View Full Version : Wahts Happening in the Pumicestone Passage?
Mullet Musketeer
11-03-2007, 02:11 PM
I have not seen any reports from the Passage lately and was thinking of heading up for an early morning session later in the week. Has anyone had any success off the bank there lately? Is the weed still around? Any info would be appreciated.
smiley_doobinator
11-03-2007, 04:02 PM
I can't verify this but someone told the passage has little reefy areas all through it. He mentioned snapper, cod etc. Don't know how true it is but i am going in a few weeks time to have a sound around. I am sure with a good surf rod and the right you may be able to reach one or two of these areas from the bank. I'll post what I find.
Feral
11-03-2007, 05:40 PM
Over there this morning, take a ticket and wait your turn. I was at Turner Camp beach with the kids (for a swim) and I counted 50 boats and more crab pot floats than I cared to count.
Lots of fresh weed on the beach as well.
I reckon that any fish that bit a hook would have been wanting to commit suicide to get away from all the noise!
Mullet Musketeer
11-03-2007, 07:53 PM
Thanks Feral - I consider the place out of bounds on weekends as far as fishing is concerned - there is just too much boat traffic - a mid week early morning is ok though - but not if the weed is everywhere.
armoz
11-03-2007, 09:31 PM
the weed is fine, most of it gone but plenty of fresh ath the moment.
get in and out early to beat the traffic, you should find a feed by 8am most days anyway
12-03-2007, 08:10 AM
well,,,, this ain't good,,, but factual,,,, number 2 son and i decided to take the new tinny for its maiden voyage yesterday morning,,,, and we threw a couple of rods in to make it look proffessional,,,, after catching up with a few ausfishers at the servo,,,, and a few more at the ramp,,,,we set off to the bottom end of the passage
floated around buckleys hole for an hour,,, 4 drifts,, 1 flattie 2 inches long,,,, 10 tonne of weed
went up to the bridge and had a couple of drifts back to the loch,,,, 1 toad,,,10 tonne of weed
then we decided to try the mouth of ningi as the tide was starting to settle,,,, sat there for an hour,,, no fish,,,,no weed,,,,10,000 crab pots,,, 500 boats
out of all the boats on the water,,, we didn't see (or hear) anything exciting being landed,,
no 2 son had another appointment up the surf side to keep,,, and brought back enough bait to keep us going for a while,, but again the weed created probs
one of the guys here at work spent the day around the top end of the passage and went down as far as coochin,,,, picking up a small feed and 1 gigant size mother of a muddy,,,, he brought the left overs in for lunch,,, but again nothing too exciting,,,
always next week
Kleyny
12-03-2007, 05:34 PM
last friday week went out for a night/ late arvy fish, got two good tings and lots of small fish (alltypes). for 6 hrs fishin with 7 rods out not real flash.
oh yer that was around the bottom end.
neil
Mullet Musketeer
12-03-2007, 08:14 PM
Thanks to all and especially Choppa for the detail - might try off the rocks at Noosa instead this week.
thedeckie
13-03-2007, 08:50 AM
I was up there Sunday morning(11/3), launched at 5am, headed out to a crab spot Freeedom had given me not far from bongaree jetty and dropped pots.
Then headed out around the mouth for 3 stingrays and a bucket load of weed.
Headed for Buckleys Hole for a drift and got nothing, headed down around the bridge, couple of small taps but still nothing, headed down around the Avon wreck for a drift, dodging thousands of pots on the way......nothing!!!!
Headed back to check pots, no crabs in pots, plenty of grinners,starfish,1 undersize flattie and about 4 million of those stripy little brown thingies, the pots looked more like trawler nets but suprisingly not a lot of weed caked up on them.
By this time It was getting hot and thirsty, beautiful morning anyway just to be on the water.
84mick
14-03-2007, 07:46 PM
I fished buckleys on Sunday from about 8am till 10 and got nothing, seen heaps of small sand crabs, a big stingray (scared the hell out of me) and a baby shovelnose (all of these where behind me in need deep water)
There was a heap of bait fish just at the drop off, something was making them jump like hell towards the shore????? Any ideas on what it could have been?
Cheers, Mick.
sambos
14-03-2007, 08:57 PM
I fished buckleys on Sunday from about 8am till 10 and got nothing, seen heaps of small sand crabs, a big stingray (scared the hell out of me) and a baby shovelnose (all of these where behind me in need deep water)
There was a heap of bait fish just at the drop off, something was making them jump like hell towards the shore????? Any ideas on what it could have been?
Cheers, Mick.
fished down there lots over years gone by . use to be a good spot for school jew possibly them.
84mick
15-03-2007, 05:41 PM
Thats what I was thinking sambos or maybe Queenfish, Tuna or Mac's of some kind :-/
I did notice that what ever was after them, it didnt jump out of the water at all. That might narrow it down a bit more
Mick.
sambos
15-03-2007, 07:43 PM
Thats what I was thinking sambos or maybe Queenfish, Tuna or Mac's of some kind :-/
I did notice that what ever was after them, it didnt jump out of the water at all. That might narrow it down a bit more
Mick.
with you saying no surface action i,m sticking to my original sugestion.
cast out a weighted live pike or herring and hang on::) . good luck
84mick
16-03-2007, 02:06 PM
I'm going out there tomorrow morning and if the same thing happens I'll head over to the bridge and pick up some pike and give it ago ;) , I'll post a report in the reports section tomorrow arvo.
Cheers, Mick.
Bob H
17-03-2007, 07:33 PM
nothing wrong in the passage ,you just need to know where to fish. still plenty to catch.bob h