View Full Version : Mt.Mee 4x4 M&G Report

04-03-2007, 09:16 PM
Well the much anticipated event for '07 for the Ausfish explorers has finally happened and what a time we had. It all began with an idea and was well organized and implemented by our great organizer Lucky_Phill so once again a huge thanks on behalf of everyone who attended for the amount of work that was put into the trip. I thought I would get the post started same day because I just couldn't wait until tomorrow. ::)

The weekend started with all vehicles packed and on their way with a view to set up camp as early as possible so we could get more 4wd'ing time. Meeting time was roughly 10am at Mt.Mee and I have to say that considering most of us came from different directions we all seemed to be close to the time and were busy setting up camp. For me personally my day started with Cruiser93 (Mal & Family) meeting at my place and following me to our first meet up point being the Caltex servo at Carseldine where we were joined by Black_Rat (Damo) and Igutso (Mike&Bec). Setting off from there at a little after 9am we arrived at Mt.Mee just after 10am and the flurry of activity happened as soon as we arrived getting the camp set up in almost record time. Soon after Phill and crew turn up and organized the official campsite complete with Ausfish sign. Also arriving with Lucky_Phill and crew was The_Deckie (Paul and Liz) in his Navara AKA fuel sucking rocket. ;D

With the camp all set up we wasted no time in jumping in the cars and setting off on the first adventure. Loads of dust and some moderate to challenging hills were experienced but then we found "THE HILL" which was steep and all washed out. With fear in everyone's eyes we all watched in dismay as Phill (after having all of his passengers bail out) proceeded to send his "repaired" Navara up the hill crunching and grinding his way up slowly but surely. He did indeed make it all the way to the top and then left all the rest of the party shaking their heads mostly saying "That's mad, I am not going up there!" To show what Toyotas are made of Mal (Cruiser93) puts his Cruiser into gear and up he goes also with a full car load of passengers . Next thing Poodroo (Me) cranks life into his Pajero and selects low range and off he goes with son Kyle barracking excited chants. One word quickly came to mind as I started up the hill but I cannot type that word here beause this is a family site but you all get the idea. ::) Whilst doing the insane climb I saw Phill running down the hill because he discovered a lovely not so well positioned rock in the middle of the track near the top and there was only one way to get over it and with his guidance I would pick the correct way to get over it. Misreading the hand signals I tried clearing it by going straight over the top only to hear that infamous crunch followed by an abrupt stop. Once momentum is halted on such a climb things get rather hairy especially when one has to reverse partially back down the hill. With some manouvering I was back on the climb and up and over the rock and made it to the top which I reckoned had to be worth 10 on the bragometer.

Not to be outdone I hear the noise of yet another vehicle doing the climb and to my surprise it was Damo (Black_Rat) coming up the hill. My guess is that he thought if a ratty Pajero can do it then so could his Navara. :P Crunch on the same rock I believe and exactly the same run he did but he also made it to the top.

After the hill we set for camp looking forward to some dinner and laughs over a camp fire and of course some drinks. What a great time and it just seemed to get better. Mal and family were only doing the day trip so before it got too late we said our goodbyes and he set the Cruiser up for the homeward journey. Late Saturday night another vehicle pulls up and all we could see in the fireglow was the reflective jacket on someone who looked rather official and we assumed it was the local ranger coming to check things out. Wrong, it was actually fellow Ausfisher Andy (Dirt_Dag) coming to say g'day. After some socializing he set off home and left the permenant campers to continue the good times.

After minimal sleep some rather sorry looking campers (not mentioning names at this point because the photos will tell all) got up for breakfast only to hear yet another vehicle pulling up. A huge surprise when we realized it was Pinhead (Greg) and his lovely wife Sue who decided to join us for breakfast. Some more laughs were had and once they left it was back into some serious offroad again. Mt. Mee will never be the same but we saw a lot of it and yes we had to do the big hill again for Brett1907's sakes seeing as he arrived late "AGAIN" and missed some of the action experienced by the on time crew earlier Saturday. We did not disappoint and once again Phill sends the Navara up a second time as did I in the Pajero followed by Brett in his Hilux.

With Sunday quickly drawing to a close we set off back to camp to pack up and take in the weekend that we shared. Everyone who turned up I think weren't disappointed. The kids all had a ball as well and the waterhole was a popular venue for them. Thanks to all who came to the first official M&G and hope we can do another one soon. Sorry Mike if I got in before you in putting the report up but I was putting in photos from the camera and thought I may as well keep going. Once again congratulations to Mike and Bec for your engagement. The cake was lovely thanks Phill and it even doubled up as a birthday cake for Pinhead when he turned up. Win win situation!!!!!:D

04-03-2007, 09:33 PM
More pics of the trip.

04-03-2007, 09:36 PM
And because you liked the last lot of photos so much here is some more. ::)

04-03-2007, 09:41 PM
And finally congratulations to the engaged couple.

