leaving mid sat returning midday sunday someone on s/side preferable
pm me leaving contacts will call in morning
pete
23-03-2007, 09:34 PM
Pete try Brian or maybe Fadil?
nodds
23-03-2007, 10:55 PM
G,day outsiderskip. I'm on the Sunshine Coast so I'm a bit to far away for you. Iv'e never fished off shore before so I need to ask you what dose a deckie do. Is it someone to go fishing with you, or is it more the baiting hooks and gaffing type of deckie? I'm asking so I know what to expect if someone on the sunshine coast wants a deckie coz I'm keen to get off shore either way, just want to know what I'm in for.
cheers nodds
Fisher4life
23-03-2007, 11:01 PM
Good luck pete
Adamy
23-03-2007, 11:22 PM
Hi Nodds... being a deckie is pretty fun... especially on Pete's Overnighters. Yes theres the typical baiting hooks and getting the fish off - thats the easy part but then you also have to provide scintillating conversation and just before bedtime you have to make Petes bed, get the hot milos - tuck him in and then sing him a lullaby. In the morning its the cooking duties - The skipper usually gets pancakes with maple syrup and cream but dont burn them and dont touch anything if your hands smell fishy. ::)
When you're not busy you can fish - but if you hook anything decent - hand your rod over:P.
The best part is you get to pull in the anchor which is pretty fun, especially when there is a good headwind, half an metre of chop on a short sharp 3 metre swell (dont forget the kwells) and there is 400 ft of rope out.
Other than that - being a deckie is pretty sweet. (or did I miss something?;D)
Anyhow - have fun and if you do everything right - then you may even get a second invite (thats when you get to wind in your own fish - unless it REALLY big - then hand it over)
Well.... at least thats how is on my boat - I think Pete runs his deckies slightly different;)
Good luck,
Adam:P
outsiderskip
24-03-2007, 02:48 AM
well done adam
was a laugh reading
pete
nodds
24-03-2007, 01:13 PM
Well thats me out I can't cook pancakes.........
84mick
24-03-2007, 06:46 PM
Adamy this must be a dream come true cause I LOVE doing all that! lol ;P
Mick.;)
nodds
24-03-2007, 09:47 PM
Pete and Adam.
I asked you a strait foward question in the hope you would provide me with an actual answer. It seems THAT WAS AIMING A LITTLE HIGH.
I have a great sence of humor and dont mind a joke, but I'll be stuffed if that includes being made feel inferior to you or anyone else for asking a question.
This site promotes asking questions so we all can gain in the knowlage of those in the know.
All Iv'e gained so far from my first post here is the knowlage that I will not be taken seriously and my posts will be used by some to gain a cheep laugh at my expence. Not exactly the spirit of this site, I would hope.
PETE it was you I asked the question of and the only responce you think I'm worth is "well done Adam" ....YES Adam well done indeed, you got your cheep laugh.
I have to ask, is it just the new members that get this treatment or is it everyone who looks to you two for answers?????????
Adamy, great pic in the avitar. Maybe we'll see you at the boat show.
Hoping to get a real answer soon, and maby some respect. After all it's what this site promotes isn't it?
regards nodds.
25-03-2007, 10:52 AM
Hi Guys
I think some people are making life a little tough here.
For one thing I have just searched the recipes and there are none for pancakes or flapjacks even.
This is not acceptable as it makes it almost impossible for a person to be able to undertake the duties of various positions on board including the subject of this discussion.
Perhaps we need to provide the tools necessary ie recipes as well as a proper duty statement and key selection criteria to enable positions to be adequately advertised, shortlists to be made, interviews held, references checked and probationary appointments made. (on an EOB too!!!)
The other aspect that may need nurturing is the good old sense of humour .................
Chimo G.O.M. & Lifestyle Consultant
outsiderskip
25-03-2007, 10:57 AM
i have a stove on board and a flipper
25-03-2007, 12:11 PM
Pete and Adam.
