View Full Version : intrcoolers

hoga
19-03-2007, 08:16 PM
i have a chance to get a custom made one fits behind gill for my 4.2 d turbo ute will it improve power for towing

RCG008
19-03-2007, 08:22 PM
What sort of car? I guess maybe cruiser. Always a hot debate. I reckon if you ever get the chance to get one made cheap it is worth it. At speed it will defintely help your towing a lot. Low speed cant see it making a huge difference. I imagine it is more a torque increase than anything.

I dont have one, wish I did, but which type. Top mount or front mount. So many ideas. I think I would lean to top mount for my 80 series cruiser. But a lot of screwing around.

Im sure someone will steer you one way or an another.

hoga
19-03-2007, 08:31 PM
its a patrol ithought front would be better as u dont get the heat from the motor may be u lose power the loger the turbo has to push the air dont know

RCG008
19-03-2007, 08:43 PM
Heard both of those. Heat sink is an issue. But with a decnt scoop I couldnt see it being a problem. On the crusier it just seems the logical place to run them. Turbo-Intercooler-intake with very little hose to take away air-flow. Unsure bout the patrol setup though. The deisels dont get that hot anyway.

A lot of cars run top mount. All Subaru's have from factory for a long time now and it dosnt seem to worry them. I could see front mount being cheaper. No bonnet work. But I havnt priced any so its only guessing. The little patrols dont seem to have any problems with top mounts. Have you tried a nissan patrol forum?

Brett1907
20-03-2007, 01:24 PM
Front mount is definately better than top mount. The manufacturers who produce top mounts do it mainly due to economic reasons. BUT...

If the tank is too big for the turbo/boost you are running, or there is too much pipng and it is too large a diameter you can actually end up with less power. After you get a front mount fitted it is always good to get the car tuned. I have seen this in jap imort cars. A guy who works for me just got one on his Stagea, went slower until he had it tuned. Now it goes much better.

Also, just because its custom doesn't mean its good. It took 3 custom exhausts on my wifes car to find a guy who actually knew what he was doing. A mate of mine had the same problem with his ute.

Do some research into the reputation of the guy doing the work. Make sure he knows what he is doing.

evo wagon
21-03-2007, 03:15 PM
go a water to air cooler heaps more better then front or top mounts. a good pwr water to air barrel will set you back 550

BenDover
28-03-2007, 08:58 AM
I second that evo!!! Water to air definatly way to go $1800 kit and half a day to fit. Small, easy and no lag at all. With intercoolers bigger is not always better and most of the time uncomfortable to drive. The more area of air to pressurise the worse and longer the lag. Thats why rexies top mount intercoolers are so good and very efficient. Only other thing you can do is depending on your size of tyres, change your diff gears. Patrol 4.2 td go 4.6 diff gears but have to change both front and rear. Makes a difference.

sempre
29-03-2007, 07:23 PM
Had one custom made for mine (4.2 Patrol wagon ) if you want a look PM me and will give you the details .
Sam...

Roughasguts
01-04-2007, 07:42 PM
Anyone tried a inter cooler on a non turbo car?
Surely cooling any intake air will make a differance, just wondering how much differance it would make to a naturally aspirated Pajero.

Poor thing needs all the help it can get.