View Full Version : SHARKS off woody point
kingcobe
12-03-2007, 06:36 PM
Dad (kingtin) and I decided to go for a fish go for the turn of the tide at 9.30. We launched at Deep Water Bend and headed for woody point reef.
After 5hrs of fishing we had been busted off 7 times and had hauled a few nice whalers. We caught 2 flatty's that were 36 cm and 38 cm but dad doesn't keep any flaty's under 40 cm. We got 7 bream, 2 sweetlip and 5 tarwhine but not one squire. These were all around 20 to 28cm but dad doesn't keep bream under 30 so it was a good job we got the shark.
There was hardyheads everywhere and it was cool watching the sharks rip into them and I saw a big manta leap too. At first we were having no luck with the sharks till dad said to match the hatch so we downsized from whole pillies to herring and half pillies and then the sharks started hitting us. We fished for them in 10 ft of water with gang 4/0s on a float fished 5 ft under the float.
We only kept 3 shark and dad said i did real well to catch one of them on 6lb line and a 1/0 gamakatsu hook which was meant for the bream.
We have enough flake to last us a week or two and mum loves it. dad is cleaning them now and said that I could do the report.
josh
Josh
cobiaman
12-03-2007, 06:54 PM
well done mate, some nice flake there, its a shame about the shirt though...
BasS_BandiT
12-03-2007, 07:06 PM
Well done Josh great effort on 6lb line would put a lot of us old blokes to shame and you keep on supporting the best footy team ever mate also keep up the good work with the fishing and the great reports too.
Cheers David
vb4me
12-03-2007, 07:13 PM
Wot a top days fishing. And an excellent report to josh. Well done mate:)
bballfisho
12-03-2007, 07:29 PM
wish i could catch some of the buggers tired of being busted off.
well done on the catch mate some nice little sharkies
hooknose
12-03-2007, 07:45 PM
Good onya princetin(josh)
Keep on slaying em mate !!!
imnotoriginal
12-03-2007, 07:53 PM
Top catch and top shirt!
Joel
Good work mate, we also got some there on Sat morning in about 12 ft water, released them though, good fun on light gear, but 6lb line that is a great effort.
Well done.
Fez
kingcobe
12-03-2007, 09:35 PM
should have said that I did have 30lb leader to hook when I caught the shark on 6lb line. It was still good though because it took about 50 metres of line and I still got it back to the boat twice because dad missed the gaff shot ;D
josh
supertinny
13-03-2007, 05:22 AM
nice one mate
those little sharks are great fun .
did any of them jump when hooked
lumox
13-03-2007, 06:40 AM
top catch top report mate. they are tuff fighters let alone on the light gear
Synful
13-03-2007, 07:36 AM
Well done Josh!!
Top effort that and don't let anyone tell you anything bad about that shirt!
I wear my jersey proudly up here in Cairns where there is probably 80% Cowboys supporters; 6 premierships since 1988 is proof enough of their talent and depth. Not too many other clubs that can boast that ;D 8-) ;D 8-) ;D.
Murph77
13-03-2007, 08:14 AM
Nice catch there mate and I love the shirt, go you broncos
Great work and report Josh and it looks like dad has instilled some good habits with sizes! Well done KINGTIN!!
Go the SEAEAGLES though....
Take Care T
kingtin
13-03-2007, 09:00 AM
did any of them jump when hooked
Yeh they kind of tail walked which really surprised me
josh
kingcobe
13-03-2007, 09:04 AM
sorry dad was still logged in when i posted
josh
geoff72
13-03-2007, 11:36 AM
nice couple of noahs there mate,well done,would have been great fun.
13-03-2007, 11:37 AM
I reckon you have done real well Josh, they will be a good feed too !
Don't worry about those blokes knocking your Broncos shirt, my son is only 6 (also named Josh) and he wears his Bronco's shirt all the time !
It would have been great to see all those small sharks in the water !
mickstar001
13-03-2007, 11:38 AM
Great shirt josh, the sharks arent bad either mate.
Mickstar
madmackrel
13-03-2007, 12:09 PM
;D Good on ya Josh , good to see a young fella gettin into it. Cheers MM8-)
sharkbaithoohaha
13-03-2007, 12:56 PM
Well done Josh.Top effort on the light gear.May I also say how nice it is to see a young person today, writing using correct punctuation and Grammar.( Not that I can talk).Well done.
Oh ansd Synful,there is a team that can better that.GO THE DRAGONS!!!!!
