View Full Version : 2kg -4kg Rod Under $150

devocean
20-03-2007, 10:22 AM
Hi Guys

After having my rod destroyed by a nice jack the other day im in the market for a new one. I am thinking about an Ian Miller Rack raider or somnething similiar that i can spin with. If anyone has this rod or something similar and could provide a reccommendation please let me know. My only prerequisites are I dont want something over 7 foot over $150 and would prefer a cork grip

Cheers dan

TheSaint
20-03-2007, 11:11 AM
Mate i own 6'8' Rack Raider & i love it as much as my 6'6' T-curve..

I use it for SP's & it just handles fish with ease with a nice soft tip but enough power in the butt section to handle bigger fish. I would go with the 1 piece as i found my brother's 2 piece rack raider wasn't as nice to use as mine cause of the join of the 2 pieces.

I've matched mine with Stradic 2500 with 4lb braid but it would nice with 1000 size reel also..

Orbyroo has one as well maybe he will give you his opinion on what he thinks..

scottym
20-03-2007, 12:43 PM
I have a rack raider that I love using for soft plastics however I find the tip a bit to soft for using hardbodied lures.

Brett1907
20-03-2007, 01:37 PM
I have a Strudwick sic stik 2-4 kg two piece. Has caught some nice fish. It seems to be a brilliant allrounder. I use it for SP's, HB's, live and dead baits. Just got my PB on it today, check out this post.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=106883

Roo
20-03-2007, 01:52 PM
I have a rack raider that I love using for soft plastics however I find the tip a bit to soft for using hardbodied lures.

Yeah i've got one of these in 1 peice. Great plastics rod and plenty of grunt in the butt section. 1 piece is better than a 2 piece version as the saint has mentioned, but i agree with scottym, they are a medium action and as nice as they feel, i like my Strudwick Sic stik pro has a faster taper more suited to hardbody's. Actually I've got 2 sic stic pro's both 2-4kg. 1 is 7' and a favourite for breaming plastics and ultralight lures & the other is 6'6" and feels a bit stiffer in the tip. Works a treat with larger lures and heavier plastics for Bass and Flatties. they're a bargain at the moment from the large store we will not mention. 50% off. they have $199 marked on them but when they scan at the register they come up @ $149. so i got both rods for 75 bucks a piece;) the standard (blue blank) sic stik is on special too so would work out even cheaper still. I think the Mart is not stocking them any more so they are clearing out all stocks.

cheers, roo

PS. If transport and storage is not to big an issue, definitely get 1 peice rods. I've been using 2 pce for years and now i have 1 pce, I'm amazed at how much crisper the feel of the rod is. definitely worth the hassle.

For Steve
20-03-2007, 04:49 PM
I use a Rack Raider 6'8" 3-5kg 2 piece with a Stradic 2500 which I find it to be a fantastic outfit. I agree that a 1 piece offers a better action and feel provided you can transport it ok.

jm82
20-03-2007, 06:09 PM
I use a 7foot 6 raider and love it to death, i picked it up for $89 about 2 xmas ago. i got a stradic 2500 on it and have been using it to chuck softies at mac tuna and it has stood up to the task lovely it is a tad long but when it comes to casting light lures and jig heads ,that bitta extra lenght in the rod has really helped

Josh

candogu
20-03-2007, 06:17 PM
go the raider,,, bang for $$$ you will not be disapointed ;D

NOjacks
20-03-2007, 07:34 PM
i brought a mojico 2-5 kg 2pce rod from the shop with the snake a week or so ago for $50 down from $179 matched with a 2500 td sol i think its nicer than my sick stic

