View Full Version : Wheres theres a will theres a way

chief
25-03-2007, 12:06 PM
Young Garrett (Little wing)hasn't had a chance to fish with his arm in a sling:'( but the urge was too great so we headed to the brissie river this morning . We caught endless amounts of bream that were under size but Garrett managed to get 5 from 24 cm to 29cm. I couldn't nail a legal bream but managed 1 sweetlip at 28cm and a lizard at about 50cm. Highlight of the day was a red fish crashing through some bait at the side of the boat. In no time we had a plastic in the area but couldn't get his attention. Anyway we had a bit of fun and Garrett got to nail a few fish and curb a bit of that frustration;D ;D cheers

25-03-2007, 12:12 PM
That is a nice fat flattie, Chief.:)

Good luck to Garrett. A great effort! :)

Well done!:)

Silent
25-03-2007, 01:00 PM
Nice catch!!!
Look like a good season bream coming in the winter time...
What sort plastic damaged?

Fishing_Freddy
25-03-2007, 03:29 PM
Thats a nice looking feed of bream the young fellow got. It should of helped to relieve the urge to go fishing :lolk: for a couple of days any way.
Ken :beer:

25-03-2007, 03:34 PM
So i take it you two River Guru's;D are fishing the dark side come the River to Mud;D
Good to see garrett is out and back into beating his old man;D

chief
25-03-2007, 06:22 PM
Hey brian, we can't wait. We'll be there .To any new members this is a great social event for a bit of fun and a great way to meet fellow fishos . You can make the weekend what you want it to be. G/day Silent been having a bit of fun with the squidgee wrigglers in bloodworm and gulp 2 inch shrimp in new penny Charlie , been missing your mid week reports , hope everything is ok or is it just that dreaded back to work

richieboy
26-03-2007, 11:35 AM
Good to see the young fella back in action mate. Had a quiet sesh Sunday morning myself with Whytey chasing Jacks. The curse continued for me when I pulled the hooks on what was a reasonable fish under a mooring.
We did manage a few breambos on the HB's tho, so a bonus.
I'm going to have to give them squidgies you're using a go. ;)

Riche

fishphile
26-03-2007, 02:38 PM
Good to hear Garrett is back out on the water, Although it usually means there is less bream for the rest of us.

Cheers Dave.

26-03-2007, 05:05 PM
Charlie , been missing your mid week reports , hope everything is ok or is it just that dreaded back to work

Nah - just been a bit lazy with writing reports lately. I am due to go back to work next week after my 14 months off :'( so perhaps I had better slip in a report later this week when the weather improves. 8-)

woppa
26-03-2007, 10:16 PM
Chief
After looking at your photo's can you assist please? ie - The sweetlip size limit. I've been releasing the same fish (sweetlip) as in the photo. Everything under 30 in my boat has gone back over the side & I reckon I've been catching the same species as you.

Here is the info from DPI. It seems a bit ambiguous doesn't it?

All sweetlips
(excluding red throat sweetlip)

25 min

5per species

Grass emperor (grass sweetlip)

I know it's better to be safe than sorry but am I misreading the size limits?
30 min No limit

Woppa

chief
27-03-2007, 05:23 AM
Gee Woppa ,cheers for that.We usually dont target sweetlip and there usually a bi catch. I just looked over the D.P.I. site and i'm leaning your way . Thanks

27-03-2007, 06:15 AM
Nice haul of fish guys. Hey I wasn't going to mention the little grassy. :P Will be getting amongst the fish myself real soon to cure my withdrawals. Has been too long for me. Tight lines!!!!

T1
27-03-2007, 11:29 AM
Hi Guys!

GRASS EMPEROR - THIS FISH IS ERRONEOUSLY CALLED A GRASS SWEETLIP. THAT COULD COST YOU DEARLY IF YOU APPLY TO IT THE SMALLER LEGAL SIZE LIMIT FOR SWEETLIP AND ARE CONSEQUENTLY CAUGHT WITH AN UNDERSIZED EMPEROR!

LEGAL SIZE 30CM - BAG LIMIT 0.

Hope this helps as i've previously done the research...

Take Care T

chief
27-03-2007, 12:42 PM
Thanks guys , I'm glad that came up but in all truth the lizard was the only fish kept and the rest released. i've been keeping the fish to the end of the sesh in a live tank, taking a pic and releasing. Hey it would be a different story if they were legal squire or macs. Any way could have been in a bit of trouble even with the sweetie in the well to be released.Cheers