View Full Version : Redcliffe to Moreton in a tinnie.....
~Johno~
05-05-2007, 09:11 AM
Howdy, my first time on this board, great to be here :)
Ive been a recreational fisherman for most my life, my brother and i own a 3.45m Ally Craft tinnie with a 6hp outboard and we have been taking it out and around Scarborough shallow reefs for the last 10 years or so, its been great fun.
Just yesterday, we made an upgrade, a big upgrade. We bought a 5.2m Quintrex Dory, fitted with a 60HP Yamaha 4 stroke outboard. Everything brand spanking new.
We are planning to take this beast over to and around Moreton, fishing some random reefs or whatever we find, we have fitted a Sounder/GPS unit , all the safety gear, nav lights, bilge pump etc. We are very excited to test it all out.
My question is, is it safe, providing we pick good days, to take this boat for trips over to moreton and back from Redcliffe? Besides weather and safety gear, are there other things we should know of when crossing over?
05-05-2007, 09:23 AM
Youve got a good hull and motor, on the right day shouldnt be a problem. WHat about epirb, radio etc?
Enjoy it, best of luck
kingtin
05-05-2007, 10:23 AM
Howdy, my first time on this board, great to be here :)
<snip>
Besides weather and safety gear, are there other things we should know of when crossing over?
Welcome Johno,
Mate, when planning your trips over, you need to be aware of just where you're crossing. Traveling in a straight line (via gps) will take you over different territory depending on where you launch from. You may decide, depending on where you launch from, that a straight line may not be the option.
Place a long ruler on your start point on the chart, and place it on comboyuro point (if you're planning to go offshore via there. You will see that whatever ramp you launch from, you will cross varying depths at different banks and these will all give you a different ride, at different states of the tide.
I did my first trip from Scarborough last week, at low, and I have to say, that I considered diverting round one bank (due to my draught) when planning, but decided to "go for it" without the diversion, nevertheless. When I hit this bank, there was enough water under me but Jeeez :o considering that the weather was good, this particular spot was hairy :o ::)
It's a shorter crossing, than say Nudgee, takes less time and is quicker, but the ride is less comfortable. You'll make your choices with time and experience.
Get to know your rig, what the tides do with wind factored in, read the water (you can see the turbulence at the banks), study your chart and likely problem areas, don't think, "it'll never happen to me" and you'll be ok in that rig. Expect a bumpy ride on occasions even in good weather..........the bay chop is like nothing I've experienced before.
Hope the post doesn't sound "ominous" as the bay can also be very kind if you treat her with respect and remain wary...........Apart from navigation, keep an eye open for turles, dolphins, flotsam etc. When you're chugging along merrily on a fine day, you can tend to forget that something the size of a dugong can put your rig in serious strife if you clout it.
You're presumably planning to go to new ground so ask questions here and use the going fishing section of the site. Post on there when you are going and other members may do the trip with you in their own rigs until such time as you feel confident on your own............safety in numbers. You've been boating a few years so may not need this particular advice and may be quite confident to do it on your own.
good luck
~Johno~
05-05-2007, 11:24 AM
Thankyou very much for the help.
I will have to learn how to use the Navigation side of the sounder, never used one before.
I have no radio yet, will a mobile phone be enough?
I'll be leaving from Scarborough boat ramps. Since ive never been across to Moreton Island in my own boat (only the barge) i have no idea what depths the waters are. What are the chances of hitting the ground? Do i leave at high tides?
And roughly how long do you think it would take to scoot over in the 5.2, with 2 ppl, 60hp?
Thanks again :)
BogusPokus
05-05-2007, 02:23 PM
Mobile phones rarely work past cape morton. Get a radio and an epirb. To be safe and legal. Sure some heroes will tell ya that there is no point.... but they probably wont be there to help you out if thing go awry. Um get a cushion as well. Probably take you around 40-50min to get to the top of moreton, if ya go flat chat (thats where the cushion comes in). There are normally breakers about a k or so of the top so we hug the beach in to about 100m or so across the top end of the island until we get out the front. Look at getting a small sea anchor as well, pretty handy for slower drifts and holding the front of you boat in to chop if ya need to. You can buy charts from tackle shops that tell ya how deep it is. I normally dont go over if it is more than 10knots. But my tinny is only 4.35 long. Good luck.
trueblue
05-05-2007, 03:25 PM
Buy a proper chart and study it carefully. Then mark waypoints in your GPS to make a route around the sandbanks etc. Best to stay right away from them unless you want to fish on them. Wait till you know the area before you decide to go over them at speed when travelling.
Which way you go to moreton depends on where you are going. Its a pretty big island. 2 main "safe" routes from scarborough are around the M8 and MB2 to Tangalooma, or through the pearl channel to the northern bay.
Just remember that when you leave you cannot see your destination, nor when you come back can you see home. You must navigate.
mick
Grand_Marlin
05-05-2007, 04:15 PM
Maybe it would be wise to ask people on here when they are heading out.
I am sure someone will want to fish the same areas as you and you could tag along to learn the ropes.
05-05-2007, 05:24 PM
I wouldfollow the above advice as well as giving the new rig a couple of good runs before you venture into new territory
Your better off going across with someone else...2 boats...pick your day something less than 10 knts the bay can come up really nasty....and if you dont know you way around its easy to get off track....often from moreton brisbane is in a haze.......
kingtin
05-05-2007, 07:23 PM
Another afterthought. Once that you've sussed your gps out, don't rely on it entirely. When you set off, using your gps, look at your compass and note the bearing. If your gps packs in, then you can get back home on the compass back bearing. Seems like common sense but we do tend to rely too much on technology nowadays.
trueblue
05-05-2007, 07:32 PM
Another afterthought. Once that you've sussed your gps out, don't rely on it entirely. When you set off, using your gps, look at your compass and note the bearing. If your gps packs in, then you can get back home on the compass back bearing. Seems like common sense but we do tend to rely too much on technology nowadays.
