View Full Version : suzuki 140hp

krazyfisher
15-03-2007, 03:32 PM
I am thinking of getting a suzuki 140hp 4/s reasons are
sound levels
fuel usage
longer range
max hp is 140

has anyone got good or bad points on this motor?
and I have been quoted $16940 with SS prop how does that sound.
thanks

Far side
15-03-2007, 05:08 PM
Yep have one pick up new boat tomorrow with df 140 in the back and stainless prop

Cost on boat 15592
fitting 616
stainless prop 640

16848 total

From what I have been told they are awsome

Did a bit of research from what I can tell quite a few guys have them I loved the brocure it was quite specific about the design and how they went about it.
The unit has a bigger altenator which when trolling and running electrionics puts a good charge into the battery.
Give us a month or 2 and I will really know how good this motor is

indy
15-03-2007, 05:10 PM
Don't know about the price as mine come with the boat but you wont be sorry very quiet great on fuel start first time every time. I am pushing a 6m sportfish and i average around 52 to 55 litres for a trip of around 40 nautical miles which is about 74 kilometres.

Anything else you may want to no pm me
cheers pete...

insideout
15-03-2007, 05:54 PM
have 2 of them pushing my kevlacat and are top engines!! getting about 40 ltrs per hr for both on a crusing speed of about 26 - 30 knots.

INTIMIDATOR
15-03-2007, 06:41 PM
All good from me!
They just tricked them up a little.
Changed air intake/gear ratio and a few other bit's , they seem to go a little harder on our more recient boat test's.
Bottom line mate money very well spent you won't be sorry!
Cheer's Payney

marco
15-03-2007, 07:09 PM
yea , as everyone else said great engine , great fuel and so quite . if you are going ss prop consider the 4 blades in eithier 17p or 19p as they made a big difference as far as torque in the mid range .

mark

mirage
15-03-2007, 09:13 PM
Got a DF175, very happy with it.

frank100
15-03-2007, 11:04 PM
Got a df140, 3 1/2 yrs ago on a Barcrusher 6.1, 20lt/hr @ 4000rpm, very quite at idle, starts first time every time. I run a 19" ss prop. BUT read the thread on the trailerinig bracket.

Frank

16-03-2007, 04:58 AM
Once you've had black you wont go back.....................

julian1
16-03-2007, 03:11 PM
have 2 of them pushing my kevlacat and are top engines!! getting about 40 ltrs per hr for both on a crusing speed of about 26 - 30 knots.

i would have thought a little better than that? what sort of rev range is it when your sitting on 26 knots ? must be calm water when you can cruise at 30knots !

rumy1
16-03-2007, 04:10 PM
I have a 140 pushing a Haines Signature 5.42 (all new) @ 5000 rpm's I am sitting on 30 kn's ...... done that last Friday morning at 3.00am from Gladstone to Sykes Reef - 85km's - bloody great mate !!! Different story coming home on Friday arvo but.
Buy one is my vote !!!

insideout
16-03-2007, 09:00 PM
gday julian1 ,26 knots going through some of the most choppy s@#t the bay has to offer , and i was being conservative on the 30 knots, hell when i want to get home fast after a big day 40 - 45 knots wot is not out of the question on a good day trimmed out and running heavy. Do not know what the figures are in that case, but cannot be all that good in hyper-drive mode. Going out tomorrow and will keep a eye on the commander gauges to get a estimate.

GAD
16-03-2007, 09:46 PM
I got the 115 suzi great reliable and economical

leezor
16-03-2007, 10:22 PM
Insideout, how do you find the commander gauges? I ended up taking mine back to the dealer and having the standard gauges fitted. Found them to be extremely unreliable and the fuel flow innacurate. I am In the process of getting th NMEA setup for my DF225 to read fuel burn etc through my new Lowrance GPS.

I had my DF225 at WOT for around 20 minutes last weekend, don't know how fast I was going cos the speedo needle was off the gauge and my GPS was not onboard, but would have been easily doing over 40 knots in pretty good conditions coming back from Rattlesnake Island in Cleveleland bay.

insideout
18-03-2007, 07:29 PM
Leezor, its something i think suzuki could have taken more time on because i have had problems from the gauges as well more than once.Although they are working now, to be sure of a accurate reading , now i am using the furuno gps and the good old dipping stick to work out the averages again! Let me know how you get on mate!!

doublexl
22-03-2007, 11:49 AM
My Mate Has Just Fitted A 140 Xl To His Plate Boat,very Nice Motor.
He Got It From Mr T"s Tinnies In Brissy,he Paid $16,300 Fitted With Stainless Prop.they Are So Quiet &economical With Plenty Of Power.good Luck Mate,i Dont Think You Can Go Wrong

Kerry
22-03-2007, 01:30 PM
I have a 140 pushing a Haines Signature 5.42 (all new) @ 5000 rpm's I am sitting on 30 kn's ...... done that last Friday morning at 3.00am from Gladstone to Sykes Reef - 85km's - bloody great mate !!! Different story coming home on Friday arvo but.
Buy one is my vote !!!

