View Full Version : Not a bad jack in the cooler weather

moorie86
18-05-2007, 10:21 AM
Hey guys, caught this the other night around hope island. The bait used was the good old white bail from the servo. cheers

breamnut
18-05-2007, 06:26 PM
mate this is some of the best time to go jack fishin.
personally i get them on lures and let them go but have no worries with anyone keeping a feed!
target the jack over this month cause there really trying to feed up before the full force of winter kicks in.
look at the water temp it has only dropped 2-3 degrees even though it feel cold outside the water is still warm.
nice jack how long was it?

bushbeachboy
18-05-2007, 07:07 PM
Nice jack mate.

frankgrimes
18-05-2007, 07:23 PM
Solid Jack there mate - Well done

peterm
18-05-2007, 08:03 PM
Great Jack there buddy - good on ya !

moorie86
18-05-2007, 10:31 PM
Thanks boys. Yeah it went just on 50cm so was stoked with it.:D
Think i will take your advice breamnut and have a go at a few more. cheers

ashh
19-05-2007, 12:59 AM
nice jack there mate, well done

rogersto
19-05-2007, 05:46 PM
Hey guys, caught this the other night around hope island. The bait used was the good old white bail from the servo. cheers

Holey fluck, that's a shade bigger than the one i got this morning at nerang (see my other thread)

well done mate !! nice !!

I'm about to wander across to cook 'im

here's a wee recipe (I'll be using with the one I caught...)

head and all cleaned and innards removed.
Pat of butter
White wine
Fresh garlic
Fresh parley
Fresh lemon zest
Olive oil
Salt & Pepper
1Tbsp Capers (optional)

Clean the fish and salt and pepper the outside and inner cavity. Drizzle a
small amount of oil on it and throw it in a screaming hot 500F Oven for 18 -
20 minutes. Transfer to a warm plate and cover and set aside.

Take the pan you roasted the fish in and add the pat of butter and the
garlic and capers (optional). Cook 1 minute over medium. Add the white
wine, bring to a boil and simmer 3 or 4 minutes. Add the parsley and lemon
zest pour over the fish and viola!

This lemon/parsley/garlic mix is known in French cooking as a gremialad.
This is a classic taste you will love, and very simple. Some people throw
in some capers during the butter garlic sauté part. Very very good. Capers
are small buds from the nesturchin bush.

Glass of Wolf Blass Vintage Chardonnay.. YEAH !

Wife says eech, let 'er have the supermarket hormones from where-ever, don't care. I like fish, I eat what I catch and I LOVE IT !! wouldn't have it any other way.. no comparison - basa and all that can go and get F*'d

Murph77
19-05-2007, 08:25 PM
solid jack mate, well done

spook76
21-05-2007, 06:07 PM
yummmmmm nice jack well done!!! go the servo bait!!!

Sean
22-05-2007, 01:42 PM
Did you put it back??

HIGH and DRY
22-05-2007, 06:13 PM
Did you put it back??
i would assume not, as it was sitting on his kitchen bench with a knike in clear view. make for a good feed for someone but.

Chalkandcheese
22-05-2007, 07:08 PM
Did you put it back??

be good if it was. a lot of jacks were killed this year

moorie86
23-05-2007, 06:59 PM
Hey guys , yeah kept this one as it is my first legal jack and have been told they are good eating. Dont keep a lot of fish but will keep if its new to me.
thanks