I asked you a strait foward question in the hope you would provide me with an actual answer. It seems THAT WAS AIMING A LITTLE HIGH.
I have a great sence of humor and dont mind a joke, but I'll be stuffed if that includes being made feel inferior to you or anyone else for asking a question.
This site promotes asking questions so we all can gain in the knowlage of those in the know.
All Iv'e gained so far from my first post here is the knowlage that I will not be taken seriously and my posts will be used by some to gain a cheep laugh at my expence. Not exactly the spirit of this site, I would hope.
PETE it was you I asked the question of and the only responce you think I'm worth is "well done Adam" ....YES Adam well done indeed, you got your cheep laugh.
I have to ask, is it just the new members that get this treatment or is it everyone who looks to you two for answers?????????
Hoping to get a real answer soon, and maby some respect. After all it's what this site promotes isn't it?
regards nodds.
cripes nodds..a bit touchy today aren't we?
You should see some of the digs I cop (esp about hooks)...get used to it ..all said in jest.
a deckie is a fishing partner...nothing special about it...go fishing with someone in their boat to their spots...BUT...never give those spots away and ..ALWAYS..offer some money to cover costs of running the boat.
and..ask what the skipper would like you to do..don't presume he wants it done a certain way...fussy bunch of bastards these boat owners.
It is a great way to meet some fellow fishos and make some good mates along the way also.
25-03-2007, 03:58 PM
Hi Greg
Seconded, could also add that its not polite to take a hand held GPS along unless agreed to!
Haven't sighted you for a while, good to see you are still "cruising" Probably like a few others also caught up in family activity etc
Did you sight the earlier post suggesting a further GOM conference? (at a similar to last location perhaps and either formal or informal and with or without; I'm easy)
25-03-2007, 04:27 PM
Hi Greg
Seconded, could also add that its not polite to take a hand held GPS along unless agreed to!
Haven't sighted you for a while, good to see you are still "cruising" Probably like a few others also caught up in family activity etc
Did you sight the earlier post suggesting a further GOM conference? (at a similar to last location perhaps and either formal or informal and with or without; I'm easy)
nope..have not seen post regarding GOM conference.
25-03-2007, 05:42 PM
Hey Pinhead
Maybe I was reading too much into it but with my sense of "lifestyle" I thought the GOM were heading for another Conference based on:-
PinHead (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php?u=27980) vbmenu_register("postmenu_594639", true);
http://www.ausfish.com.au/yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/starsplatinum.gif
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/_postbitspacer.gif
Re: Slanging matches
Quote:
Originally Posted by theoldlegend http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?p=594583#post594583)
To Finga and Pinhead,
Youse pair really should get your act together. One cracks up about having a fuse on a bilge pump and the other reckons you dont need one. Do either one of you know what you're talking about? I suspect not. Actually Pinhead, do you have a bilge pump on TMD? You didn't point it out to me at the last GOM M & G. Maybe we should have another one in the not too distant future, so you can show me.
I'll meet both of you any time at any nominated boat ramp. If you're game that is. Bring whatever you like, but it had better be good!!
actually TOL...there are 3 bilge pumps on it and not a single fuse...a modern creation on board call "circuit breakers"..might be a bit hard for an old public servant to understand. As for meeting at a ramp..how about at a berth..I will bring hooks.
25-03-2007, 06:51 PM
Adamy :) :) :)
25-03-2007, 07:08 PM
Pete and Adam.
regards nodds.
Geez nodds,
Lighten up a bit ,mate.
Dont make too many assumptions after your first post.
There's plenty of good information to be found here as well as a few comedians.
Like all good ausfish threads, this one contains a bit of humour(very funny adamhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif),some banter and some of the serious information you were seeking.
Just be thankful that some people are willing to take the time to respond to your queries.