Brave man at that time of the morning?

Kerry
22-03-2007, 01:32 PM
What's the general hours run on these 140's?

Shanoss
22-03-2007, 01:36 PM
I dunno Kerry, most people up this way would probably be doing that speed on the way out to the reef early in the morning. Just try to put the trees out of your mind is all. It does seem a little crazy at times though i must admit.

saurian
22-03-2007, 01:51 PM
Kerry , some blokes up here 70 nm in 2 hrs or under in the dark.
I cruise 25 odd knots in dark ,
Mates done 900 odd hrs in 3/4yrs , with albino suzi over west.
Only problem wiring loom burnt out , one off problem he's been told.
Ta

Kerry
22-03-2007, 01:55 PM
I doubt if anybody really wants to know what I think about wacks who mindlessly zoom around in the dark at 25-30 knots.

And you probably don't want to know either!

Shanoss
22-03-2007, 02:02 PM
Ah Kerry, of course we want to know mate! And when did "holding back" become on of your traits?

Kerry
22-03-2007, 02:07 PM
But was reading some comments from a guy the other day with regard a pair of 140's.

He tried to remove the lower units (twin DF140's) to do the water pumps and the legs wouldn't come off. Ended up having to remove the powerheads to replace corroded bushes in the mid driveshaft housing. The brush housing was apparently corroded right through, exhaust inlcuded and required an almost complete engine dismantle to replace the housing.

Engines were 4 years old, done 500 hours. Not a good thing to happen with motors this age?

saurian
22-03-2007, 02:10 PM
Kerry , yes not really a wise thing to do , but that extra hr or 2 pulling red fish
up does really stupid things to people, bit like the barra bug .
Pay thousands of dollars to pull those red things up and into the boat, great isn't???
Ta.

Kerry
22-03-2007, 02:12 PM
Ah Kerry, of course we want to know mate! And when did "holding back" become on of your traits?

:D My guess is you probably know the words anyway ;D

But one of the best ones I've seen was a 6m platey with twin 115's "parked" accross the back deck of an 18 foot Hydrofield. Might I say the people in the Hydrofield jumped ship just before impact.

No mate everybody can generally shove their early morning and night time stupidity runs in the dark up their ...... ...... :-X

saurian
22-03-2007, 02:14 PM
Kerry , what did he do , leave the legs down in marina ????
Ta.

Kerry
22-03-2007, 02:18 PM
Kerry , yes not really a wise thing to do , but that extra hr or 2 pulling red fish
up does really stupid things to people, bit like the barra bug .
Pay thousands of dollars to pull those red things up and into the boat, great isn't???
Ta.

Yes mate, just don't cross paths, blind mans bluff at night :o
http://www.cqnet.com.au/~user/aitken/gen/night.jpg

Kerry
22-03-2007, 02:21 PM
Kerry , what did he do , leave the legs down in marina ????
Ta.

Dunno? like all pro's and con's on boards like this one really never hears the whole story, historical blow by blow details, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

saurian
22-03-2007, 02:27 PM
Oh Kerry your just as wacked as us guys , 4500/4600 rpm at night.
Good to see, Thast you once where a hoon , like us lot.....lol...lol..
Ta.

Kerry
22-03-2007, 02:38 PM
Oh Kerry your just as wacked as us guys , 4500/4600 rpm at night.
Good to see, Thast you once where a hoon , like us lot.....lol...lol..
Ta.

Nah came the time in this particular situation to either sit tight and get beat up or run, one of those situations where really neither choice is what one wants to do. Rather different to starting off with the ramp pack at 3am with everybody going helter skeltor in all and any direction.

That's the one and only time we have ever had to run in the dark. As you can see it's not real clever.

I'm probably more concerned about what's "in" or jsut under the water not "on" the water.

saurian
22-03-2007, 02:44 PM
Agree about the just under bit , always thinking of big fat turtles......
But I just can't help it if I'm a rat packer getting redfish syndrome...
Ta

Shanoss
22-03-2007, 04:53 PM
Agree about the just under bit , always thinking of big fat turtles......
But I just can't help it if I'm a rat packer getting redfish syndrome...
Ta

I hear if you hit 'em hard enough you dont even notice. about 40kn is agood start

perko
22-03-2007, 05:54 PM
Been some good deals on 140 johno's at the moment. heard another shipment coming and that will be it. been sold around $12k.

Shanoss
22-03-2007, 07:30 PM
:D My guess is you probably know the words anyway ;D

But one of the best ones I've seen was a 6m platey with twin 115's "parked" accross the back deck of an 18 foot Hydrofield. Might I say the people in the Hydrofield jumped ship just before impact.

No mate everybody can generally shove their early morning and night time stupidity runs in the dark up their ...... ...... :-X

nevermind.

Shanoss
22-03-2007, 07:33 PM
or it could be the camera flash. my mistake

leezor
22-03-2007, 07:36 PM
Nothing wrong with driving with the lights on Shane, how else are you supposed to read the paper on the way to the reef :)

Shanoss
22-03-2007, 07:38 PM
through a magnifying glass i expect Lee