View Full Version : Flatty Wounds
Creek Vermin
05-04-2007, 07:11 PM
I reckon the old flatty wound is underated as far as pain goes. Had a fish with with a mate who copped one in the gut and heel today and didn't appreciate it too much. He generally doesn't whinge too much (unless his stubby is empty) but he did kick up a bit of a stink with the pain of the heel spike. I've copped a heap of pricks from em in different parts of the body but the worst I've had was from a decent lizard flapping around the bottom of my boat (around 65cm) that nailed me right between the toes. Holy fark!!! Not sure what caused so much pain but if it wasn't for the hot bite we were on to I would have passed out. In the end I let him/her go and got amongst a few more with my feet planted firmly on the seat. Cheers.
snapperbug
05-04-2007, 07:43 PM
Pricks of things mate, I think I have ben hit by just about every one I've caught. If they don't get me live then they get me during filleting, I am pretty clumsy though.
Chezzy13
06-04-2007, 10:44 AM
Owwwwwwwwww Holey Dooley, that looks painful, poor guy..:o
Pricks of things mate, I think I have ben hit by just about every one I've caught. If they don't get me live then they get me during filleting, I am pretty clumsy though.
X2 :)
Cheers Murf
jackson4300
06-04-2007, 10:48 PM
yea yea, you probably squeezed it so more blood came out :P
pains to get out of the cast net, specially when u get 20 of the little ones....
where did you head out to get the hot bite?
Smailesy
07-04-2007, 08:30 AM
tell the truth keith he wouldnt pass you a beer so you stabed him
Chezzy13
07-04-2007, 12:22 PM
tell the truth keith he wouldnt pass you a beer so you stabed him
LOL @ That..:D:D
Creek Vermin
07-04-2007, 02:19 PM
No probs with him passing a beer smailesy but the little angry man was also in the boat so maybe he had something to with it.
onerabbit
07-04-2007, 03:16 PM
Nasty wound to the heel there guys,
I agree that flattie wounds are very under-rated, they hurt like hell, rubbing in the belly slime does help though.
I think the most painful of all flatties I have been hit by are the 6inch long ones we catch on the 32s, they look like a sand flattie, but have very long spikes.
THE PHOTOGRAPHER
08-04-2007, 09:16 AM
TRY THIS ONE.im sure some of you think it might be an old wives tale but the few times that i have been hit i have rubbed the belly of the flatty on the wound and it soon took the sting out of it.just be carefull not to get hit again.let me know if someone else has had a go at it.
jackash
17-04-2007, 05:28 PM
Yeah i reckon for some reason the foot is the worst place to get hit, Got done by a cattie between the toes and it was the most excrutiating pain ive ever experienced. Then again catties are meant to be bloody painful no matter where they get ya. But i gotta say the foot was alot worse than the thumb.... yep Ive been done twice... quick leaner.
And the flatty belly trick does work. Natural anti-venom in the slime aparently. Just dont let it get you again...