Enjoy,It's a great site!
cheers Scott
outsiderskip
26-03-2007, 05:57 AM
yerh scott
it is a great site with a wealth of information
we all cop a bit and got to take it on the chin
life is too borning need a bit of fun
i just wanna fish off shore and take someone with the same interest
hoping he has got a sense of humour
pinhead
about time we had another GOM
im sure the boat knows the way
before it get too cold
pete
r
pi
Serious stuff there nodds. I respect you ;D come on mate get serious for a minute just cause you asked a question doesn't mean people will answer the way you expect. Try being a bit 8-) and you will be right
27-03-2007, 01:30 PM
Nodds,
How it works on my boat and almost every boat I go in is,,,,,
Share costs, share work, and share the catch.
As for costs, I add up the cost of fuel and oil, and the cost of the bait. Then divide that by the number on board. That is your share of the cost so we all pay the same. This can get tricky though if you have a distance to travel to the ramp. Should you add the cost of the car as well. Usually yes, but some owners don't add this cost in. I don't add it in for local trips, though I suppose I probably could. But if I was heading up to Mooloolabah and went through $50.00 in fuel for the car, is it my cost, or should it be shared as part of the cost of getting the boat and deckies to the fishing grounds? Sometimes owners ask what do you think is reasonable to contribute. This is really difficult as you do not know the fuel usage of the boat. Much better if they just add all together and divide. Makes it a cheap day for everyone (relatively anyway when compared to a charter)
Unless the owner has spare gear he is willing to let you use, you supply your own. This is never an issue with an experienced offshore deckie as they always have their own gear. If you use his before you get your own, make sure you pay for any hooks and sinkers that you use. Can get expensive when you loose a few 8/0 hooks and snapper leads.
Jobs on the boat are to assist with launch and retrieve, and look after the anchour. Not really much more. But just ask what they would like you to do. Most owners will have their way of doing things and will tell you if/when they want you to do something, and how they expect you to do it. At least I do...
Treat the boat with respect and try not to trash it/damage it, and try to keep it reasonably clean on your side of the boat. Towards the end of the trip before you come in, spend a bit of time cleaning all the blood/bait/crap off the boat. Owners really like it when you do that.
Take your own drinks and food. You do not supply others, just yourself as they will do the same. Generally do not take alcohol on board without checking first as each skipper has different views. I will take a few rumbo's if an evening trip, but never for a morning/day trip. Just check.
Expect that if you are sick, you will have to just put up with it as the boat does not return until the end of the planned session.
outsiderskip
27-03-2007, 02:48 PM
cheech
no good taking you on my boat i like a nip on the way out
day or night
pete
27-03-2007, 06:17 PM
I have never taken money from anyone when they come out on the boat...I usually only invite friends and the pleasure of their company is priceless...plus..I was going out anyway so I would have borne the costs regardless...but each is different.
bay_firey
27-03-2007, 07:05 PM
With you there pinhead, always appreciate the offer but never accept.
I always make the offer when playing deckie and am quite prepared to contribute fairly.
However when I do contribute on an even share basis I KEEP ALL fish (those that are legally able to be kept ) that I catch, which i feel is only fair if i have paid my full share of costs.
27-03-2007, 07:19 PM
With you there pinhead, always appreciate the offer but never accept.
I always make the offer when playing deckie and am quite prepared to contribute fairly.
However when I do contribute on an even share basis I KEEP ALL fish (those that are legally able to be kept ) that I catch, which i feel is only fair if i have paid my full share of costs.
Just curious mate,why would you contribute everything else on an even share basis but KEEP ALL fish you catch?
Just my opinion but I would feel better if the fish were shared also.
cheers scott
bay_firey
27-03-2007, 07:30 PM
Fair call there Scott
I suppose I look at it a bit like a charter, if it is a "requirement" to pay costs then I will keep my fish (yeah sure mate you can come fishing with me but you GOTTA pay - before an offer of payment is made )
If it is truely mates sharing costs then splits all round, fish included.
The previous post just didn't come out quite right ??
