View Full Version : Soft Plastics and Snapper
Livey
21-03-2007, 01:41 PM
Hi,
I have been fishing offshore for years and always been the traditional pillies and flesh baiter. Lately (the last 4/5 years) I have ventured to live baiting and seen awsome results. But as most of you live baiters know bait is sometimes hard to come by (especially in mackeral season).
I have been toying with the idea of trying soft plastics but dont know the first thing about them especially in an offshore application.
Can anyone give me some tips on fishing in depths of 45m plus using SP's.
Jig type? Action at rod? using in current? Do I need a sinker? Rig?
Phoenix
21-03-2007, 03:06 PM
The reports section should give you some good clues. Berkley Gulps are pretty good, as are Snap Backs. For that depth try the 5 inch jerk shads or squids.
The size of the jig head will depend on current - but hook size I'd go 3/0-5/0 and probably 1/2oz weight plus.
But I am no expert.
trueblue
21-03-2007, 03:35 PM
Whats the best rod for use with SP's at depth for snapper?
Hey guys,
have been doing my fair share on the 80m line east of the barwon banks with soft plastics. I have been using a 5-10kg shimano t-curve with a stradic 6000, 30lb bionic braid and 40-80lb leaders. 1ounce to 2 ounce jig heads and 7inch berkely gulps in white and 6inch atomic paddletail plastics have been doing the damage. if you want some more info just PM me
Josh
21-03-2007, 05:41 PM
The key is to select the appropriate jighead weight for depth and tidal flow. If there is a lot of run then I normally use a 3/8 jighead and always cast ahead of the boat in the direction of travel whilst drifting. This will get the jighead to the bottom. If the water is 60-80 metres in depth then the trick is to cast ahead of the boat and leave the bail arm open to allow as much line to peel off as fast as you can let it so it will reach the bottom. If snapper are on the chew they will hit almost any placcie you toss at them but the trick is to get it down to where they are. Mud island snapper normally in about 7-8 metres I use up to a 3/8 jighead, the shallows of wello I use 1/8 or lighter and offshore I use 1 ounce generally. When fishing with plastics my brother and I always drift and if the wind kicks up enough we drop a sea anchor over the edge to slow down the drift. Hope this helps.
Phoenix
22-03-2007, 07:22 AM
I use a 7ft Penn Powerstick 8-10kg with a BR3500. Main line is 25lb braid and 50lb leader. Invest in quality jig heads like Nitro or TT and see what colours and styles of plastic people are having success with in the area you want to fish. It can make a bigger difference than you might think.
Livey
22-03-2007, 10:31 AM
Do you need to use braid or will mono do the trick?
If there is run could you rig a sliding ball above the leader to help you get and stay at the bottom or would this interupt the action of the SP.
22-03-2007, 11:20 AM
Do you need to use braid or will mono do the trick?
If there is run could you rig a sliding ball above the leader to help you get and stay at the bottom or would this interupt the action of the SP.
Mono is suitable and has its advocates;D .
Remember that the larger snapper are rarely on the bottom, so don't think that the plastics need to reach the bottom.
yakka
22-03-2007, 12:58 PM
what happens next, do you let it out till it hits bottom if not taken before and wind in? or do you troll it for a short time or is there some other technique?
selecting the correct jig head is correct , i found that making the slightest touch of the bottom while bouncing soft plastics a must but i did catch alot of our big snapper almost 20m off the bottom. we started off by making reasonable sized cast in front of our drift line, keepping the bail open on our spin gear and allowing our plastic to sink wheh we felt that we had enough line out we would shut the bail arm and lift the rod tip high and fast a few times and pick up the slack. On most occasions our plastic was getting slammed on the drop and all we did was set the hook. Found the snapper to be very aggressive and fight alot harder than they would on our overhead gear.
Josh
22-03-2007, 07:38 PM
selecting the correct jig head is correct , i found that making the slightest touch of the bottom while bouncing soft plastics a must but i did catch alot of our big snapper almost 20m off the bottom. we started off by making reasonable sized cast in front of our drift line, keepping the bail open on our spin gear and allowing our plastic to sink wheh we felt that we had enough line out we would shut the bail arm and lift the rod tip high and fast a few times and pick up the slack. On most occasions our plastic was getting slammed on the drop and all we did was set the hook. Found the snapper to be very aggressive and fight alot harder than they would on our overhead gear.
