View Full Version : loomis problem

TOLGA
02-04-2007, 05:18 PM
Hi All

I have a Loomis dropshot rod its a DSR-820-s and having alot of problems with casting I find that when I cast the albright catches itself or I cast and the line wraps around a guide.
I was using P.E braid and have changed to fireline with the same problem Im casting 1/16 , 1/8 and small bream lures and its driving me nuts I spend most of the day retying and untangling the leader has anyone else have this problem because the next time it happens I am going to put the thing across my knee!

Oh and the reel is a shimano twinpower

Tolga

snapperbug
02-04-2007, 06:08 PM
Yeah I have a different setup but have had similar problems. Not too sure what causes it but it hasn't been quite as bad since my line load depleted also found the albright is a bit shitty, if you trim the tag short enough to stop it catching it seems to weaken it. I am now trying the Stren knot, only used it for a couple of trips but so far so good. Seems strong and the leader tag points the opposite direction to the albright, check the link. I hope that helps.

http://www.saltwatersportsman.com/saltwater/fishing/article/0,12746,472807,00.html

ffejsmada
02-04-2007, 07:08 PM
Yeah Tolga, me too>:( not every cast, but enough to p@#s me off!

Thanks for the link snapperbug, I'll be trying the stren knot, as I reckon it's got something to do with the Albright.

Stuart
02-04-2007, 07:12 PM
The cause of this problem is the guides and their diameter. Normally a guide that is to large will have line loop around it from the spool. As line travels off the spool, it comes off in coils and if the stripper and remaining guides are too large they can’t get these coils under control. Many rod manufacturers’ use large stripping guides thinking they are doing you a favour but in fact they are causing problems. I use much smaller stripping guides and never have a problem.

Stu
Precision Rods

snapperbug
02-04-2007, 07:16 PM
Hi Stu,
Is the stripping guide the first one from the reel, the really big one?

Stuart
02-04-2007, 07:17 PM
sure is and I recone it would be around a size 25.

Stu

ffejsmada
02-04-2007, 07:40 PM
Hi Stu,
I'm fishing 4lb braid on a 1000 stradic loaded onto a Daiwa Procaster-v
model# PR-V602LFS. The stripping guide is 25mm across. Is this a size 25 guide?

What size would you suggest on this rod?

Cheers, Jeff

BilgeBoy
02-04-2007, 08:34 PM
Hi guys

I have a great video from Berkly on fishing plastics and on the same DVD is a step by step guide to tying a bimini twist in the braid and then a double uni for the braid to the Mono. very small knot diameter and very strong. Sure was holding up for them.

Happy to lend you the video if you need it. Just boomerang it when you are finished with it so that others can gain the knowledge. I have also seen this vid in the stores. Just PM me ya details if you need a lend!!

BilgeBoy

The BeaR
02-04-2007, 10:31 PM
Hi Tolga...

I use size 25 stripping guides on my rods. They work fine. The bigger guides allow you to place the stripping guide closer to the reel where the smaller stripping guide you must place further away or you will choke the line too quickly.

You must remember that the guides are load points, and this is why you will find rod builders have their own preferences as to where to place guides. For the most part these days we do not use the first guide as a choke guide.

As for your problem, a couple of things to keep in mind is that when you tie your leader, make sure that when you go to make a cast that the leader knot has not taken a wrap on the spool as this will allow it to catch loose loops. And one thing I have found to improve this problem, is that once I have made the cast and closed the bail arm over, I quickly pull the line so that it pulls the loose loop out of it before I commence my retrieve.
Also make every 12th cast a blind cast and just wind the line back on, firm between your fingers.
Hope this helps.

Eric&Deb...

wheezer
03-04-2007, 09:17 AM
As Stu points out the stripper is most likely too big. this is because american rods like loomis are made to suit FC or mono line as that's what the majority of anglers use over there. Braid does not need anywhere near as big stripper as its much thinner and more supple. depending on reel size i use either 20 or 25mm strippers for braid on lighter spin rods

also i wouldn't bother running a double in your braid on light spin gear, you'll definitely end up with the double opening up during casting and catching on a guide

Stuart
03-04-2007, 10:31 AM
A good example of this is on surf rods, many if not most surf rods have an 80mm or a 60mm wire striper guide. I use a 40mm high frame striper guide and I get more distance. Off course there are many other factors that come into play but the principal is still their. I use a 16 striper on my bream rods and I still get plenty of distance, no choking problems, and certainly never had a 6lb braid wrapped around my guides during or after the cast.

