the pooh,
The pride is dented, his anger vented
The car will live again,
Omens noted, experience gained.
I'll think I'll get that picture framed..........................;D :'( :'(
cya. Phill
02-06-2007, 12:54 PM
not only should you get it framed Phil but you should get it air brushed on the bonnet so you will never be tempted again.
ps
aint you supposed to be fishin
03-06-2007, 07:16 PM
;D ;D ;D TX Robbie. I like it. ;D ;D
03-06-2007, 07:45 PM
Phil,
mate down the track when your on your rocking chair, you'll look at that framed pic, repeat Deckies words and then grin,
(but which pic your going to frame?)
05-06-2007, 09:26 PM
The story continues.
Had the car at the sparkies all day and running without issues. Some error codes came up on the diagnostics, but that was explained away. It'll come back to mechanics tomorrow ( wednesday ) for the main seal to be replaced, torsion bars turned up and another check up. Looks as if i won't have her back until Friday / Saturday. Then it will be full steam ahead replacing interior, cleaning underneath and offering some TLC that she deserves.
One thing I will say, the Nissan is tuff.
Quick history>
Been a rolled over, headfirst into a large tree and now drowned. It will live to fight on.
Now that the snorkel has been all but fitted I have to place the second battery in the tray and return the airfilter components to original so the snorkel will work.
MY-TopEnder
05-06-2007, 11:10 PM
I'm too lazy to go back and check.... gearbox and diffs have all had the oil changed haven't they?
Good to hear things are coming along though...
Gotta love Nissan strength.
12-06-2007, 07:18 PM
Update. on the 12th June I picked up the Nissan from the shop.
Drove home with no issues.
I plugged in the remote central locking, and it works. Yee haa.
I also have some new tyres ( coopers ) under her as well.
The vehicle is about 4 inches higher than when it first went into the shop.
Has a snorkel fitted, new rear suspension, All fluids changed, new front main seal and more. All areas have been pretty well cleaned and it will get another squirt on the weekend ( under ).
All I have to do now is put it all back together.
Look out ........... I'm back. ;D :P 8-)
12-06-2007, 07:51 PM
Good to hear you are back Phill but there is one extra add-on that you have neglected. A periscope.;D
12-06-2007, 08:31 PM
Crickey, 4" lift, new tyres, snorkle, will anything stop this man now?.. Mike
MY-TopEnder
12-06-2007, 09:09 PM
Gees Phil, sounds like its all back on track. Good to hear.
Lockers yet?
diff, transfer, and gearbox breather extensions. The way you drive, I have them hanging right off the top of that nice new snorkel.;)
13-06-2007, 05:32 PM
diff, transfer, and gearbox breather extensions. The way you drive, I have them hanging right off the top of that nice new snorkel.;)
Hehehehehehe:helpa: :furious2:
13-06-2007, 06:14 PM
Any pics Phill ! ;D
13-06-2007, 07:51 PM
NO. no pics..... :P
I've had to do some mods to the engine bay to fit the snorkel. As some may have known, I had a second battery under there. To make it fit, I had to reposition the Air Filter and Fuel filter. But for the Safari Snorkel to fit as required, these items had to be replaced to the original position. Thus, the second battery will be re-located in the tray ( rear ).
I will post a pic of my " new and improved, brain dead mort , wake up dopey, yes you ! ", alert system. Stay tuned for that one ;D ;D ;D
I'll be taking the Nissan to get her belly cleaned on Saturday. I had a good look around today and I think I'll have to pay land tax to the Kilcoy Shire Council :)
On another positive note, my mechanic that I was with when the Nissan went for a drink was back at L/cruiser Park on Saturday/ Sunday and collected another trophy in the " Superior Class '. One wrong turn on one track cost him a weekend overall win. Bugga ! >:(
I won't be getting diff lockers either :P Only Toyotas need them :o
17-06-2007, 04:46 PM
Took time out to do the necessary things. There are a couple of pics attached.
First ones are WHY you MUST clean out ya brakes after a drinking ( drowning ).
The clean up using free Redland Bay water.....;D
The clean ( on the outside ) Nissan. Then there is the new chrome toy.
I have found one thing not working...... the bloody windscreen washer pump.
The car has been driving well with no hiccups....::)
The Nissan has also had her underbelly thoroughly hosed down with no residual mud to be seen.
I just need to get the interior detailed and she's back like new.well not new, but close enough.
17-06-2007, 06:13 PM
Looking good Phill. With what that poor car has been through it deserves the red carpet treatment where ever she goes and treated like royalty. NO DONUTS! Lol
Brett1907
18-06-2007, 08:49 AM
It's starting to look like a real 4X4 now! The 4in lift does make a difference doesn't it. Glad to hear the ute has recovered well, I'll bet it now has a real phobia for water!
By the way, where did you get the chrome toys? I need to replace the horne on the 'lux, the original toyota one sounds like it should be in a mini!!!