View Full Version : rod and reel for rocks

ANGLERnotDANGLER
09-05-2007, 07:04 PM
hey guys imk just looking at getting a new setup to be used off the rocks and on the beach.

looking for a long rod that will be versatile enough to chase jew from the beach but also drummer and snapper etc from the rocks

also what reel would you recommend, line from 10-15kg
im just looking around and any suggestions would be appreciated.
i know they reckon alveys are the best for this sort of fishing but im not looking at them just yet.

09-05-2007, 08:19 PM
Why not?

rockfisho
09-05-2007, 08:47 PM
Hi mate

I think either a Snyder REgal Su7156 or MT8144 would be best for this situation. You can use something really long and powerful (13'6" with 7 wraps) but is becomes difficult to handle with drummer and groper on the end, but good for throwing out big baits in the surf for jewies.

With respect to reels. Alvey are the go, 650,651, maybe 700 are good models.
With spinning reels, they cant fight drummer whatsoever, nor winch up a fish.

rockfisho

10-05-2007, 04:45 PM
Whats your budget, Angler?
Alveys are excellent value for money, and very effective.
I no longer use them, after 35 years or so, because they are too damn heavy to hold for hours on end, yes I know, a woosie excuse!
As for a threadline reel for this application, something with strong gears, pref bronze or stainless, and a strong drag. Money no problem, Van Staal, sealed stainless gears! About $1200 +, bit rich to bash on the rocks, however!
The old Penn Spinfishers and Mitchell surf reels had bronze gears and were durable and had good drags. Don't know about the new Chinese made versions, the US made Liveliner or Slammer I would expect to have bronze gears.
Same with some of the better Shimano reels, a mate has a 8000 Spheros and loves it for surf and snapper.
If you are not fussed about spinning the slightly cheaper Daiwa GS9 is an excellent strong and well priced workhouse, albeit a bit heavy, prob would get my recommendation, I use one for rock work myself and feel it would be fine for the surf. Also their BG series in the larger models are beautiful and strong reels.
Rods would be a bit of a toss-up between 12' and 13'6", the longer is better for the beach IMO. If you need to cast a mile, there are some expensive units around if cost is not an option. Blue Marlin comes to mind, or a custom made on for example a Calstar or ZZZiplex blank, certainly out of my league so can't give any info on these, otherwise as Rockfisho says rods built on the mt 8144 blank are good value and strong. I use an mt 8144 myself for rock work, strong and most importantly durable!
Cheers and have fun, heaps to choose from, enjoy!

wateva-treva
16-05-2007, 06:55 PM
for the reel go with a big okuma eclipz, built tough, moserately priced and fast enough for target fish.

land-lubber
16-05-2007, 07:37 PM
If ur after a threadline, go for tss4, shimano baitrunner (big baitrunner or 6500) or a penn spinfisher. All are tough reels and proven in the surf. Probably steer clear of the okumas, have too many corrosion problems for my liking.

WHALEOIL
17-05-2007, 05:22 AM
The first rod I grab when beach and rock fishing is a 9 foot overhead with an ABU 10000 CL reel 10 kg line.
I never bottom fish off the rocks and use this live baiting.
The 2nd one is a 6 foot Ugly stick with a Shimano baitcaster. Bonito and macs are great fun on this.

ANGLERnotDANGLER
18-05-2007, 10:33 AM
thanks for the replies, sorry for the late reply but my browser must be stuffing up cause it has been saying that there were no replies.

Wel the reason for not trying an alvey is because ive never used one and id like to know how to use one before i buy one. while im sure they are not hard at all i dont know anyone really that uses one i may not like using it, but i think its something i wil have to look into further.

nigelr: i dont have a set budget yet but im trying not to go too overboard...trying

thanks for the info i will check them out