View Full Version : r.i.p chug bug

nuggstar
19-03-2007, 07:56 AM
i went out to twin waters on saturday for a flick but did not land a thing:(. i spent most of the time i had lobbing a mid size eddeys popper around with no luck:'( but i did have a huge look:o, then a big swurl under the popper . it turned my legs to jelly what ever it was, it was huge. i changed poppers and put on a storm saltwater chug bug. thinking the thinner profile and flash on the tail might triger a strike. i cast back out landing just in front of the whurl pool the weir makes, i then made two quick pops then BANG i was SMASHED :owhat ever it was it was not stopping, it pulled the 8kg braid of my bait caster even with the locked up drag and sh-t loads of thum pressure striaght in to the weir :oand then it was over with a big crack as the braid parted on the oysters:'(. i wish new what it was but im guessing it was a big gt . im going to give it another crack this saturday coming so hopefuly i can hook that fish and get my popper back. i will be there from 2pm onwards so if ya wanna come down and have a flick and a chat just look for the fella chuging a popper with a shimano hat on

kingtin
19-03-2007, 08:28 AM
just look for the fella chuging a popper with a shimano hat on

How do you fit a shimano hat onto a popper? ;) ;D

nuggstar
19-03-2007, 08:56 AM
verry carefuly hehe

slyman
19-03-2007, 11:23 AM
Thats one big popper...

imnotoriginal
19-03-2007, 06:25 PM
BUGGER! There's always next time mate, and chances are I'll be there with you! What way was the current going, in or out?
Joel

nuggstar
21-03-2007, 07:35 AM
going out but the fish still kept busting up on the inside section

imnotoriginal
21-03-2007, 08:05 PM
Strange, you'd think it'd be on the outside, cause the water flwing out that way would be bringing more food toward them.... Do you have permission from the ball and chain for fishing this weekend?
Joel

nuggstar
22-03-2007, 08:24 AM
yes yes yes yes

nuggstar
22-03-2007, 08:25 AM
yes yes yes yes yes

fishingnottaken
22-03-2007, 09:06 AM
where's twin waters?

imnotoriginal
22-03-2007, 08:03 PM
Sunshine Coast, northern side of the maroochy river
Joel

MORFIN
22-03-2007, 08:25 PM
Hi nuggstar, those chug bugs definatley get those fish going I reckon you go out & buy another or two. I have been chuggin for about 8 years & 90% of my most memorable catches have been on a cug bug. Sorry you lost that fish but tie another one on & they will be back.

PETE MATE

nuggstar
23-03-2007, 04:59 PM
your a ledgen PETE that was my last one i had and the third popper i have lost to a fish this year and its sending me broke

land-lubber
23-03-2007, 07:20 PM
I might catch ya down there , wat time ya goin? i have to work inthe middle of the day, butmightbe up for a late arvo sesh. btw ive movedto blibli, so niceand close m8

nuggstar
23-03-2007, 10:58 PM
joel and i will be there at 1.30 pm saturday till late arvo

chief
24-03-2007, 06:27 AM
best of luck mate,I hope you can keep him out this time.Looking foward to part 2