View Full Version : fireline

top ender
11-04-2007, 10:32 PM
gday i just bought a chronarch bsv and spooled it with 30pound fireline i know it takes a while fo it to settle in but does and one know how long it takes fore it to settle onto the reel and stop being so stiff?

Matthias
12-04-2007, 12:17 AM
My advice is to not do whippy casts too hard (don't bend your elbow too much). Also it's easier if you put a heavy lure on and throw it round for 1/2 hour to break it in a little. Did you upgrade the drag? 30lb is too much for a stadard chronach drag.

Pete.

Flex
12-04-2007, 08:32 AM
My advice is to take the fireline off and burn it, do a little sacraficial dance around the fire, rub your belly 3 times and curse the designers of fireline 37 times.

Then spool your reel up with normal braid:)

12-04-2007, 09:57 AM
I use Fireline on spinning reels and true braid (eg Fins) on my baitcasters. It takes a lot of work to break it in. I have some that is abour 7 years old on a Calcutta and it still causes grief on extra long casts when the harsher line is exposed.

scottym
12-04-2007, 11:48 AM
I think Flex has the right idea. I dont mind it on spining reels in the lighter breaking strains but I stick to normal braid on my baitcasters.

roydsy
12-04-2007, 12:08 PM
I have both fireline and fins braid and fireline is horrible to use.

Put it onto your spare reel and rod and invest the money into some quality braid. They say you should get 4-5 years from it so well worth the investment.

ps. I use a chronarch 100BSV. The fireline resides on my spinning outfit.

Roo
12-04-2007, 12:53 PM
Option 6
take it off and put it on a spinning reel......take reel and suitable rod to beach/river/rocks and install suitable lure for high speed retrieves like a metal slug or a big pencil popper. cast and retreive as far and as fast as you can for as long as you can and after a good long session of that it should be suitably broken in for use on the baitcaster.

that said.....i'm no fan of fireline either....in fact i reckon all fused braid are a bit stiff for baitcasters. I also reckon 30lb is a bit overkill for a 100 size reel although if you're intending to use it in the sticks for barra then definitely should use a true braid. never mind, just break it in and try it out for a while.

cheers, Roo.

yellahunter
12-04-2007, 01:54 PM
mate, each to their own re the fireline,
in my opinion i find it unreal on spinning reels, i wouldnt use anything else these days, however ive found that the traditional braid ie fins, will handle a lot better on the baitcaster,

but if you really want to keep the fireline on there do as Pete said and cast it around for a while etc

davez104
12-04-2007, 04:02 PM
A good days casting lures and it will be a dream to use. I prefer the true braids as well, but have used 30lb fireline on my millionaire for casting lures to barra. It was allways really good after the initial break in period. Tends to look scruffy fairly quickly but doesn't seem to affect its performance.

top ender
12-04-2007, 04:13 PM
apprecitate the feed back i mite give it a run for a while and see how it goes but if it keeps pissin me off i think i mite try another brand what brand would you guys sugest whats the difference with a true braid? alot of you suggest fins why is that?

davez104
12-04-2007, 04:21 PM
with a true braid, the fibres are braided together to make the line, with a fused braid the fibres are fused or melted together. I use spiderwire braid, seems to be pretty good stuff.

top ender
12-04-2007, 04:37 PM
so whats fins?

roydsy
12-04-2007, 05:57 PM
"Fins PRT Braid is the strongest, highest performance superline available today. But of course several companies are making that claim. There’s only one difference: we back it up."
http://www.finsfishing.com/

Its good stuff...... one of the best IMHO

davez104
12-04-2007, 06:17 PM
I think fins is a true braid, but with some sort of coating. Not sure as I've never used it.

yellahunter
12-04-2007, 06:58 PM
i think most of the true braids are as good as each other,
just avoid the really cheap stuff,

ive got platil, platypus super braid, stren, and tuffline and they are all good

Pistol_P
12-04-2007, 07:10 PM
Everyone seems to have different opinions on Fireline.
On light spinning reels in 6lb through to the 10lb stuff it is great line.
When casting small plastics and very light weights it handles alot better than the true braids.I have seen countless people get wind knot after wind knot with true braids when casting light weights on small spinning reels.

On baitcasters it is a different story and I like the true braids.....I wouldnt put 30lb Fireline on my Chronarch though....Once over 20lb in the fireline it is too tough and wire like.

top ender
12-04-2007, 11:20 PM
most people say fins so thats what i will get no point beatin around the bush when so many people say fireline isnt that great [for baitcasters} it wont go to waste though so i guess there is nothing to loose.

cherrs

tiges
13-04-2007, 10:02 AM
Of course if you can go a better quality true or PE braid. But if you've got no choice the fireline will still work well after it's broken in. I just used some new 30lb stuff on a light baitcaster, and it probably took about 50 casts for it to settle in. It was fine to use then, and was casting perfectly into the teeth of 25kts of wind.