13-03-2007, 03:47 PM
Good one Josh,
You did real well getting one in on 6lb (even if you had a decent leader)
Better get dad to have some practise shots with the gaff in the backyard on a sand bag or something.
Good on you Kev for teaching the young fella some decent scrooples as well :)
Go the bunnies in '07 :D
kingtin
13-03-2007, 04:54 PM
sorry dad was still logged in when i posted
josh
May I also say how nice it is to see a young person today, writing using correct punctuation and Grammar.( Not that I can talk).Well done.
You were saying mate? ;D
For Steve
13-03-2007, 05:48 PM
Josh - I love your shirt mate.
Top work catching those sharks, especially on light gear. It's great reading reports with Dad and Son going fishing together. I'm looking forward to doing it with my son one day. My little boy is 4 months old so he's still a bit small don't you think?
It sounds like your Dad has good fishing tips to pass on to you. Make sure you keep listening to him.
Go Lockie and the boys.
Be good,
Brad
pegasus
13-03-2007, 07:50 PM
well done guys- sounded like a great session on the water with great feed for home- would have to agree, Josh thats good going on such light gear-awesome
Seagull
13-03-2007, 08:35 PM
Good report Josh, keep them coming. I caught a couple last week around the same area but they where very tiny.
Your Dad is giving you a great standard for fish sizes
It's a pity about your footy standard"Go the TITANS"
sharkbaithoohaha
14-03-2007, 09:48 AM
You were saying mate? ;D
And it was all going so well.;D
kingtin
14-03-2007, 12:32 PM
And it was all going so well.;D
That post was 9pm and he'd been dong school work all day, so I think I'll let him off on that one ;D
14-03-2007, 07:09 PM
good effort Josh and tell ya dad to sharpen the bloody gaff.
kingcobe
14-03-2007, 07:25 PM
My little boy is 4 months old so he's still a bit small don't you think?
It won't be long until he is catching big marlin.;DLOL
Josh
kingcobe
14-03-2007, 07:28 PM
good effort Josh and tell ya dad to sharpen the bloody gaff.
It's not that the gaff wasn't sharp it is that he didn't take the cork off
Josh
kingcobe
14-03-2007, 07:33 PM
I would like to thank you all for your replies but the main thing i would like to say is Cowboys are good, Titans are better but the Broncos are the best.
Josh
Go the broncos
jim_bream
15-03-2007, 07:38 AM
Josh,
excellent report mate! Had a few of those shark out from the mouth of Nudgee Creek.
By the way-
GO THE BRONCOS!!!!!!!!!!
15-03-2007, 08:23 AM
I would like to thank you all for your replies but the main thing i would like to say is Cowboys are good, Titans are better but the Broncos are the best.
Josh
Go the broncos
Are you going to watch the Titans on the wek-end??
kingcobe
15-03-2007, 07:33 PM
Are you going to watch the Titans on the wek-end??
No I usually just watch the footy at home, and even if I was going it would probably be to the mighty Broncos. So i will be sitting at home watching Broncos dominate most of the season. I might go to a few games later on in the season.
What about you?
Josh
15-03-2007, 08:40 PM
I'm just an armchair 'expert' matey
I don't like crowds at all... :(
gulletmut
17-03-2007, 07:19 AM
I am new to the northside. Where is this Woody Point reef? I have a 4.3m tinnie. Would it be accessible to me?
kingtin
17-03-2007, 09:00 AM
I am new to the northside. Where is this Woody Point reef? I have a 4.3m tinnie. Would it be accessible to me?
Refidex Map 91 bottom right of page. Josh and me access it from deepwater bend (refidex page 100 bottom left of page) in a 3.95 stacer.
Although a longer run, this enables us to have somewhere else to fish (Pine River) should the wind get up and we have to run for cover.
If long days aren't your thing, it is better to access it from the ramps shown nearby in the refidex. That way you can stick it out for a little longer and if it becomes too uncomfortable, then you only have a short run to a ramp, particularly the ones on page 91 R13, M18, and F18.
I recommend that you view these ramps at low water and also that you first trip to the reefs should be at a king or big low. That way you can familiarise yourself with where the reefs are because some of them sit just below the surface on the flood and a few tinnies have come to grief there. Just travel slowly in the vicinity, watch the sounder and have a deckie watch for swirls or breaking water that indicates reef.
I'm not trying to be alarmist here, and make the area out to be dangerous, just exercise common sense and things will be fine.
There are also productive patches of reef further north at Redcliffe and Scarborough which can be accessed by local ramps and if you pose questions regarding these in the saltwater section, then those members more familiar with those reefs will answer you.
Whereabouts Northside are you?