Stu

johnlikes2fish
03-04-2007, 11:07 AM
Fix all your problems at once and switch to mono, I cant believe people rate braid you have to put backing on and a leader with a complicated knot which is prone to failure make sure you wind on with correct tension etc etc for some benefits that are invisible to nearly all the only benefit is line diameter so you can cast a bit further until the line goes fluffy then that goes and all the rot about no stretch so better feel, unless you are fishing very deep water or jigging the difference would be zilch as generally the drag is engaged before line stretches and you pay ten times the price for the privilige.
I fish 4lb mono with 1-1.5lb drag and I cannot feel ro see any stretch before my line starts being released by the drag.
Try fishing a quality low diameter braid and see how you go.

GPB
03-04-2007, 01:43 PM
Every one to thier own, there is no rot about better feel, I still use backing with mono, my knots are prone to as not much failure as my game fishing mono ones, wind all lines on with the right tension, some lines can go fluffy after a lot of use so you end to end it, 3 times the price and 4 times the life. Braid for jigging, bottom fishing, spinning, SP's and deep divers, Mono for game fishing, Mack trolling, finese baits and live baiting. Horses for coarses.
And thats my opinion.
:guitarist: :guitarist: :guitarist:

Boomi Boy
03-04-2007, 02:26 PM
The "slim beauty" knot is now my braid leader knot of choice, it definitely will not catch the guides on the way out and is simple to tie after a few goes.

DR
03-04-2007, 03:43 PM
it can also happen if the line on your reel is a bit loose, the tag on your leader will pick up a loose loop & take it up through the guides until it comes tight & snaps.

TOLGA
03-04-2007, 08:38 PM
Hey Guys
Thankyou for all of your responces I will put a smaller stripper guide on as well as try another type of knot the part where THE BEAR said (As for your problem, a couple of things to keep in mind is that when you tie your leader, make sure that when you go to make a cast that the leader knot has not taken a wrap on the spool as this will allow it to catch loose loops.) makes alot of sense I am using roughly a bit more than a rod lenght worth of leader.

Thanks again for your replies

Tolga

Jeremy87
03-04-2007, 09:53 PM
Stick with your knots, albrights are much smaller than uni knots. i posted a diagram a while back of a locked albright connection that is pretty much as small as they get short of tieing a nail knot. just make sure its well trimmed and doen't have your leader to long or to heavy. I have had this problem before and i think i've sussed it out. Firstly 6lb pe is very thin and you sould not join any heavier than 12lb japenese (none of the vanish) leader to it. Your length of leader should be as short as possible 3 feet is heaps. The fewer guides it passes through the better. also question your casting technique as this can sometimes have an effect. Don't go do anything rash if you don't like the rod i'll take it from you free of charge.

cammac
04-04-2007, 12:04 AM
Oh well i dont have any of those probs with the good old mono , but then i dont catch any fish cause i dont feel them::)
before you break the rod over yr knee you can chuck it in my direction im sure it will be just fine. LOL Loomis cant build rods what next:o

candogu
04-04-2007, 07:53 PM
Oh well i dont have any of those probs with the good old mono , but then i dont catch any fish cause i dont feel them::)
before you break the rod over yr knee you can chuck it in my direction im sure it will be just fine. LOL Loomis cant build rods what next:o

LOL,,, even if he does break the rod over his knee... take it out of his bin,,,, pay 130 and get a new 1;D .. $130 for a $400ish rod you have to be ahead mate;)

Noel

the nibbler
05-04-2007, 10:22 AM
anyone know wher i can get info on the slim beauty knot mentioned above as i am having the same prob

DR
05-04-2007, 03:35 PM
slim beauty..
http://www.fishing-khaolak.com/knots/slim_beauty_steps.html

even smaller profile..i am trying this one at the moment..
yucatan knot, pretty popular in the US
http://www.leadertec.com/tipsandtechniques/fishing_knots/knots_yucatan.html

The BeaR
05-04-2007, 04:03 PM
Hi All....

This is a knot I tie in all of my braid to leader connections. This knot I believe to be near extinct, it comes from way back when I was just a boy. It is the original albright knot...not the improved albright. (The improved albright is where it is wrapped up and back down over itself. This knot will eventually come loose from rattling through the guides.) I don't tie doubles, I connect the line as a single strand.
The original albright is the knot where you pass the main line through the loop that you form in the leader, you then pinch it up high and wind it in one direction back towards the loop that you started with ( the only difference is I wrap it around 20 times), the tag end is then passed through the loop in the same direction. Snug this knot down firm. With the braid tag end, just half hitch it around the main line. Trim your tag end off as close as possible and that is the knot. It is the finest of all knots. It has never let me down yet and I have caught many big fish using this knot.

Eric&Deb

oztrav
06-04-2007, 11:53 AM
what is wrong with the 5 turn surgeons slim profile easy to tie and even your girlfriend can do it