NOjacks

21-03-2007, 07:53 PM
Nice rod the rack raider ...... as a SP bream rod ! (Thats what I use):) However for Jacks in the snags it just too light for my way of thinking! ........ Now here is a left field one:o ...... Just recently I picked up a Rovex Karbonite MX701 SP as a Back up, Back up ...... So while it is not a liteweight SP rod ... It would be perfect as a rod to throw bigger SPs (shads on 1/16 jig heads & heavier) for flatties or Lures (Jackall TN60s size up) ....... Even better because it has a solid graphite tip ..... Ideal to throw prawnstars , flatz ratz , terminators , C Lures etc for Jacks in the snags ........ 8-) Now the lowdown ,,,,,,2-4kg , Nice thick cork grip , Fuji guides , 7ft & robust (maybe considered a little heavy in weight ) ..... but I'm gunna flog the snags up Hinchinbrook next month with SPs for Jacks with this rod :D I will post a review! ... NAGG

Murph77
21-03-2007, 08:34 PM
I have a 6'8" raider in a two piece that I use as my travel rod when I'm away with work. It's a nice allrounder rod but I definately prefer my 6'6" T-curve (1 piece) which I run with a 2500 shimano stradic. Very, very sweet to use, nice outfit. Always go the 1 piece if you can get away with it.

GPB
21-03-2007, 09:05 PM
No April Fools joke: Sundown Marine and a certain store will have Raiders for $99 at different times, adds in QFM::) ;D ;D ;D

HH17L
21-03-2007, 09:25 PM
I just purchased a Wilson Live Fibre rod (LFLS303), it is a one piece, 5'10 2-3kg spinning rod. I found it in a store with three letters in thier name for $50, retail was $129. I have matched it with a Team Daiwa 3000cu reel. Had a flick in the Pine River early in the week, managed a couple of decent bream & a 51 cm lizard with no problems, very nice feel to it. If you search your nearest store you may find one.

Andrew.:)

21-03-2007, 09:26 PM
Nice rod the rack raider ...... as a SP bream rod ! (Thats what I use):) However for Jacks in the snags it just too light for my way of thinking! ........ Now here is a left field one:o ...... Just recently I picked up a Rovex Karbonite MX701 SP as a Back up, Back up ...... So while it is not a liteweight SP rod ... It would be perfect as a rod to throw bigger SPs (shads on 1/16 jig heads & heavier) for flatties or Lures (Jackall TN60s size up) ....... Even better because it has a solid graphite tip ..... Ideal to throw prawnstars , flatz ratz , terminators , C Lures etc for Jacks in the snags ........ 8-) Now the lowdown ,,,,,,2-4kg , Nice thick cork grip , Fuji guides , 7ft & robust (maybe considered a little heavy in weight ) ..... but I'm gunna flog the snags up Hinchinbrook next month with SPs for Jacks with this rod :D I will post a review! ... NAGG

FORGOT TO MENTION ....... $100 :o :o :o 8-) NAGG

devocean
21-03-2007, 09:48 PM
Thanks for the replies guys excellent information and some great all round view points. I just wish i could go to a tackle shop with a handfulk of my favourite lures and grab their rods and go out the back for a flick to see which one was the best. I will keep you all posted when I pop its cherry

devocean
21-03-2007, 09:51 PM
NAGG I wont be chasing jscks with this rod Ill leave that up to my Barra Magnum it was just unfortunate I hooked a jack the other day on the light rod. Goodluck in hinchinbrook though

ffejsmada
24-03-2007, 11:04 AM
they have $199 marked on them but when they scan at the register they come up @ $149. so i got both rods for 75 bucks a piecehttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif the standard (blue blank) sic stik is on special too so would work out even

Orby,
Mate how much were the Strudwick sic stick pro's each?

You said they had $199 on them yet at the register it come up at $149, yet you got the rods for $75 each.

After reading your post, they sound like ok rods, I'm gonna try and pick one up, but I want my info correct so I can haggle with the staff at the store we wont mention.

Thanks mate.

candogu
24-03-2007, 03:22 PM
Thanks for the replies guys excellent information and some great all round view points. I just wish i could go to a tackle shop with a handfulk of my favourite lures and grab their rods and go out the back for a flick to see which one was the best. I will keep you all posted when I pop its cherry

Why not ask your local tackle shop if you could,,, You mite be surprised;) ..