Josh
In the deeper water(60-80 metres) I was finding that the snapper were hitting the plastic even before the bail arm was closed. If they are there they will hit it pretty fast as do the peal perch. ;)
Pistol_P
22-03-2007, 08:03 PM
Dont agree with using Mono for plastic fishing.
The advantages Braid has over mono for this sort of fishing are worth the $$$.
The braid has no stretch and therefore VERy sensitve and you will feel every tap and knock.This is even more important in the deeper water.
Dont get me wrong I know mono works but the braid has huge advantages over it.
22-03-2007, 08:32 PM
Josh
Josh, I have seen your replies about using SP's out wide in other threads, and I don't need to repeat anything you have said, so Livey, stick to this man like glue, he knows what he's talking about!!;) My expierience with SP's out wide are not as often as I fish in the bay with them, but I would certainly not waste time trying for live bait, especially if they are not around. The Pic is of a mate who came out with us, stayed with a 1 ounce JH and a pearl white gulp minow ALL DAY. Not a bad way to open the account, he had never fished plastics before. I didn't do half as well, but I know where I went wrong if you are interested.
Livey
23-03-2007, 08:00 AM
Does anyone know where I can buy large jigheads and SP's on the net (i dont get out much)
can you make your own heads and if so how?
yakka
23-03-2007, 11:37 AM
thanks for that info, will get some of those sp's today and try over the weekend
regards chris
So far big soft plastics has bought a new meaning to our deep water off shore fishing its just a matter of going out there and trying a few things. I picked up some large jig heads last year at the boat show . I had a bit of trouble with straitening hooks but i got some good TT Lures jig heads with 7 0 game hooks that are awesome . If u are on the northside try Sundown Marine and ask Jason to get you on to some.
Josh
23-03-2007, 05:20 PM
Does anyone know where I can buy large jigheads and SP's on the net (i dont get out much)
can you make your own heads and if so how?
I did a thread ages ago before the revamp of AF website. If you want the photos let me know.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=98120&highlight=Making+your+own+jig+heads
Livey
23-03-2007, 08:28 PM
I did a thread ages ago before the revamp of AF website. If you want the photos let me know.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=98120&highlight=Making+your+own+jig+heads
Hi Scalem
I looked up the thread and found it very interesting could you please post the photos for me. I love the idea of catching fish on your own handmade gear, and my handbrake is also on so its good to do it cheap as well.
24-03-2007, 06:09 AM
Hi Scalem
I looked up the thread and found it very interesting could you please post the photos for me. I love the idea of catching fish on your own handmade gear, and my handbrake is also on so its good to do it cheap as well.
LOL, Handbrake?? You must be married or something!!Some time this weekend I'll get a chance;) Water skiing with the clan all today!
24-03-2007, 08:24 PM
So I have put a few pics together, showing the blank Jig head hook called Mustad Aberdeen, the next shot shows it lying in a standard sinker mould, the next is one that I have had in my tackle box for a few months, but you might notice I wanted just a little bit heavier, so there was a slight mod done to the cavity to contain more lead.
But occasionally I want lighter than what moulds you can buy, say in 1/16th ounce or so. You can buy a pack of splitshot sinkers for about $1.50, position over the bend of the aberdeen hook, and presto!!:o
The next shot shows I might occasionally touch them up with a soldering iron, which ensures a solid fastening of the splitshot to the aberdeen hook. One hook is soldered, the other is not.
And finally, the splitshot with a 3" Atomic threaded on. How does that look?
I know making them would not be everyone's cuppa, but it is relaxing to crimp splitshots in front of the T.V, and when you pick up Aberdeen hooks from up to $7.00 per pack of 25, it's a heck of a lot cheaper! I catch legal Snapper with these, but have yet to land one over 50cm on a home made hook, but you can lay blame on the user, not the hardware;)
PS. One of the ways you can control the flow of lead within the sinker mould is bluetac. It also helps to position the hook in the mould as you bring the two halves together.
