View Full Version : Tailor on metals - treble or single hook?
Dart_Raider
10-03-2007, 10:18 AM
Hey everyone,
I was told by a guy at a tackle store once that when using metal slice lures (raiders etc) for Tailor, it is far more effective using a single hook rather than the customary treble. I don't know what his reasoning was, and I didn't ever try it out. I was just wondering if anybody has any experiences/opinions as to what is the most effective practice??
Thanks heaps,
Simmo
ffejsmada
10-03-2007, 11:04 AM
Simmo, I've thrown thousands of casts using chrome slices, slugs etc and have always used trebles. I've had no problem hooking up over the years. I will continue to use trebles as I dont understand why you would want a single hook on a fast retrieved metal.
One advantage of a single hook I suppose is that it would be easier to dehook the fish and would do less damage to the fish.
I dunno mate, trebles for me.;)
cobiaman
10-03-2007, 12:23 PM
when chasing mackeral we were losing a few on the trebles but since changing to single hooks we havent dropped one fish, so its single hooks for me!
robsue
10-03-2007, 04:23 PM
try using two hooks, put on shaft to shaft, it does work
Ryan.S
10-03-2007, 05:08 PM
Simmo, Spanyid lures has a Dvd out showing of the versatility of the Raider and Maniac's here in Hervey Bay. They only used a single hook while chasing Northern Bluefin, Mackeral, Golden Trevally and jigging for Reef fish. Didn't say why, except that when casting around rock etc that it would get you less snags and be easier to get of if you do snag it.
84mick
10-03-2007, 06:03 PM
I have been told that it is harder for the fish to throw the hook if its a single, I don't know why. I haven't heard of anyone saying not to use single hooks either, it makes you wonder though.
Cheers, Mick.
banshee
10-03-2007, 06:42 PM
Big Greenbacks often get some air and a single hook isn't as easy to throw with the weight of the slug thrashing about,two old blokes around hear use circles,Haven't tried it but they swear by it.
Pistol_P
10-03-2007, 09:47 PM
I have done heaps of high speed spinning off the rocks for pelagics and have always used trebles with good success.....
However more recently I have been using braid as the distance you can get is unbelievable....:o .....and I have found that the single hooks are more advantageous especially on mackeral.
With the braid being so unforgiving with the no-stretch factor I was pulling hooks(trebles) on fish very easily even with light drag settings.
The single hook seems to be a more secure hook up...and harder for them to throw.
Have also shifted from trebles to singles on all my metals. Usually one but some times 2 facing each other.
On the Rio's prawns that I use for flathead I've also gone to 1 single for ease of unhooking when the flattys have got it way down.
I have read in some articles that singles are harder to trow.
sleepygreg
11-03-2007, 12:42 AM
a couple of advantages for using single hooks(or two singles back to back) usually once they are hooked they rarely throw the hook, much easier to release hooked fish, singles are stronger than trebles, and for low action slugs - they give it a little action. Hookup rate is fractionally lower - but retention is higher. Especially using braid with pelagics because penetration is deeper.
Outdoor Guy
11-03-2007, 06:34 AM
Simmo just put up some posts regarding your question
to many to bring back so look at these and then do a search for tailor stuff and you should find all the info you need
also do a search in Tackle and accessories
ffejsmada
11-03-2007, 07:58 AM
Yeah, I suppose with trebles having three shanks bends and hooks, fish could get more leveraqe to enable them to throw the hook. Never thought of that before.
Dart_Raider
11-03-2007, 12:45 PM
Hey guys thanks for all your input!! I might try changing some of my metals to single hooks, or the two singles facing each other. Hopefully sometime soon i'll have a chance to experiment so as to see what works best.....(just need a hot tailor bite ).
Simmo
Dart_Raider
11-03-2007, 12:46 PM
Hey guys thanks for all your input!! I might try changing some of my metals to single hooks, or the two singles facing each other. Hopefully sometime soon i'll have a chance to experiment so as to see what works best.....(just need a hot tailor bite ::) ).
Simmo
jackash
11-03-2007, 02:35 PM
Jerry
Its asho. Mate get Slider onto this topic! He makes slider lures which comes with the two single hooks facing eachother. And while I'm still a big fan of raiders my opinion of sliders is increasing greatly. Caught some very nice tailor around 3-4lb on the lures last year, which is the best we've done yet, and i reckon it is due to the two singles.... seen kris lose a couple of monster jumping with the trebles!
Pistol_P
11-03-2007, 02:37 PM
Yeah, I suppose with trebles having three shanks bends and hooks, fish could get more leveraqe to enable them to throw the hook. Never thought of that before....
Mackeral are masters at throwing trebles I reckon.....The single hook fixes them right up!
krazyfisher
11-03-2007, 04:45 PM
first thing I do with new slugs is remove the treble and put on singles. I find it much better on tuna and macks
Dart_Raider
11-03-2007, 05:10 PM
Once again thanks for the info guys!
What kinda size hooks would you put on say a 20 gram, 40 gram and 65 gram slug??? Simmo
jackash
11-03-2007, 05:38 PM
Dunno if it'll affect casting with the smaller lures, but krisso and I tend to go with 4/0's for the 65's for tailor and 4/0 or 5/0's for the 85's
Chuckmeister
11-03-2007, 05:57 PM
A bloke I used to work with used to use a single hook on homemade poppers. He was sick and tired of losing poppers to GTs and Queenies that he made his own as cheap as possible. He would cut a broom handle in lengths, pop wire trace through the middle,then glue it . Only a single hook and didn't even bother painting it. The first time I saw his poppers I thought there was something wrong with him but I was quickly proved wrong. He had no trouble hooking up and they would stay hooked.
I still have trouble believing they used to work so well.:-/
geoff72
12-03-2007, 11:18 AM
have been told a single hook is harder to throw and gets a beeter connection/hook up
Sliders are being sold at Rogers at Carseldine