View Full Version : Killing your catch
Mercury16
17-05-2007, 05:07 PM
Hello,
Now i dont like hurting the fish just befor i kill it.
I read some where that when a fish is stressed it releases a toxan into its blood stream which can make the meat taste bad (not sure if its true)
Anyway i know the usual way to kill your fish is to cut its head off, and i was just wondering does anyone have a different or better technique
thanks Peter
Rod Fishing
17-05-2007, 05:12 PM
Peter,
I brain spike mine with a knife. Its as simple as running your knife into the brain and the fish doesnt go rigid and rigor doesnt set in for a lot longer.
Hope this helps..
Rod..
LostNearBribie
17-05-2007, 05:35 PM
Give it a kiss, let it go. No stress, no toxins, no worries....
In my killing days the brain spike was always the way, or breaking the neck.
kingtin
17-05-2007, 06:29 PM
I just get the deckie to give the fish "one of them looks", and it dies of shock.............you know....................the kind of look she gives me when she recognises a new rod in the rack ;D
17-05-2007, 06:52 PM
you mean the bold and the beautiful look? stephanie forrester type look??LOL
onthebite
17-05-2007, 06:55 PM
You know it's got me stuffed how all those fish were able to survive after the big Rexy Hunt gave'em a kiss then let them go. I often give a sharp blow right at the top of the head above the eye's with my knife handle.
Seems to stop them very quick.
Mercury16
17-05-2007, 07:11 PM
okay, ill give the bold and the beautiful look and if that doesnt work the next thing the fish will see is my knife handle
BLOOEY
17-05-2007, 07:19 PM
Slit their throat, snap their neck and into the esky.Preferably a slurry of salt water and ice.
Reef_fisher
17-05-2007, 08:28 PM
The donger, settle down folks, i'm not unnatureally blessed. The donger is a 18in long steel pipe with a braided handle(did it myself). good for anything that I care to bring into the boat. If you catch a sea snake and try to bring it into the boat you will be very wet very quickly. One whack kills instantly.
Sea-Dog
17-05-2007, 10:20 PM
............If you catch a sea snake and try to bring it into the boat you will be very wet very quickly. ..............
Snakes are OK.
I heard a story of a Maori mate of mine. He was sorting the catch on the trawler he worked on. Picked up a snake and flung it over the side as usual. (or so he thought.)
Unbeknown to Terry, he had thrown with a bit too much vertical movement of the arm and the snake ended up wrapped around some of the overhead rigging.
Not long after, the snake drops down onto Terry's neck and shoulders. Terry turned whiter than I am, and in a lightning-fast movement, sent the snake spinning out of sight like a runnaway helicopter blade.
He was a bit more careful with his snake-tossing after that.
oddbudman
17-05-2007, 10:57 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ike_jime
HORTO
18-05-2007, 05:33 PM
hi reef fisher, you don't mean killing the sea snake do you. i think they are protected.
snelly1971
18-05-2007, 08:24 PM
A smack on the noggin with the back of the knife blade then i slit around the gills...this usually slows them down and bleeds them out....
Cheers Mick
peterm
18-05-2007, 10:13 PM
http://www.fao.org/DOCREP/004/X2590E/x2590e10.htm#TopOfPage
Up till now I have just used the cut the throat and bend the head back but now I'm going to give the brain spike method a go.
mudskipper
19-05-2007, 12:01 PM
i use a stainless bag needle- i read that if u brain spike them (look 4 the vee in the head) ; breed them ; and get them on salt water and ice slurry ( zero degrees) as quick as possible , you'll end up with the best possible catch at the end of the day. i have had fillets in my freezer packed in zip bags (no air) that tasted good as ,10 months later. i can't see the sense in spending all that time money and effort to bring a feed home if you don't look after the catch. and don't get me started on people who kill shit without any thought of eating it. one rule on my boat if its not a declared pest and ur not going to eat it - let it go.
bballfisho
19-05-2007, 05:15 PM
cut the throat and straight into the pool salt bag fill with ice blocks. seems to work for me
rockfisho
19-05-2007, 05:54 PM
Yep, same as bballfisho. I bleed everything but whiting, usually.
Sergio_kutz
19-05-2007, 11:34 PM
Just out of curiosity, if it's a stressful event that causes fish to release this toxin, would then being hauled out of the ocean by a sharp hook through your mouth be kind of stressful? Or has it got more to do with the actual speed and or type of death?
Just seeing if we can put a bit of a new spin on this. :)
Serge
Davemclean
20-05-2007, 01:45 AM
well, the fight maybe stressful sometimes, but fish don't feel pain the same as we do, they have a much much higher pain threshold, due to the development of the nervous centre
sandyd
20-05-2007, 09:25 AM
well, the fight maybe stressful sometimes, but fish don't feel pain the same as we do, they have a much much higher pain threshold, due to the development of the nervous centre
Always wondered about this but the fish just don't seem to want to tell me. :-X
I would like to know where you come up with this information though?
jez and suze
20-05-2007, 09:31 AM
use a stainless bag needle- i read that if u brain spike them (look 4 the vee in the head) ; breed them ; and get them on salt water and ice slurry ( zero degrees) as quick as possible.....
mudskipper......not sure about you but i would have trouble breeding after a stainless steel spike was shoved into my vee.........
Mercury16
20-05-2007, 09:40 AM
I think i got this info on some childrens show, i think it was called "creature featurs" on ABC becasue i was flicking through and saw the fish so i thought i might watch. Anyway people send in questions about animals and if there is alot of questions on a particular animal they answer a few of the questions. and they were doing fish, and one question was "do fish feel pain like humans do"?
and then they explained about how they feel it differently to us and all bout the toxins.
regards Peter
20-05-2007, 10:31 AM
Mercury, if you give them the bold and the beautiful look, use the Sally Spectra version, she could strip paint off a wall with her look....LOL.... much better than Stephanies look.......:)
Actually the actress that plays sally spectra died a couple of months ago in real life. Gee am i a daytime soapie tragic or what???????????? gotta get me out for some more fishing therapy :):):):)
kingtin
20-05-2007, 12:29 PM
Always wondered about this but the fish just don't seem to want to tell me. :-X
I would like to know where you come up with this information though?
Sandy,
There are documented cases of fish being hooked immediately after release. I'm sorry to say that I once removed the eye of a perch whilst unhooking it. I caught it again, the very next cast.
My mate also caught a turtle in the bay that I had snipped free, 10 minutes previously...........it was recognisable by my hook, and the mullet bait, still attached, hanging from it's jaw :o
It is also known in wholesale/retail aquatic circles, to hide your heaters behind uplifts if you are keeping large cichlids such as oscars or red devils. They can fall asleep in the immediate vicinity and you find them the next morning, apparently unconcerned, with heater burns to their bodies.
Davemclean
20-05-2007, 08:45 PM
yeah, the heater burns happened to a couple of fish when I had a cichlid tank, they just didn't notice it had happened, and I have seen fish be attacked by pike in the margins, have most of their tails removed and they have still taken a bait, and I have re captured many fish with in 10 minutes of releasing them, that's from my experience
and there was some scientific tests on the pain threshold of fish, can't remember when or where but I'll have a look, that proved they are aware of it, but don't feel it as pain, as such
http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2003/02/10/1044725683181.html
there is a link abut the scientific studies, also, you have to wade through a lot of the "animal rights" BS, specifically PETA, to get the proper info through google