Livey
25-03-2007, 08:48 PM
LOL, Handbrake?? You must be married or something!!Some time this weekend I'll get a chance;) Water skiing with the clan all today!
Married and a newborn, (10weeks old) and thats about the same amount of time that I have been land bound.
Hope the boat remembers to float
Thanks heaps for the pics. I am with you about relaxing and tinkering on fishing gear, though the kitchen table doesnt seem the best place anymore, according to the missus babys and hooks dont mix.
will move operations to the shed
is there a need for the specially shaped hook with a bent eye?
25-03-2007, 09:15 PM
Married and a newborn, (10weeks old) and thats about the same amount of time that I have been land bound.
Hope the boat remembers to float
Thanks heaps for the pics. I am with you about relaxing and tinkering on fishing gear, though the kitchen table doesnt seem the best place anymore, according to the missus babys and hooks dont mix.
will move operations to the shed
is there a need for the specially shaped hook with a bent eye?
Livey,
There have been fish caught on standard hooks with plastics threaded on them for years - going back to Mr Twisters, just about anything that wriggled would catch a flathead, and we used to wrap the tails onto standard hooks, getting some results. But if you want to maximise the chance of catching fish, I think using the hooks with the 90 degree bend in them, like the aberdeen hooks you see in the pic, your chances will be far greater IMO. The action the plastic has when you jig it will not be the same with a standard hook. I think fish such as bream will require a more refined approach, using one of these types of hooks or jig heads.
Let me know if you need any more info, happy to help. The table and baby thing.... You'll have to decide for yourself, but you are in dangerous territory where retreat might be your wisest choice.;D
Livey
25-03-2007, 09:31 PM
Scalem,
Thanks mate. :D
Will get stuck into making some ASAP and give a report on how I went. Hope the weather improves for the easter break so I can try this out on some Knobbies.
Members keep the tips coming please ::)
27-03-2007, 07:54 PM
Check your PM Livey;)
Josh, I have seen your replies about using SP's out wide in other threads, and I don't need to repeat anything you have said, so Livey, stick to this man like glue, he knows what he's talking about!!;) My expierience with SP's out wide are not as often as I fish in the bay with them, but I would certainly not waste time trying for live bait, especially if they are not around. The Pic is of a mate who came out with us, stayed with a 1 ounce JH and a pearl white gulp minow ALL DAY. Not a bad way to open the account, he had never fished plastics before. I didn't do half as well, but I know where I went wrong if you are interested.
I'll ask, where did you go wrong??
cheers, roo.
TT Headhunters are proving OK for me offshore - try www.lureworld.com.au (http://www.lureworld.com.au)
Can I say that?
28-03-2007, 11:10 PM
I'll ask, where did you go wrong??
cheers, roo.
Hello Roo,
Well I'm glad you asked. Crikey, for a bunch of fishermen I thought someone would have taken the bait by now, so thanks Roo!!;)
You can't use the same reel as you would use in the bay. While you think you have enough line capacity, you don't really. Once you have emptied over half the spool while trying to get the plastic down to the bottom, the line is less cooperative in coming off the spool. The 2nd half of the braid on the spool has to come up and over the lip of the spool, and is sometimes caught momentarily. Any slight resistance here will mean the plastic is held up and not allowed to decend to the bottom naturally, and the deeper water 60+ meters only makes things worse. Again, if I ran all the line off the spool that I usually have for the bay, I'd have enough line to get there, but after half is gone, it gets really difficult.
You generally can't use the same plastics as the bay. I use 3 and 4" plastics in the bay, where the best for outside are 5" and stick baits even bigger, where the 1 ounze Jig head will appear in proportion to the plastic. Colours that work best outside are the LOUD colours. Fluro pink or pearl white, Chartreause, Electric or Nuclear Chicken. I see these two points my major downfalls last time, but I still caught pearlies, which were mid water, the AJ's and Snapper were down further.