Thats the hard part in a text based environment
shabss
28-03-2007, 07:15 AM
pete
did you do the overnighter then and how did it go
is there a report somewhere
28-03-2007, 07:52 AM
Pete, your the skipper, so whatever you say goes. Happy to set you up at the back of the boat with a bottle whilst I do all the driving around :)
Pinhead/Bay F, I find that a bit odd. A usual trip out to the banks will cost around $200.00 - $250.00 depending on the boat, fuel burn and distance travelled. So you are saying that the owner as well as spending thousands of dollars buying and then maintaining the boat should also pay this sort of money every week or 2, and the couple of blokes that come out with him get to do it all for free? Yes I do find that a strange situation. I think this would be a minority view as I have only once been on someone else's boat where they would not take payment. But that was a short bay trip so the costs are a lot less. We are discussing offshore decking here.
I don't think NODDS post is worth any further comment so I won't make one!
But in relation to sharing, i rarely accept payment but appreciate the offer! Usually, i'm taking out deckies who have their own boats and i'm a firm believer in 'what goes around comes around!'. If i take payment, it is only because that person perhaps can't provide me with the same experience on their own boat and I have spent a considerable sum on fuel for the day out... More often than not, i'm going out anyway so the company is appreciated nonetheless!
Use of gear is a vastly different story! Unless you're considered blood (or like blood), you 'aint' touching my rods (and that is ALL rods)!! Seriously though, if you don't have the right gear, then you don't have a ride on my boat. Harsh? I'm serious about my fishing so my deckies must be too...
Usually we split our catch regardless however if it is only 2 or so fish, i can't be stuffed going to the effort of taking one fish so depending on who it is, that person can usually have both or I take both - whatever is appropriate and agreed to at the time. I do have a hell of a time trying to split my catch with TINN though... he just won't take any of MY fish... :P
Take Care T
Hey CHEECH!
Craig, when are we going for a fish???????????
Take Care T
shayned
28-03-2007, 09:33 AM
I have never taken money from anyone when they come out on the boat...I usually only invite friends and the pleasure of their company is priceless...plus..I was going out anyway so I would have borne the costs regardless...but each is different.
Hey Greg,
So let me get this straight are you saying that spending time with you is payment enough??????;) Hope this is OK, I mean, can we still take the piss a bit? At least just a little bit, 'cause it wouldn't be the same if we couldn't.;D
This reminds me of a deckie experience I had and it was only on a tinnie. I went out with an old bloke I knew through someone else. Turned out on face value he was a pretty cranky bugger, I reckon he would have been made life president if he had shown up at a GOM, but he could bloody fish though.
After a good days fishing we came in and I launched into helping clean up the tinny. I could hear him grumble under his breath a few times but I carried on regardless until I pulled the bung and put it into what was obviously the holder for inside the transom. Just after that the air started to turn blue, a couple of choice comments related to my compitence and how much better he could do it by himself and one about my parentage I think, although I couldn't quite hear that one.
So I did what comes naturally and let him have it back while generally sharing my belief that if you go out on someones boat you should be there at the end until the clean up is done. At that point he kindly pointed out it was his boat and if he wanted to clean it by himself he would. In the end we come to an agreement that I would get started cleaning the fish while he squared the boat away.
I learned an important lesson that day, you should ask what needs doing and how it should be done. While I stalked off to clean the fish I thought that would be that, everyone happy. I learnt another important lesson that day GOM usually like to get the last word in, as I went off to clean the fish I swear that old prick grumbled under his breath," Yeh well I hope you clean fish better than you clean friggin' boats!" I also worked out why he normally fished alone!!;) ;D
Post Script: When all was done I went to head off but the old bugger produces two cold goldies and to top it off looks me square in the eye and says"So I'll see you next week same time?" Could have knocked me down with a feather but we ended up having a lot of good trips together over a few years before his health failed him.:(
28-03-2007, 10:08 AM
cheech..I can chew through $200 of juice just cruising down the Pin way on a weekend...and yes..I do pay for it.
