View Full Version : day off in weipa
Strikezone_fly
19-05-2007, 01:23 PM
Had a day off today so decided to take my 10 year old son Johnny for a flyfish on the beach, catching the early morning tide. An opportunity for a little practices fly casting for Johnny.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1381.jpg
Found a Manta, no fish following.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1395.jpg
Out on the beach it wasn’t long before Johnny was hooked up.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1411.jpg
a Great Blue Salmon.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1416.jpg
Hooked up to number 6.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1403.jpg
One thing he has down pat is posing for the camera.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1432.jpg
Dad caught his share unfortunately I didn’t have a personal photographer.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1417.jpg
With the early morning sun being so low in the sky it was hard to spot the fish until they where right under your feet good thing they don’t spook easily.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1409.jpg
One more for mum.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1459.jpg
Found this ten foot Croc lying on the bottom on the way home, “this one we’d better not tell mum about ”.
wessel
19-05-2007, 02:04 PM
Excellent photographs, thanks for sharing
What weight rod would you recommend for taking on a snapping handbag;)
Wessel
Strikezone_fly
19-05-2007, 02:10 PM
I'd start with a 12 and go up from there.
wessel
19-05-2007, 02:20 PM
12 weight or 12 gauge;D
As you said, best not tell mom about that one. Steer well clear from those flat dogs.
Wessel
Leeann
21-05-2007, 01:24 PM
Great pics. I must be a chicken because I'm usually 12ft up the bank when flycasting up there! I saw an 8kg baitcaster snapped on one of those handbags so maybe a 12# will be a little undergunned. Try a 17# :)
weipa girl
21-05-2007, 02:34 PM
Yep,
have to agree on that one i remember fishing at janie creek and became alittle blarsay after a while when ya dont see a croc ya think oh its cool ill just stand near the water then, but i stood on some rocks on the sand one of the days, next day there was a huge i mean huge croc laying right beside them rocks phew i never did that again.
Wahoo
21-05-2007, 03:37 PM
great pics,
wife n i will be up there on Tuesday, visit some friends n family, im takeing 2 rods up for a bit of a play, i also see rain heading in soon
Strikezone_fly
21-05-2007, 07:20 PM
Give me a call when your here I'll point you in the right direction. 40 699880
Wahoo
22-05-2007, 12:19 AM
Craig, thanks mate will do
weipa girl
26-05-2007, 06:58 PM
wow good times, gees i miss weipa used to go up there every two years fishing at janie creek, how long you been up there ??? i love the place i have been on the net looking at it lately its growing heaps hey.?
couldnt believe the amount of housing being built etc, i had a friend i talked to on the net for ages called sonya elmes and her hubby rob he was an leccy in the mines , theymoved to biloela and i lost contact was a real shame cos she was one hell of a nice lady sent me stuff from weipa cos she knew how much i missed it, wanted to live there but partner and i split up , argh well met a wonderful man now and married but got our own business and cant get time off to go again so he promises me we will make it when we sell up one day and hit the road cant wait , great pics gotta love that place fishing incredible. cheers
Great post !!!......blow by blow action !!!
Strikezone_fly
28-05-2007, 02:23 PM
Hi Weipa Girl, I have lived in Weipa for 37years, since I was 1. Love the place too......I live to fish, so Weipa suits me to the ground.
Toddy_again
28-05-2007, 05:55 PM
The weather looks crap up there too.;D
Toddy
Brewsky111
31-05-2007, 05:50 PM
Awesome story for a day off. Loved it so much I became a member of the site. Currently living in Perth but grew up on the Hawkesbury in Sydney. A bunch of guys and I are heading up to Weipa in June for a houseboat trip. They always complain that there isn't any fish on the Hawkesbury (although we go alright), but supposedly it is unreal in Weipa.
Your message confirmed this but confirmed one other thing and that is that we won't be going in the water!! :o
We can't wait for our trip and can't wait to wet a line! Great pics as well
Cheers....Brewsky!
Strikezone_fly
02-06-2007, 06:42 PM
Hi Brewsky,
You'll have a ball on the house boat... The best thing is you don't have to travel far to get to your fishing grounds. They park the house boats down in Boyd's Bay, Pera & Pine River. Great areas to fish.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1555.jpg
Off Boyd's Bay a week ago....GOING OFF!!
Brewsky111
05-06-2007, 10:16 AM
;D We are only a couple of weeks away but are countingdown the hours. This action looks unreal! Thanks Craig, will send it to the boyz. There wont be much work done today, just Weipa dreamin! Cheers.....Pat
Hi Brewsky,
You'll have a ball on the house boat... The best thing is you don't have to travel far to get to your fishing grounds. They park the house boats down in Boyd's Bay, Pera & Pine River. Great areas to fish.
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g60/Strikezone_2006/CopyofIMG_1555.jpg
Off Boyd's Bay a week ago....GOING OFF!!
weipa girl
05-06-2007, 04:33 PM
Wow thirty seven years huh gees you would of noticed a change in things now,
its is true that janie creek has changed heaps now. i was living in port mcq nsw when i used to do the run up there every two years . but ive heard that heaps of people know about janie creek now and its gets a bit crowded if what others are saying is crowded, i dunno but we used to be the only ones there at the time apart from the odd local weipa campers for anight or two.
yep seen some huge crocs out that way too, had a ball one night in the local club and camped a couple of nights in the local caravan park too before we headed on our way home, i realy wanna fly up one time and book the houseboat with some friends reckon it would be great seeing as we dont have the time to take off work to drive up . thanks for your post was great to see your pics even though it made me sad miss weipa heaps . what a gorgeous looking son you have cheers