Cheers Scalem,
yep, the reel needs a lot more line capacity than in the bay....mid you in the bay i use a 1500 symetre with 4lb braid so i wouldn't normally use this outside tho'. What i do use for outside is more suited for bottom bashing and has proved to have it own problems too. The 6000 Penn Applause I use is spooled with 50lb Tuffline XP braid. this doesn't exactly fall off the spool either and needs to be manually stripped off to get the lure down with the relatively light weight jigheads. I'm going to try respooling with 30lb whiplash as this is much thinner, about the same size as 10lb braid. have also needed to upsize my jigheads too, the 7/0's i have are too light(only 1/2oz) and the 5" plastics look too small with a 1oz 7/0 jighead. I've got some 6" ecogear minnows that might be worth a try next time.
cheers for the tips.
Roo.
29-03-2007, 07:53 PM
Cheers Scalem,
yep, the reel needs a lot more line capacity than in the bay....mid you in the bay i use a 1500 symetre with 4lb braid so i wouldn't normally use this outside tho'. What i do use for outside is more suited for bottom bashing and has proved to have it own problems too. The 6000 Penn Applause I use is spooled with 50lb Tuffline XP braid. this doesn't exactly fall off the spool either and needs to be manually stripped off to get the lure down with the relatively light weight jigheads. I'm going to try respooling with 30lb whiplash as this is much thinner, about the same size as 10lb braid. have also needed to upsize my jigheads too, the 7/0's i have are too light(only 1/2oz) and the 5" plastics look too small with a 1oz 7/0 jighead. I've got some 6" ecogear minnows that might be worth a try next time.
cheers for the tips.
Roo.
There you go, The reel I use in the bay is the Penn Applause 4000, so the 6000 is a better suited reel. I forget the brand braid, but Frankoo uses the stuff that is different colours according to the length, but its around $150.00 a spool.
If you get the right combination, hang on!!!
I use the td sensor braid on a Penn Affinty 4000 in the the bay and it works great with light jig heads. Out wide i use a Stradic 6000 with a custom made Jack Erskine drag and 30lb bionic braid wich is ok but some times it has trouble coming off the spool .So i might make the upgrade to the coloured td sensor braid to give me more indication on how much line is going out
Josh
5cougarsthanx
29-03-2007, 10:03 PM
Scalem,
If its not a rude question what reel is Uncle Frankoo using for his offshore plastics.I have 2 6500 baitrunners loaded with 30 lb braid.Would these be suitable for running plastics.
Cougarman
30-03-2007, 06:36 PM
Scalem,
If its not a rude question what reel is Uncle Frankoo using for his offshore plastics.I have 2 6500 baitrunners loaded with 30 lb braid.Would these be suitable for running plastics.
Cougarman
Personally, I like the Shimano 6500 series, they are a great reel and priced in my budget because I can't get my finance director to approve anything higher... but Frank recently sold one in perfect condition because he does not use it anymore. I mentioned you were asking, so rather than me telling you, Frank will jump on later and answer for you.
Frank OO
30-03-2007, 07:42 PM
Hi Josh,
I have been watching this thread without comment and it seems that some of you guys know your stuff.
The Sensor Braid (Coloured Stuff) is fantastic because you can actually count the depth. Once you have been on the bottom a few times you will automatically know what colour will get to the bottom for each depth.
TT jig heads are great as long as you use the heavy wire. You can also use the Nitro jig Heads from Super #####. The main thing to watch is the thickness of the shaft. If the shaft is too thick it will split the Plastic and it wont swim correctly.
I am amazed at the number of people that I have personally seen fishing Soft Plastics that take too big a bite in the plastic. This will stop the lure from swiming properly. Keep the the bite nice and short even in the big plastic amd make sure that you actually swim the lure to see that it swims smoothly without spinning.
Snapper and Pearlies will take just about anything but nothing beats a well presented lure. Coral will not take a plastic that does not swim like a fish.
When it is all said and done. That is what you are after. Make the plastic swim naturally, whether it be bouncing on the bottom or slowly swiming down from the top.
As far as the rods and reels go, We are all on budgets but nothing will replace quality. Egrell rods and the best in Diawa.
My Stradic 2500, 4000,5000,and 8000 have all been stripped because the size of the offshore fish are too big for the cheaper reels.
It is easy to say get the best but if you have one really good rod and one really good reel that may be all you need. Ask Eric Grell. He only fishes with the S10H.
He also catches the biggest Tuna, Barra, Snapper and lately 20 Kg AJs.
