View Full Version : expressions of interest for a 4X4 M/G
01-04-2007, 01:09 PM
On another thread i proposed a M/g at
www.levuka.com.au (http://www.levuka.com.au)
This park is set against the rainforest behind Woodenbong on the QLD/NSW border, it is a great camping destination with some good tracks, compared to other 4x4 parks that have great tracks where you can camp. Yobbo's are frowned upon and there is no night driving so every gets a decent sleep;) Anyway it's all on the link, Tracks cater for all levels and there is even fishing;D i propose a weekend friday + saturday night trying to stay away fronm long weekends as it's to busy. The comming months are great as the nights are cool with warm days , perfect camping weather and the snapper run hasn't started yet;D
Have a look at www.levuka.com.au/4wd.htm (http://www.levuka.com.au/4wd.htm) it really is that pretty.
01-04-2007, 01:22 PM
Ian that sounds like a great place to go. Remember that most of us don't have lockers like your beast so if the tracks are too hard you may well spend your weekend recovering us. Lol Count me in however. My daughter is already panicking and saying no. ::)
01-04-2007, 02:14 PM
It really does matter the standard of your vehicles or you experience there are challenges for all!:D while it would be good if members with serious 4x4 turned up eg.Corry( it a long way fron Gladstone), Fat Chilli, Candogu,and GBC( he a mate so i have to include him) Reelhard and so on , everyone will have a great time . A mate of mine takes his susuki sl7 and apart from getting hung up in a few places( no bridging angle) has a ball
Robert and rosemary( owners of the property) are great people and have set up a great family destination. With grassed camping spots, hot showers and firewood. i really cant recomend the place enough. Cost for2 night's camping and 2 days in the park is $50.00 for a family ,hot showers and firewood in included in this price.
01-04-2007, 05:04 PM
Sounds good Ian. Nicer country down that way. Won't put my hand up until you've worked a date and get the numbers sorted, my diary is as full as a Doctors Wallet, atm.
bastard
01-04-2007, 05:16 PM
Id be keen it looks really nice from the photos,how long does it take to get there?
01-04-2007, 05:39 PM
About 2 and a bit hours
Here's the map
www.levuka.com.au/how_to_get_here.htm (http://www.levuka.com.au/how_to_get_here.htm)
Fat Chilli
01-04-2007, 06:50 PM
finding_time - I have been there a few times for day trips, it's a good spot and yes the owners are great people, very friendly.
And what's a "serious 4x4" mine wears the road slicks (AT's) more than the Claw's now :'( but the Claw's may have to find their way back on from the shed.
Pooderoo - the tracks their are as hard as you decide to make them, we took a stock XJ Cherokee through most of them, t'was fun (and no damage).
When are you thinking?
01-04-2007, 07:11 PM
Pooderoo - the tracks their are as hard as you decide to make them, we took a stock XJ Cherokee through most of them, t'was fun (and no damage).
When are you thinking?
Most of the tracks are very doable with challenging sections on offer if you want. The park has been set up to avoid big damage to vehicles( not a lot of rocks)
Time....maybe mid May
01-04-2007, 07:13 PM
Im interested depending on dates, ill follow this thread, looks like a great place
01-04-2007, 08:48 PM
I am keen too as I said earlier. One thing that I always have to keep in mind with my Pajero is that it is not only a fun toy for offroad but the reality is that I use it 100% for work and if I wreck it that will become very awkward for me. So far I haven't wussed out of too much but I have to refrain from trashing the car entirely..... lol Everything within my comfort level is fine and I am pretty daring sometimes. ;)
If I ever get my ute back from the insurance company (Been three months) I'll be in.
P.S. Who said anything about us being mates ya cat w@nka ;D ;D
Brett1907
02-04-2007, 11:37 AM
Sounds good Ian. I am going to Ireland & France mdi-late May so might not be able to make it.
For everyone considering it, I haven't been there but have heard a lot of relly good reports on the park. From all accounts it is a family friendly park.
Poodroo, as I have said before.... If you don't get stuck you're not trying!!!LOL
Recovering vehicles is all part of the fun as far as I'm concerned.
02-04-2007, 07:13 PM
Sounds good Ian. I am going to Ireland & France mdi-late May so might not be able to make it.
For everyone considering it, I haven't been there but have heard a lot of relly good reports on the park. From all accounts it is a family friendly park.
Poodroo, as I have said before.... If you don't get stuck you're not trying!!!LOL
Recovering vehicles is all part of the fun as far as I'm concerned.
Just ask Phill. I've been stuck before. But then again so has Phill. ;D
02-04-2007, 10:33 PM
I am there if we can challenge our 4WDs !
