View Full Version : Where to fish in Hobart?
Made the move from Brisbane down here to Hobart. Now looking for some advice for the Derwent or even North West Bay area down Margate way.
Wouldn't have a clue what to target, or where to start here! Will be fishing out of a 480, but also want to do some fishing around the cliffs at Taroona (land based).
13-04-2007, 09:41 PM
When I first joined this site there was a huge thread between member "bugman" (now resides in Hobart), " jaybee" , " Tassie Devil" and a couple of others, went for about 20 pages and it all started with huge southern bluefin tuna caught off the hypalite rocks in a boat about the size of yours. There are a few ausfish members down your way, me, well I am up the other end of tassie in Smithton. There is some huge black bream in the derwent river. Plenty of flatties around the estuaries, aussie salmon can be found off most rocky points. ATM there would be SBT, albacore and yellow fin down around the neck. We also have a world class trout fishery (need a inland lisence), also be careful when fishing in rivers because as a rough guide after the first bridge from the heads of the river you will need a licence. All that info is available at your local tackle shop, also worth a visit to find what, when and where .
Paddyinoz2006
13-04-2007, 10:20 PM
Tassie=trout
snelly1971
13-04-2007, 10:44 PM
Call into a shop called spot on....they are in central hobart and the boys would be more than happy to help...and answer any questions regarding fishing in there area...Cheers Mick
Ripper guys......thanks for that.
I take it, a licence is only needed for inland and rivers, not southern Derwent etc.???
I'll drop into the tackle store 'Spot On' and have a pow wow with them.
I went trekking down my back yard today and there are some beaut rock shelves that extend out into the water (Taroona). Sort of reminds me of the rock shelves in Caloundra in Qld without the surf! But I'm sure it could get wet and rough as guts too.
Just about had a heart attack scrambling back up the steep cliff (unfit!!) but its worth it. Have now rigged up my surf rod and will throw a few slugs and surface lures this week and see whats about. Seems to be lots of birds working the area so there must be something predatory.
sling
17-04-2007, 08:15 AM
gday,woof
went to snug just south of margate over easter and nailed some bream off the shore useing gulp nuclear chicken ,i reckon any where along the rocks you might catch some bream cruising about,hang onto your rod though there huge!
sling