View Full Version : shimano 6500 baitrunners

tassie
12-03-2007, 08:02 PM
im thinking about getting a shimano 6500 baitrunner with a wilson 8to10 kilo livefiber rod would it be a good offshore set up`

12-03-2007, 08:59 PM

Yes that'd be a great setup. Question is... what are you targeting with what style fishing?

tassie
13-03-2007, 06:16 PM
thanks Blackened i will mainly be using it on reefs and chasing makerel cobia snapper ect

cheers Tassie

13-03-2007, 09:49 PM
A great combination!

2iar
14-03-2007, 06:30 AM
I've got a similar combo to what you're after - only my rod's 8-15Kg. It's great though, I love it.

Good luck,

14-03-2007, 07:47 AM
Great combo but personally I'd like the extra grunt of the 8 - 15kg, handy to have if you need it.

killitfillit
16-03-2007, 08:22 PM
i've got that combo with 10kilo shogun mono and use it for everything offshore................great allrounder

Rod Fishing
17-03-2007, 12:29 AM
great for snapper but if you get a big cobia watch your rod they tend to break especially if a shark grabs the cobe

Tony_N
17-03-2007, 06:14 AM
Tassie

I have both the rod and the reel that you mention. I bought it as an outfit but I now use the rod with a daiwa reel for throwing slugs and the reel with a heavier rod for floatlining. I found that the reel was too heavy for the rod for my purposes. When you have a look at them in the tackle shop put them together and see if you think it is a balanced outfit.

The suggestions above for the 8-15kg rod are good i reckon. Though I'm not a great fan of the quality control in the making of the Wilson rods. The first one I bought had a misalignment between the reel seat and the runners. The replacement was better but not completely aligned. Mine is also a bit butt-sloppy for bigger fish. Does cast a slug a country mile though.

The baitrunner is a very heavy reel and is only worth having if you are specifically going to use the baitrunning function frequently - ie for floatlining. For bottom-bashing or casting lures there are more comfortable reels around. If you are committed to a baitrunner and the lighter rod - have a look at the 4500 baitrunner

FWIW

tassie
22-03-2007, 06:47 PM
Thanks everybody for the replies think i might have to bcf and make a few deals on 1 or maybe even 2
cheers tassie

reel scream
25-03-2007, 05:11 PM
G'day Tas,

I use the 6500 floating baits down a berley trail and it works great. Have to agree with Tony about the weight. I would prefer to be using the 4500 as the 6500's weight gives me the sh!ts after a couple of hours.

Great real for large fish though. Use it for Cobes without a problem.

Hows the new boat? Any trips out?

Cheers Scott

25-03-2007, 06:34 PM
G'day Tas,

I use the 6500 floating baits down a berley trail and it works great. Have to agree with Tony about the weight. I would prefer to be using the 4500 as the 6500's weight gives me the sh!ts after a couple of hours.

Ditto. I use the 6500 almost exclusively for floatlining as well as it is a heavy reel to be using in your hands all day long. Accordingly, I don't get too fussy about having it on an expensive rod because most of the time it just sitting in a rod holder. Like others have mentioned here, I just use that 8 ft Wilson rod for throwing slugs with a fast reel these days.

Carbon fibre rods are brittle though. Don't bend them too sharply at the end untangling your line like I once did as they snap without warning. Ouch!!:(

For active fishing in the bay, I use a smaller, non-bait runner Shimano which is much lighter.

Having said that though, the 6500 bait-runner is a great reel. You will get better prices than BCF if you shop around.

25-03-2007, 08:18 PM
Mate there built for catching snapper, one of the best reels for floating a bait or livey out with.

HH17L
25-03-2007, 08:42 PM
Tassie, I have a Live Fibre for sale at the moment. I'ts a 10-15kg rod though,

Andrew.

jm82
26-03-2007, 06:47 PM
Mate i dont think you could get a better priced combo for floatlining or even a bit of light spinning . Unless you wanna really blow out the budget

Josh

fish_on
27-03-2007, 08:29 AM
great combo mate but get the 10 - 15kg rod

3Vs
28-03-2007, 03:03 PM
great combo mate but get the 10 - 15kg rod

Yeh - what he said.

eimeo
28-03-2007, 03:46 PM
i have a 4500 baitrunner and have had it for years- matched to a 15kg silstar powertip 661swh.i worked with a guy who was a gun fisherman in townsville and wanted a good alround setup-barra/boat and he helped me pick out the combo.I find it great offshore floating/bottom bashing ,even spinning.I cant speak highly enough of shimano baitrunners.they are a very good quality reel in any size that will last you for many years.mines going on7 years only had 1 service -looks in vgc.i am looking at a 6500 for a beach rig set up

dave

Zante
30-03-2007, 12:44 PM
I use mine LBG and I think its fantastic.