Frank OO
trueblue
30-03-2007, 08:07 PM
Franko, you're still tempting me to go and see Eric............
Frank
Have you tried the TT Headhunters yet?
Frank OO
30-03-2007, 09:10 PM
3Vs,
I haven't heard of them until now what is the difference?
Frank OO
5cougarsthanx
30-03-2007, 09:52 PM
Frank,
You mentioned not putting the plastic to deep on the jig head
Have you got any pics of what a properly rigged plastic looks like.Also in regards to the reels you use.Do you have any problems with the braid not flowing off the reel properly and if so how do you get around this.
Cougarman
trueblue
30-03-2007, 10:17 PM
Franko
I'd like to see the way you are putting the hooks into the plastics as well if you don't mind...
mick
Frank OO
31-03-2007, 06:15 AM
5cougarsthanks, Mick,
All of the latest reels are built to lay the braid on the reel so that it is evenly distributed over the spool. This is why some of the older reels are not suited to casting plastics. They work really well if you are fishing with bait but as soon as you start casting you end up with knots. This happens especially if you use the cheaper braids.
I will try to take some photos of a rigged Plastic
Frank OO
Frank
The headhunters are apparently extra heavy duty, in the words of their website -
"The following jig heads are built on Extreme Heavy Duty Chemically Sharpened Mustad hooks. These are very tough hooks with the 8/0 withstanding over 50lb of direct force".
http://www.ttlures.com.au/jig_heads.php
Frank OO
01-04-2007, 08:17 AM
Thanks 3Vs,
I will check it out.
Frank OO
Frank OO
01-04-2007, 08:23 AM
Hi Mick and others who may be interested,
Although the hooks are not rigged perfectly, I hope it will give you the idea.
I have included the right and wrong way to rig your plastics. You will also find a photo of two types of Jig head as well as another method of rigging your hook. (Weedless).
This is great for weed or snaggy areas and also great for Barra in the snags.
Frank OO
5cougarsthanx
01-04-2007, 12:11 PM
Frank oo,
Thanks for taking the time to post the pics.When you put the plastic on to the jighead do you first of all sit it next to the plastic to work out where you will bring the hook back out of the plastic and do you start the hook penetration in the centre of the plastic.[
Thanks Frank OO
I have not yet tried placcies seriously yet out in the deep blu sea and I have just learned something from your photos :)
I am just starting to gear up to give the snapper some stick this year when it cools down
Cheers Murf
Frank OO
02-04-2007, 09:25 AM
5cougarsthanx,
I just thread them on like you would a worm. After you do the third or fourth one you will be doing it blind folded. I noticed another post talking about the difference between Guldp and Squidgies where they mention that a plastic is only good for one fish.
I will use mine until they are really dead. It is not uncommon to reuse the same plastic 5 or 6 times. Just cut the head off and rethread the plastic. It will be smaller but they will still work.
Have fun. Frank OO
Frank OO
02-04-2007, 09:27 AM
Hi Murf,
I am glad you found the photos useful. You are most welcome. I hope I keep learning more about fishing every day.
Frank OO
DALEPRICE
02-04-2007, 11:21 AM
thanks frank, those pics are great.
just need some decent weather over the
easter break.
cheers dale
5cougarsthanx
02-04-2007, 02:17 PM
Frankoo
Thanks for all the advise and the pics.I hope to see you on the water someday.
Frankoo , thanks for the photos Iam sure those pics will be a great help for those guys wanting to get into the deep water soft plastics scene . I my self have notice the same result in having a plastic swimming correctly than one that does not . I have been looking at upgrading the old Stradic 6000 to a daiwa capricorn 4500j what are your thoughts on this reel.
Josh
Frank OO
02-04-2007, 03:49 PM
Hi Josh,
I am currently using the Capricorn 4500 as well as the 4000 series. I also have the Stradic series from the 2500 to the 8000.
Although the Capricorn is still a mid priced reel it is a much stronger reel and has coped with a lot more and bigger fish than the 6000 or 8000 Stradic.
I have actually asked Dunphy Sports (Shimano Dealer)to upgrade the 8000 to a Twin Power internal and although the reel is now a lot better it still does not rate compared to the Capricorn 4500.........Ofcourse there are always better and more expensive models.???