Brett won't come because he is a pussy ! :P (And he cheats with Lockers on :'( !)Ohhh the excuses to come ;D !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm going overseas ! :-* :P :P :P
I'm ready ;D
Brett1907
03-04-2007, 08:40 AM
Ohh Damo, you're just jeallous. We all know you are a closet 'Lux Lover. :gorgeous: :blush: :iloveyou: :smitten: :love:
I'll come along, but I might be a few weeks late this time!LOL
We all cheat, I'm just better at it than you.LOL
The down side to Lockers is that when I do get stuck it will be REALLY stuck. Not looking forward to that unless I'm out with someone with an electric winch. All I have is a hand winch, and they are hard work!!!
03-04-2007, 08:53 PM
So guys,
seems plenty of interest in this, so whats a likely date bearing in mind other M&G, sounds like fun
Just a brief rundown on current M&G
12-13 May: Rodbuilding
2-3 June : Touchy's
14-15 July: river to Mud
13-21 Oct Agnes Waters
MY-TopEnder
08-04-2007, 09:27 PM
I'd be up for something like this...
Oh and is that Bastard as in... Bastard off outer limits, mates with Ron with the big patrol?
Cruiser93
10-04-2007, 01:35 PM
Just returned after 4 days at easter & had an absolute ball , a day trip wouldn't do the place justice unless you had particular tracks you wanted to do .....
I would recommend to go to the play area first for those of less confidence so that they could familiarise themselves with their vechicles capabilities & their own fears, Only warning I've got to add is to watch / check for ticks & stay well clear of the stinging nettles (arn't they just fun )....only gripe are the maps can take a little to decipher , As said before the tracks range from challenging to a stroll in a paddock ..........Mal (I'd go again , be watching for a date )
bastard
10-04-2007, 01:55 PM
I'd be up for something like this...
Oh and is that Bastard as in... Bastard off outer limits, mates with Ron with the big patrol?Yeah this is me who are you?
10-04-2007, 06:11 PM
ok how does the weekend starting friday the 19 of may to sunday the 21st grab everyone. It will be brisk at night so warm blankies and a bottle of stones may be in order. let us know what you think!
MY-TopEnder
10-04-2007, 06:28 PM
Yeah this is me who are you?
Rob... Rons navi from the Ormeau night run, and general tag along for ages while the Surf was broken.
10-04-2007, 07:14 PM
Ian ,
I should be a starter with those dates
Corry
16-04-2007, 10:38 PM
Would love to go to a 4B M&G with the Ausfishers, but we're off to Tough Tracks at Cruiser Park the weekend after this so will probably be fixing the car on this weekend.
I've been challenged to drive every track in the Park by a couple of blokes in our club, so gotta take up the challenge. Only got one more track to do.
Corry
16-04-2007, 11:40 PM
Would love to go to a 4B M&G with the Ausfishers, but we're off to Tough Tracks at Cruiser Park the weekend after this so will probably be fixing the car on this weekend.
I've been challenged to drive every track in the Park by a couple of blokes in our club, so gotta take up the challenge. Only got one more track to do.
Corry
Giday Corry.
myself and gbc will probably be there for the tough tracks so it would be good to catch up. How long since you been there! The claw was aweful last time we were there with that first rock ledge really eroded , see below pic. Didn't get to the around the corner section to see what it was like, but unless a bit of work has been done on it ,it's tricky, probably the hardest marked track in the park by far!
Ps how the new vehicle?
16-04-2007, 11:44 PM
That's a fully locked 5inch suspension and 2 inch body lifted gq with 35's and fully a-framed rear suspension having a bit of trouble.
Still reckon I coulda driven it if he'd let me...............
It's actually a 7" spring lift adjusted back with snake drop boxes and flipped shafts - I remember every bolt and skinned knuckle.
17-04-2007, 10:28 AM
Still reckon I coulda driven it if he'd let me...............
It's actually a 7" spring lift adjusted back with snake drop boxes and flipped shafts - I remember every bolt and skinned knuckle.
Yerh that to!!!;D In fact the only thing not hard core on that rig was the driver, he loved that car a little bit to much i think:-X
Corry
17-04-2007, 07:23 PM
Giday Corry.
myself and gbc will probably be there for the tough tracks so it would be good to catch up. How long since you been there! The claw was aweful last time we were there with that first rock ledge really eroded , see below pic. Didn't get to the around the corner section to see what it was like, but unless a bit of work has been done on it ,it's tricky, probably the hardest marked track in the park by far!
Ps how the new vehicle?
Yeah Ian, will have to catch up. Last trip to the park a few months ago saw us winching down Air Locker Ave. The Claw is the last one I've got to go. I've driven the rock ledges all the way up to the corner, but don't have the pace with the diseasel to get the momentum for the last run to the top in the soft stuff. This next trip should be the last trip with the diseasel, but it'll be back on BFG Mudders, so not expecting too much. Getting another Petrol/Auto to replace the toy now. Just gotta swap everything over.
The missus now has her 4B which I'm not allowed to take offroad, just got her a factory '98 40th Anniversary, this way all the bits off the toy will fit it as well if needed.
Should find out if anyone else is going, and meet up for a drink if not a drive.
Corry
sea-rash
24-04-2007, 09:07 AM
Give stuey a few rums and he can drive it backwards! Ah the memories.