Oh so true. you can also plot it on your chart (taking into consideration magnetic variation. ) If you do what kingtin suggests, you will learn to remember the bearings for standard routes. eg 90 degrees from castlereigh blinker to go past the M8 for tangalooma, and 270 degrees for your return
cuzzamundi
06-05-2007, 01:32 AM
some great advice here from everyone! also be weary of the wash from the big tankers - crikes they can kick some water, even well after they've passed in the distance. as kev said, dugong as well - they are frequently grazing between scarby and comby pt. have a safe trip and get an epirb mate.
cuzza
~Johno~
06-05-2007, 06:05 AM
Wow thanks for all the help.
I will definately get an epirb. I will definately pick a nice day to do all this.
Ive seen afew threads where people have suggested to follow the barge on the way home if the waves pick up. Good idea?
Hows Curtains reef for fishing? Just gotta find some good fishing spots now.
bushbeachboy
06-05-2007, 07:40 AM
G'day Johno,
I'm not from Bris area (yet) so can't give Moreton Bay advice, but I would strongly recommend as Kev said, get to know your boat. I would advise some shorter distance trips, in varying conditons.
You MUST know your fuel consumption, and it could vary with differing conditions.
You could also look at how the boat handles with different loadings ie more weight to the back or to one side etc.
You'll need to know just how fast you can travel with a passenger up front, and if it's possible to travel with two of you in the back.
It would be good to look at ways of securing heavy stuff in the boat like eskys, so they don't move around if things chop up.
And don't stint on the radio either. It would be your lifeline out there. Join your local VMR and log on and off.
And get two cushions, both for you.;D The passenger can bring their own.
Seahorse
06-05-2007, 08:01 AM
johno, i was just like u. new rig let get out there, but as the other guys have said it can get up. i got 5m and 75 on back and taken 35 mins get out there and hr to get home. i did few trips to mud first just to get feel of boat. that bit of water from woody to there is good run. i agree two boats first trip is good. I did that.
Been there few times now, but i now know my limatations.
Nothing worse than have ur teeth rattling hitting that swell and the other half screaming at u to slow down, but once u get that throttle down u tend not to hear her, but when the screaming gets loader it pays to pick ur days.
It just gets down to common sence, and know what ur boat can do.
happy boating
greg
06-05-2007, 10:35 AM
get a raincoat!!!!!!!!
seriously, great boat should be fine, i have the seahorse equivalant and found it to be a very safe reliable boat, been out in some nasty crap, just drive to the conditions and wear the raincoat!!!!, you cant spend enough money on safety gear. when fishing the top of moreton i leave from spiniker at bribie, when going to tangas or sandhills, i leave from cabage tree or pinkenba depending on the wind direction.
enjoy
RCG008
06-05-2007, 05:33 PM
Just moved to Brisbane. Have been driving boats in all conditions including IRB's in heavy surf. I know how to read waves and banks. I did what you said and V-lined straight for the tip of Moreton (northern) at low tide on Sat morn. Lets just say I wouldnt reccomend it. Only one sandbank was a problem. It was about 2 foot deep... and I did pick it. Had to slow right down. But whos to say that bank wont have more sand on it by next trip. From now on Im going to use c-map I think.
I have a merc 75 and took a jerry can just in case as we went to flinders reef. And I put the can in on the way pack just for security. Prob used 75 litres for around 140ks for the day. But we did a lot of exploring. Plus the 4 stroke should use less.
And use the beacons. Oh really do watch out for those big ships. They move real quick. As there wake is aweful. I had wake from the SW from a boat and a solid 1m of chop from the NE. While fun to wathc. It really took me back to surf club days. Like they all say. I would get used to your boat before you hit that stuff.
Moreton didnt fish well yesterday. But driving there would shore beat the $400 dollars it would cost you to drive your car and boat on a ferry
Dick
russ81
06-05-2007, 06:31 PM
Hows it going mate when are you looking at heading out depending on when you want to go I might be able to tag along in my boat or take you out if you like.
~Johno~
12-05-2007, 10:07 AM
Considering it Russ, cheers mate.
So where are the good spots around Moreton anyway? Never been to Curtains, but im guessing its not far from the Island itself, bout half a km away from the sand?
Love the crystal waters around the Moreton hey.
russ81
12-05-2007, 11:53 AM
To easy mate just send us a PM when you want to head out.
Its easy to find the artificial mate, just south of bulwer and look for the hundred boats sitting on it.
I personally dont fish it, to much tidal run, to many divers, much prefer drifting Bulwer Ledge, some nice fish up there if you work it right
Brian
For Steve
13-05-2007, 11:17 AM
Your new rig sounds great - 5.2m with a 60hp 4 stroke YAMAHA. This will prove to be a top boat for the bay. All the tips here are great - radio, EPIRB, trip plan etc.
I don't really have much to add except to take your time. Give yourself an extra hour and enjoy it. Try different setups in the boat (passenger position, esky position, engine trim etc) and find what works best in different conditions. These can make a big differance to your comfort and enjoyment. A tiller steer can be a bit tiring on your grip, arm and shoulder so stop and take a break for a few minutes if you need it. Plus if you go steady you get to enjoy the scenery more. I remember my Dad saying "it's not a race".
Good luck with the fishing.
Brad