Frank OO
Thanks FrankOO,
I looked into the Twin power internals early last year but they had not finalized any thing for the stradic 6000 up grade, I was going through standard drags and carrier bearings on the main shaft in one session, So i got it redone by Jack Erskine .Its doing really well but i am after a little more grunt . Would it be possible for you to pm me with what they did to the internals of your stradic and drag
THANKS in advance Josh
06-04-2007, 03:57 PM
Great info, thanks guys. Looks like I am off to spend another pay down the tackle shop
Like youv'e never done that before;D
07-04-2007, 07:30 AM
Some bloke left me a fancy inflateable life jacket which I hocked down at cashies so I am all cqashed up now :P
Doh!!
:hammer:
Tony_N
07-04-2007, 03:13 PM
I've been using white snapbacks for about 3 years. I set them on the top hook of a 3 hook paternoster rig when bottom bashing, I've caught a lot of good fish on them including coral trout and other reef fish, jew, and a PB snapper of just over 6kg.
Last thursday I thought I'd give Franks casting ahead on the drift with a big white Gulp a go. I caught only two fish - one was a 3kg Pearl Perch and the other was a little Mac Tuna of about 4kg. After that we decided to anchor/berley for a while, but I had to pull all the lines in for 2 hours while my mate did battle with what turned out to be a Grey Nurse shark somewhere between 7 and 8 ft long. He got it to the boat on 30lb braid and broke him off after we'd had a good long look at him. Magnificent animal. And great angling skills by my mate, I reckon, though the shark just circled under the boat - he didn't go for any long runs. Neverthless my mate was pretty weary on Friday.
So thanks Frank for the info on how to use the big plastics. I was in 30 - 35 metres of water and using a 3/4 oz TT jig head and casting about the depth of water ahead of the boat on the drift . It worked out that I never actually had any line peeling off the reel as we drifted.
I'm sure I've still got a lot to learn but it was more producrtive on the day (except for the shark) than bait.
09-04-2007, 06:39 AM
I've been using white snapbacks for about 3 years. I set them on the top hook of a 3 hook paternoster rig when bottom bashing, I've caught a lot of good fish on them including coral trout and other reef fish, jew, and a PB snapper of just over 6kg.
Last thursday I thought I'd give Franks casting ahead on the drift with a big white Gulp a go. I caught only two fish - one was a 3kg Pearl Perch and the other was a little Mac Tuna of about 4kg. After that we decided to anchor/berley for a while, but I had to pull all the lines in for 2 hours while my mate did battle with what turned out to be a Grey Nurse shark somewhere between 7 and 8 ft long. He got it to the boat on 30lb braid and broke him off after we'd had a good long look at him. Magnificent animal. And great angling skills by my mate, I reckon, though the shark just circled under the boat - he didn't go for any long runs. Neverthless my mate was pretty weary on Friday.
So thanks Frank for the info on how to use the big plastics. I was in 30 - 35 metres of water and using a 3/4 oz TT jig head and casting about the depth of water ahead of the boat on the drift . It worked out that I never actually had any line peeling off the reel as we drifted.
I'm sure I've still got a lot to learn but it was more producrtive on the day (except for the shark) than bait.
Hey Tony,
I am a fan of the snapbacks to a degree in Moreton bay, I've caught some nice snapper on the electric chicken 4". From your description, I think there is still a possibility you are not getting to the bottom, both fish you caught are mid water fish. When you cast ahead of the boat, leave the bail arm open for a while until you are absolutely certain you have reached the bottom. Try that, and resist the temptation of anchoring up. But I guess your tussle with the grey suit would have been fun anyhow!
Tony_N
09-04-2007, 09:52 AM
Thanks for the feedback Scalem. You could be right about not reaching the bottom. We were in 5-10kt winds with no drogue out the back so perhaps we were moving too fast for the 3/4 TT to reach the bottom. I'll put a 1 and 1/2 oz head on next time and see if it makes a difference.
I picked up both fish when the line was vertical from the boat. When I thought I'd reached bottom I gave the line a jerk and the pearlie was on with the lure right down his throat - so no skill there, and the tuna grabbed it on my fast retrieve as I was bringing it up to cast again. So I have to put both fish down to pure ring. Anyway I'll persevere for a while to see if I can get the feel for it.