shayne...about 10 or so ausfishers have been out on my boat...not long trips..just a cruise around..a few laughs..enjoyment time..not once have I accepted any money for fuel..some have been kind enough to bring food etc..and I never will aks or accept money for running the boat...if I could not afford to run it then I would not have bought it. Someday I might get a reciprocal invite to go on someone elses boat and I will offer them money for running costs as I do not know their financial situation and will therefore offer to pay.
shayned
28-03-2007, 10:20 AM
Greg,
You're welcome on my kayak anytime mate and no I won't ask for fuel money.:D
Shayne
nodds
28-03-2007, 01:06 PM
:-[ :-[PLEASE excuse my brain explosion. The only reason I can give for it is last week some maggot stole our car from our house at about 1 am while we were asleep. We were lucky enough to get it back a few days later but we are out of pocket near on $1700 that we did'nt have. That puts us getting our own boat off another six months or so. Add to that Iv'e had very little sleep since the car went.
I read my post the next day and thought, what the hell am I raveing on about. Nothing I was reading sounded anything like me at all, infact one of my mates read it and was as stunned by my outburst as I later was. I think my sence of humor had taken all the hits it could handle and I needed to vent (or get realy drunk if I had the money)
No body could be more dissapointed in my last post (raveings, rantings and BS) than I am. So to all but mostly Outsiderskip and Adamy please forgive my ouyburst as it was uncalled for and extreemly out of charactor. Just the wrong end of the worst week.
To all that have replied with answers thank you for taking the time to give me a lot clearer idea of what it means to be a deckie. Sounds like a great way to meet some good people and do some fantastic fishing8-) ;D
hope you can forgive:-[ bring on the baging8-) nodds:D
outsiderskip
28-03-2007, 05:07 PM
noods
forgotten before it all started
no hard feelings
pete
shayned
29-03-2007, 10:29 AM
Nah no bagging right now, hate to kick a bloke when he's down, unless he needs one to get him up again.;) If you get the chance to deckie for one of the guys on here grab it both hands or to go to a meet and greet do the same I've yet to meet up with someone on here and not enjoy their company.
sempre
29-03-2007, 07:11 PM
I got an invite once , Pete told me $200 for fuel , i have to tow the boat up , and wash it at my house , and...... i cant keep any fish .
Just joking , good luck tonight .
Sam...
30-03-2007, 01:51 PM
amazing pete...all you did was ask for a deckie and you ended up with a 3 page thread.
outsiderskip
31-03-2007, 08:08 AM
yerh sam u had to supply all the rum
greg
what shit u got to go thru to get a deckie these days
Adamy
31-03-2007, 12:29 PM
Hmmmm.. havent been back here for a while - lucky too I can go off like a cracker sometimes - but we all have bad weeks and bad trips - no harm done Nodds!
Now a word about being deckie and our trip out yesterday.... It was a rough as guts (the swell was only a couple of metres but the chop was coming from every direction and very short and not consistent) and I spent most of my time flat out on my back - cause if I got up it was only to spew. (lucky Pete has a comfortable cab) Which left poor ole Pete to handle most of the deckie duties himself - poor bugger had to bait his own hooks, cook his own pancakes and sing himself to sleep:P But the worst of it was he had to pull in the anchor himself :-[- well three of 5 times anyway. Think it was the worst trip either of us have had offshore - him due to the company and lack of fish - and for me - while I have been crook before - this was the first time I've ever been sick while the boat was actually traveling. Plus... all the way to the Banks 2 hours driving up 2 hours back plus 1-1/2 hours out and back and only 1 legal fish to claim. They were there but just had their mouths sealed shut.
So if you're gunna be a deckie - or gunna get a deckie - check their/your guts first!!;D Maybe it was the curry I ate before going out?
Pete - a cracker of a thread mate - sorry about the trip!
Adam