View Full Version : Smoking & Fishing
Peter8862
08-05-2007, 08:28 PM
Can I Get Some Opinions As To Weather The Smell Of Tobaco Turns Fish Off, My Father Smoked & Always Seemed To Get A Good Feed Of Fish. But I Have Been Told That It Will Go Against Your Catch. Is This True?
(lets Not Get Into A Health Debate Please)
08-05-2007, 08:32 PM
LOL..and some fish also hate the smell of rum or beer...but I reckon it is all due to global warming. How can the fish smell the tobacco??????
Peter8862
08-05-2007, 08:35 PM
They Can Smell Your Bait Cant They?
I reckon it's codswallop.
I gave up smoking last November. I probably caught more fish prior to giving up just from being more relaxed and in tune with the world.
Oil or sunscreen I can see making a difference, but the residual smoke?
You're outboard would scare off entire populations.
Peter8862
08-05-2007, 08:43 PM
Thanks Owen, I Wanted To Hear From Someone Who Has Actualy Given Up Smoking, To See If It Made A Difference
08-05-2007, 08:53 PM
They Can Smell Your Bait Cant They?
I don't know..I have never gone into whether fish have a sense of smell and how acute or otherwise it may be. I smoke when I fish..I use sunscreen also...and I keep fishing...I am afraid I am of the old school...I am not concerned about the "science" or supposed "art" of fishing...I just go and enjoy myself...I do not take a simple and enjoyable pastime and turn it into some overtly technical object where everything is done to a regimen.
snelly1971
08-05-2007, 08:57 PM
Yeah yeah....Kick the poor old bloody smokers again LOL ...I am a smoker...and i catch plenty of fish...I dont worry about anything getting on my hands or bait except outboard fuel...
Peter8862
08-05-2007, 09:15 PM
Thanks Guys, Looks Like I'm Just A Crap Fisherman, But Thats Okay A Day Out On The Water Is Still The Best Way To Spend A Day
(BUY THE WAY SNELLY DO YOU STILL GO OUT FISHING IN WINTER DOWN THERE?)
I took a guy out once who went up the wall because i wouldnt let him smoke, 1st smoke kills my sinus's, but i didnt like the idea of him sitting there down the back of teh boat next to the 50 lt cruise tank.......might be different with my new boat and an underfloor tank...but i still wouldnt like to take the chance
08-05-2007, 10:54 PM
I don't know..I have never gone into whether fish have a sense of smell and how acute or otherwise it may be. I smoke when I fish..I use sunscreen also...and I keep fishing...I am afraid I am of the old school...I am not concerned about the "science" or supposed "art" of fishing...I just go and enjoy myself...I do not take a simple and enjoyable pastime and turn it into some overtly technical object where everything is done to a regimen.
Me to,
My mate that very rarely outfish me dosnt smoke but his wife does so that might rub off on him.
know a few guys downn here that smoke a bit of dope and they sure have a good catch rate on the snapper
08-05-2007, 10:56 PM
Thanks Guys, Looks Like I'm Just A Crap Fisherman, But Thats Okay A Day Out On The Water Is Still The Best Way To Spend A Day
(BUY THE WAY SNELLY DO YOU STILL GO OUT FISHING IN WINTER DOWN THERE?)
nearly always garanteed a few calm days in winter, bit chilly at times but we breed em tough in tassie
aussiefool
09-05-2007, 02:59 AM
I'm a smoker and my fishing buddy is a non smoker.... I don't know wether or not it's because I smoke or not but I out fish him nearly every time
Aussiefool
krazyfisher
09-05-2007, 05:55 AM
I quit 3mths ago and now I cant tell any differance
WHALEOIL
09-05-2007, 06:23 AM
I quit 3mths ago and now I cant tell any differance
Except the part where you can afford better fishing gear.
I have been a smoker, non smoker, smoker, non smoker for years. It does not make any difference. I steer clear of petroleums, deoderants, citric acid and repelants while fishing.
Someone was trying to tell me last week that he sprays lures with wd40 and he has a better catch rate. Dunno about this?
I gave up smoking in December, and haven't caught a fish since. Too depressed over my loss to fish :( :(
rogersto
09-05-2007, 01:44 PM
load of crock. grew up in Port Macquarie as a teenager, used to take a quart or half an oscar of sticky icky with my night fishin' at the breakwall or up to Pt Plomer, rollin' joints between casts, high as a kite, to the moon mate, chinese eyes all the way, cheech and chong style and i'd always catch something depending on what was on the chew....
Smokin' and fishin' is OK, but smokin' and fishin' and drinkin' is even better :D
notsa
09-05-2007, 05:17 PM
I gave up smoking about 9 years ago, still have trouble catching anything but I have more money to spend on tackle.
peterm
09-05-2007, 06:21 PM
I haven't had a cigarette this year after smoking for over 20 years. It hasn't made a difference to my catch rate. I am more concerned about the sunscreen and insect spray on my hands getting on my bait or plastics.
PS - If you want to stop smoking I highly recommend Allan Carr's Easy Way book. It made sense to me and it has worked.
09-05-2007, 06:36 PM
I'm a smoker and heard that same theory a few years ago. I'm constantly washing my hands before and after touching bait. I was conscious of this a few weeks back after I had had a smoke and forgotten to do it. It was in Sydney harbour on a trip after my first King fish. I had stupidly had my drag too tight and was thinking about the fact that I had not washed before rebaiting (Like that guy off the TV MONK that had the obcessive compulsive disorder) Anyway next thing my rod is bouncing in the rod holder after my line was snapped (by what i cant confirm) but as i was rerigging less than 2 minutes later when my fishing parter hooked up on a nice little Rat King about 65cm. Now we both recon I was done by a King. I was struck first with the same rig and everything. So now I've put that thoery down as a myth and will not worry about tobacco and wait to see if i get outfished (from now on i'll leave it to the ROOKIE errors that studd me up!!!! Like a loked up drag) IDIOT
Cheers Chris
Nowhere Bob
10-05-2007, 10:51 AM
I won't comment on the smell affecting catch rates, I do know it's a pain in the freckle rolling your own while beach / rock fishing.
No Rogersto I do mean brown tobacco, not the wacky.
I'll step up and say that it was a hard call JuJu, I know that it's your boat and house rules apply-BUT- I reckon it would have been cooler to agree to the house rules [IE no smoke on boat] before leaving, that would have saved any aggro.
If he was like me the aggrieved smoker would have teed up patches or another ride.
Its pretty easy for those who don't smoke to underestimate just how edgy you can get after a couple of hours without a bunger / coffin nail / call 'em what you will, and what length you will go to & justify getting one. I have a spearo mate who wont let me smoke in his boat, so over the side I go. It's tricky but it can be done.
paulez2
10-05-2007, 04:13 PM
I have 2 mates who smoke like chimneys and geez can they catch fish. They even smoke while fishing.
My brother in law fishes for Trout down south in Tumut and won't use deodorant or hand soap before going fishing. He's also allergic to fish and can't eat them. In fact he gets a tingling sensation in his fibnger tips just touching them.