View Full Version : Hinchenbrook Channel Barra
aaron_gilmour
20-03-2007, 10:07 PM
Went up to Hinchenbrook Channel for the first time today. Tides were not great with a big spring high tide at 9 to a low at 3:30pm. Was planning on getting a few barra and explore a bit. With the big high tide, it was impossiable to get bait so decided to throw lures around at snags and banks under electric power that didnt have to much water at the roots.
As the tides turned headed back up the channel to a island that have plenty of current pushing around it so trolled a few laps for 2 Trevally on classic 160 12+.
As the tide dropped fished some likely looking spots until i have found a creek mouth that had dirty water and clear water mixing. perfect ambush point and after 10 or so cast with a jackall TN70 with upgraded owner hooks , hooked and landed a 80cm Barra.
Had a good day and its really a pretty place with lots of fishy water everywere. Looking forward to going up there again and finding some more spots. Got a good mud crab as well.
Pretty mad place with dense mangroves giving way to very lush dense rain forrest /jungle om.
Aaron
LIVE_2_FiSH
20-03-2007, 10:21 PM
looks every bit of 80cm.. Well done mate
luigi
21-03-2007, 08:05 AM
You did real well Aaron considering the big tides & amount of dirty water still pouring out of the Herbert River.
Befor this last lot of rain (still coming down as I'm writing this) the fishery here in Hinchinbrook was starting to fire up like a beauty. I reckon, give a few weeks of fine weather, this place should start buzzing.
Cheers - Lou
aaron_gilmour
21-03-2007, 04:47 PM
Hi Lou,
Its a great place to fish. I am certainly going to come up more and fish. Just the scenery is worth the trip let alone the fishing. Would love to go up when the water is clean and sight cast to some fish.
I caught the barra around the haycock islet nad the trevors around Haycock island. I didnt try the herbert. The sandy flats at the mouth look tricky if you have not been there before and dont know how much water you need to vome in and out.
It looks like alot of locals fish Dungeness creek from what i saw. Only saw 1 other boat the whole day and felt like the whole channel was mine to fish. If you have any tips or info on spots to try and tides etc i would greatly apreciate any info on the place as it is sooo big and all looks fishy.
Aaron
Sailfisher
21-03-2007, 05:11 PM
Hi Aaron
Very nice catch. You wouldn't happen to have been a Bundy llad by any chance. Used to live two doors up from a lady who had a grandson Aaron.
aaron_gilmour
21-03-2007, 06:58 PM
Hi Sailfish,
No mate not from Bundy although drink the stuff out of fashion:D
From Redcliffe originally but did all my growing up in Dawin.
Aaron
Murph77
21-03-2007, 08:53 PM
Nice solid barra mate, top effort
luigi
21-03-2007, 09:12 PM
Hi Lou,
Its a great place to fish. I am certainly going to come up more and fish. Just the scenery is worth the trip let alone the fishing. Would love to go up when the water is clean and sight cast to some fish.
I caught the barra around the haycock islet nad the trevors around Haycock island. I didnt try the herbert. The sandy flats at the mouth look tricky if you have not been there before and dont know how much water you need to vome in and out.
It looks like alot of locals fish Dungeness creek from what i saw. Only saw 1 other boat the whole day and felt like the whole channel was mine to fish. If you have any tips or info on spots to try and tides etc i would greatly apreciate any info on the place as it is sooo big and all looks fishy.
Aaron
G'day Aaron,
Mate, with the tide & weather conditions this week, I don't reckon any of the locals would have bothered to put a boat in the water.
Next time you come up this way Aaron you would more than welcome to call at my Lucinda workshop & I will give you a bit of a run-down on this magic area. You can check me out on my website if you wish - just do a Google search for 'lucinda lures' & you'll find me ok.
Cheers - Lou
jackextracter
22-03-2007, 11:37 PM
nice fish mate hinchens a great place i do a trip there every year there so many fish there you get to good at catchin em if you have a look on saltwater photos i just put up a post, you will see some fingermark from hinchenbrook chanel caught in november 2006 its a great place.
Nice fish Aaron !:) Nothin like a wild barra caught in barradise! ... NAGG
Apple1
23-03-2007, 04:55 PM
Nice fish Aaron, got to luv those Barra
Cheers Adrian
P.S How u going anyway