View Full Version : Brissy River Session

Murph77
11-03-2007, 01:09 PM
Hey Guys,

After having a night out with the boys last night and getting home in the wee hours, I figured that I might as well stay up and head out for a sunrise session in the river. Woke the Mrs up to see if she was keen and off we went. Just a very quick session with a few trolls along the walls with hardbodies then drifting with the leccy along similar areas, flicking SP's. Action was pretty consistent until the sun got a bit high, heaps of small cod up to about 35cm (including the first ever cod for the lady) and a nice flatty even though we wern't really after them today.

Highlight (maybe lowlight) was getting smashed by something solid and I'm pretty sure I saw some nice crimson tones in amongst the strike which happened just after the SP landed. Anyway I had pitched the lure right in behind two big rocks that were positioned about 1m out from the main rock wall and he hit like a mack truck so it wasn't long before I was left with 6lb braid flying limply in the breeze and a set of trembling knees. Next time I'll see how he likes a bit of 15lb, maybe that will teach him a lesson!!!

Top conditions out there today, should have stayed longer but I was home by 8am for some shut eye.

Mullet Musketeer
11-03-2007, 01:29 PM
Good effort - it was pretty pleasant out there this morning - I think I saw you fishing along the wall - I was on the bank just along by the cement plant. I managed a few small bream on the Gulps - good to see a decent Flathead along there - its a while since I have had one down there.

gregdeeth
11-03-2007, 02:16 PM
better to have hooked and lost than to never have hooked at all

would have been a top morning to be out there

T1
11-03-2007, 02:44 PM
Gee MURPH, you are keen champ! i agree with GREGDEETH...

Take Care T

Murph77
11-03-2007, 03:44 PM
Mullet Musketeer:
G'day mate, yep I saw you up by the cement plant getting into a few. Do you fish up there often and how do you usually go? I imagine there would be quite a few bigger cod specimems in closer to those pylons with a bit more water depth, have you ever got a few decent ones out of there?

Bassjunky
11-03-2007, 04:14 PM
Where do you guys put the boat in? How far from the ramp to the walls?

Murph77
11-03-2007, 07:58 PM
Bassjunky:
Mate, today I put it in at Pinkenba then there's a wall directly opposite the ramp or its about 1min to the sunken wall. Also its only about 5min to the reclaimed section at the mouth where I got a couple today. Sometimes I put in at Morningside, especially if I'm on my own, which is an excellent ramp with a pontoon or there's also Fisherman Island - heaps of options

richieboy
11-03-2007, 08:40 PM
Good report Murph. I';ve caught some stonker cod along that drop off past the wall. Plenty there. Nice pics, the Mrs looks stoked.

Richie

fishytales
11-03-2007, 08:54 PM
Murph 77, I may have seen you this morning. I trolled up to the end of the sunken wall using SX40's and SP's. I got underway at 5.15am.
Caught 4 small cod, 3 keeper bream and a small flathead. I also got hammered by something big on a Gulp minnow I was trolling, but all others were caught on the sx40's.
A great day on the water, but I cannot handle being out there too long with this hot weather so I was back at Pinkenba ramp by 9.30.

ismail82
12-03-2007, 01:39 PM
Hi Murph 77,

I was out at the walls yesterday flicking SP's (3 inch gulp minnows and 2 inch gulp grubs) but all i managed was a couple of touches. no solid takes let alone any hook ups. went round to boggy creek for zilch as well although there was plenty of mullet jumping around.

Am i doing something wrong? Any advice/help is appreciated.

ismail

Murph77
12-03-2007, 08:39 PM
ismail82:
Not sure mate about the lack of success. i just try and use a jig head heavy enough to keep contact with the bottom in the current (eg yesterday I was fishing pretty shallow near the bottom of a small tide=light jighead). I also fish either right in tight to the rocks or back a bit and work any signifigant drop offs, no point working featureless ground usually. Having said that some days I get a big zilch, so its about putting in the time and trying to put as much as possible in your favour I guess - still beats working though!