View Full Version : Hungry Jacks at Coomera
the gecko
06-03-2007, 10:37 AM
Hasn’t it been a top jack season this year? It was always looking like it was gonna be a bumper crop right from Sept, I reckon.
I nearly didn’t get away from the boat ramp last nite, after the battery failed to kick over the outboard. The battery wasn’t flat, as I had charged it a few days ago, so it must be all the rain and moisture in the air. A bit of wd40 under the cowling still didn’t do it, but after 30 mins of trying, I got it going with the backpack booster set.
Nothing on the popper or prawnstar, so I went to bait at the top of the tide. I landed a 44cm jack on mullet flesh, and the pulled 3 cod on the same bait. They went 37, 39, and 44cm. A bream came in 33cm to the fork at 840g, on mullet gut. What a session, I was very happy that the new Shimano rod attracts the red devil again, all in the same spot that I caught big jack in last week.
I guess you could say Hungry Jacks is now open at Coomera. That jump start kit is worth every bit of the $50 it cost. I very nearly gave up at the ramp, now after 2 jacks from 2 sessions, I think Im on a hatrick next week.
geoff72
06-03-2007, 10:55 AM
well done andrew,you would be getting this fish nervous each time they see you put the boat in,good quality fish,did you release any of them?
geoff
vb4me
06-03-2007, 11:13 AM
Man that is a nice haul. Well done.
Is envy wrong???
the gecko
06-03-2007, 12:58 PM
Hi Geoff,
I kept them all for the table. I dont keep everything, but humans are part of the foodchain too. Some fish are too good to knock back. Jacks are the best eating in the river, and cod is second best IMHO.
richieboy
06-03-2007, 01:47 PM
Nice stuff gecko. Good haul mate. What set up you using on the shimano rod?
Richie
the gecko
06-03-2007, 04:02 PM
Richie, the reels just a cheapy I got from ebay. A Forsyth 6000 baitrunner. 6 Kg braid, 40lb leader and gamma 2/0 circle hooks. I use a running sinker, and a quick change sinker clip, cos the current changes often in the river, and using the lightest possible sinker to hold bottom is pretty important.
Id been using frozen mullet fillets from the servo with bad results, so lately I changed to whole frozen mullet, 4 in a pack, still from the servo, and I thaw and fillet them on the boat. This makes a huge difference. I give them a few drops of ultrabite liquid as well. Of course, fresh mullet is better if you can get it.
kingtin
06-03-2007, 05:28 PM
You seem to have it well sussed down there Andrew. Well done mate.
Without giving anything away.........are you fishing the pontoons or do you have a spot in the Coomera proper. I gave it a go a short while back but the traffic drove me nuts. Didn't know the protocols for fishing in someone's back yards but some of the properties had impressive rock walls that looked like they may hold jacks.
gregdeeth
06-03-2007, 05:34 PM
nice work agian andrew, your getting some nice size up the coomera
the gecko
06-03-2007, 06:21 PM
Hi kingtin,
I fish rockwalls cos I fish nite, and often in current. pontoons work just as well, but you need light jigheads, and that means canals with little current, not the river proper.
There was a post here a week ago, with a guy cathing 5 jacks in one day from pontoons in the area. look for the new member in the berkley gear.
I fish in a lot of peoples back yards too, and the protocol is make as little noise as possible. I rarley use my engine, and try to use the electric as much as possible to get into position. I also dont take loudmouth mates to these spots, but Im happy to fish with ausfish guys.
A few guys showed me the ropes, and we should all do the same without giving too much away.
kingtin
06-03-2007, 07:18 PM
Thanks for that Andrew, I thought the case may just be as you have said. Overnighting down that way, I need to take the whittley and leave the tinny at home..........looks like a rubber ducky tender is on the cards if I'm ever to get myself a Jack down that way ;) ;D
the gecko
06-03-2007, 07:54 PM
Drop me a line Kev, and I will take you out. I see youve put in a few hours down this way for a guy who lives northside. If you can put up with a late night session, I can show you the jack haunts.
Murph77
06-03-2007, 07:55 PM
Great session by the looks gecko. I agree with the jacks being good eating
Dorado
06-03-2007, 09:00 PM
Well done on the fish! Some nice cod there too :) What type of rod do you use?
Dorado
the gecko
07-03-2007, 07:41 AM
Rod is a Shimano GTS, 6'6", 3-5kg. Just $44 at kmart. Id been experimenting with some stiffer and softer rods, and this one is just right for a bait setup. I only got it 2 weeks ago, and its caught 2 jacks now.
kingtin
07-03-2007, 11:11 AM
Drop me a line Kev, and I will take you out. I see youv put in a few hours down this way for a guy who lives northside. If you can put up with an old hippy, I can show you the jack haunts.
Thanks Andrew............2 questions
1. Can you fit the deckie and kids in your rig? ;D
2. How do I get this freakin' ball and chain off my ankle? ::) ;D
Old hippy eh? Well from another old hippy, here's a couple of lines from a song of Dylan's
"May you grow up to be righteous, may you grow up to be true. May you always know the truth and see the lights surrounding you. May you always be courageous, stand upright and be strong............. May you stay forever young." :D :D
marty_z
07-03-2007, 01:12 PM
Another good session Andrew - you really have that spot sussed now.
That would have to be your best session to date I would guess? Might be a lucky thing for the rest of us you only get to fish every now and then - might make the rest of us look a bit tardy ;D
Marty
the gecko
07-03-2007, 03:54 PM
Hi Marty,
you realise this is all your fault dont you?? Teaching me how to catch jacks....now Im addicted.
Yes, this is the best session, I suppose. Its hard to say whether a 44 jack and 3 cods is better than a 50 jack on its own? This one was in the same spot as the last one.
My missus invited 3 guests to dinner for next week, and promised fresh fish for all.....' andrew will just go out the nite before and bring home enough for all 5 of us' she says. I had to calm her down and remind her how many fishless nights Ive spent trying to work out these fish. ROFL. No pressure, huh. Dont worry Marty, I wont be keeping that many jacks even if I could get multiple catches. They can have cod, and Im sure they wont notice the difference after a few wines.