09-04-2007, 10:06 AM
As far as the rods and reels go, We are all on budgets but nothing will replace quality. Egrell rods and the best in Diawa.
My Stradic 2500, 4000,5000,and 8000 have all been stripped because the size of the offshore fish are too big for the cheaper reels.
Frank,
I know you have the runs on the board with snapper and other species offshore, as does Eric, but I think your comments re the reels should be qualified.
The reason the Stradics have been stripped is due to the fact that you are using 30 lb braid with high drag settings. The stradics (and even cheaper reels) work perfectly well with lighter drag settings.
Each to their own, but I prefer to use lighter line and enjoy the fight and accept that occasionally I will lose. Maybe because I have not been brought up on AJs and kingies like some people;D . Anyway, that is my preferance. My best fish is an 8.8 kg snapper on 6 kg pretest mono, but that was on a metal jig, not a SP. I have also taken a few other good snapper on lures using 3 kg mono. And I can't ever recall actually being reefed lure fishing offshore (have been numerous times bait fishing with mono).
The gear you are advocating is top of the line and the outfit would be well in excess of $1000. That is great is you have the cash and want a dedicated outfit for SP fishing offshore, but not all do.
Also (Scalem?), I would not advocate using the Mustad aberdeen hooks. They are not strong enough for snapper IMHO. You spend enough money on your boat and fuel to get offshore, and time is valuable also. Spend the few extra $ to get the TT or gamakatsu heavy wire jig heads or there is a strong chance you will lose any decent snapper you hook. They have bony mouths and their jaw is very strong.
Like I said, each to their own. It's all good;D
BilgeBoy
09-04-2007, 11:53 AM
Hey Thanks Frank OO
Thanks to your pictures I now realize I have been putting the plastics on upside down!! Dooohhh!!! Thanks to you my strike rate may now increase somewhat.
BilgeBoy
Phoenix
09-04-2007, 05:29 PM
Those pictures you posted Frank are very helpful.
12-04-2007, 08:07 PM
Just read this thread, thanks for all the good advice fellas
12-04-2007, 11:36 PM
Also (Scalem?), I would not advocate using the Mustad aberdeen hooks. They are not strong enough for snapper IMHO. You spend enough money on your boat and fuel to get offshore, and time is valuable also. Spend the few extra $ to get the TT or gamakatsu heavy wire jig heads or there is a strong chance you will lose any decent snapper you hook. They have bony mouths and their jaw is very strong.
Like I said, each to their own. It's all good;D
Hi Jeremy,
I 100% agree that the aberdeen can fail on Snapper because they are not strong enough, however, when fishing light in Moreton Bay with 8 to 12 lb line, the amount of resistance you need to bend a #4 aberdeen will also snap your leader or main line, which is why you have to be prepared to slug it out with a big snapper in Moreton bay. Using these outside in the kind of territory that Frank fishes is sure to fail, again I agree with you. I discovered the same raw hook ( no lead on it) in a gamakatsu which seems much stronger, and I think for the extra $$ I will go with these in future.
Thanks for the clarification.
Frank00, great pics and cheers for the great info. To all other contributors to this thread, Thanks for all the info, will be stored in the brain bank and hopefully used to best advantage. I have one comment to make about some tips i got from this thread earlier re: Nitro jigheads......I used some 3/8oz #2/0 on the shallow reefs(3m to 7m) around wello a few weeks back and I have to say they seemed to be very snag resistant. I usually used Ball head jigs here and would get regular snags if allowed to bump the reef too much but the nitro's (heavier than i would usually use too) seemed to bump over the reef without a single snag for me. This was something Myself and The Missus both commented on while driving home that night.
Another thing i've noticed with the Nitros I have in my tackle bag at the moment is some discrepancy in the hook size quoted on the box. I have a packet of 5/8oz #3/0s and a packet of 1/4oz #3/0s that I've noticed seem to have much bigger hooks than stated. The 1/4oz actually appear to have more like a 5/0 hook in the them. when you compare the 2 side by side it is clearly a much bigger hook:huh2:
again, to all, great info here.
Cheers, Roo.