04-03-2007, 09:51 PM
Just a couple of more shots.

04-03-2007, 10:07 PM
I didn't hear any of Poodroo's bush poetry,

I was not enlightened by the_deckies, mudcrab secrets, but

As promised, I conducted the Mixed drinks experiment. ( some ) XXXX, ( many ) Jimmy Beam, ( plenty ) Champers, assorted ( found ) Reds, more cold and gold XXXX. So, who was last to bed and who was first to rise ?

Others here will enligthen you on the following subjects:-

Exhuast or not to Exhuast.

I'm Late again !

Campfire Dancing !

Sleeping during conversations !

Can I buy fuel somewhere ?

We did that hill in 2WD......!!!

Donut corner .. !

" Nope, this roads a dead end ".

NO, head the ' other ' south . >>> ???

Yes, he often cuts down trees in the middle of the night !

" are we there yet ? "

" when was the last time you recharged that battery ? "

" I'll have to show you how to operate that shower ?? !!!! "

Who is the right man for the job ? tail end Charlie !!

I only hit that tree twice ?

Don't follow me, I DO break stuff !

Where does this track go.....who cares........Left turn .....!

I turn it on, it goes out, I turn it off , it stays lit..............ffs !!!

I've had about 2 and a bit hours sleep since sat morning. Feeling a bit drowsey. Might hit the hay.

I will try to get the Video footage up and running by Tuesday night, The guilty should respond to the abovementioned . occurances ".

My report will follow with the footage.

G'night ............Phill

04-03-2007, 10:46 PM
Cruiser93 (Mal & Family) also made it up THE HILL on the Saturday ;) once was enough for me up that thing ;D

05-03-2007, 05:36 AM
Cruiser93 (Mal & Family) also made it up THE HILL on the Saturday ;) once was enough for me up that thing ;D

Oh but of course. That will teach me to do a report when I should have been in bed asleep. ::) I added in the appropriate "forgotten" bit of information into the main post. Thanks Damo. ;)

05-03-2007, 06:36 AM
I didn't hear any of Poodroo's bush poetry,

I was not enlightened by the_deckies, mudcrab secrets, but

As promised, I conducted the Mixed drinks experiment. ( some ) XXXX, ( many ) Jimmy Beam, ( plenty ) Champers, assorted ( found ) Reds, more cold and gold XXXX. So, who was last to bed and who was first to rise ?

Others here will enligthen you on the following subjects:-

Exhuast or not to Exhuast.

I'm Late again !

Campfire Dancing !

Can I buy fuel somewhere ?

Donut corner .. !

" Nope, this roads a dead end ".

NO, head the ' other ' south . >>> ???

Yes, he often cuts down trees in the middle of the night !

" are we there yet ? "

" when was the last time you recharged that battery ? "

" I'll have to show you how to operate that shower ?? !!!! "

Who is the right man for the job ? tail end Charlie !!

I only hit that tree twice ?

Don't follow me, I DO break stuff !

Where does this track go.....who cares........Left turn .....!

I've had about 2 and a bit hours sleep since sat morning. Feeling a bit drowsey. Might hit the hay.

I will try to get the Video footage up and running by Tuesday night, The guilty should respond to the abovementioned . occurances ".

My report will follow with the footage.

G'night ............Phill

Okay okay. I have to assume the exhaust thing was in relation to me so I'll go first in explaining it. ::) Quite early in the trip I noticed I had a rattle under the car. Didn't worry about it too much because everyone assured me that after doing this sort of driving all 4wd's develop extra rattles however after my first extreme hill climb the rattle was a lot louder and to me and everyone who heard it we immediately thought of the exhaust system esoecially since I got hung up a little on a rock during my first climb. The rattle by day 2 became a thumping noise so I decided to have a look under the car only to discover that the exhaust is fine but all the rubber stops for the suspension system are perished and stuffed and one in particular had flogged right out and was non-existent. Once I hit bitumen on my way home I realized that the car was handling strangely and in fact it was downright dangerous. Had to limp it home and decide that I can't use it for work until it is fixed. Will see what damage was done today when I drop the car into the workshop. :'(

05-03-2007, 07:39 AM
HI All,

Podroo beat me to the report, Bec and I had a great time, company was great, the laughs many, the driving fun,, for someone like me I went from a complete novice to just a novice. I learnt so much about what a 4Wd is capable of.

Thanks everyone for the cake and champers for Bec and our engagement, we where very touched, our highlight of the weekend.

As for the driving, doing A break for the first time for a novice like me had the eyes bulging especially downhill.... I was in 4WD high ( later at the bottom was told should have been in 4WD Low.. you get that... next time we did it I was far more relaxed, (discovered engine breaking... now thats a good thing) the following day when we tackled it again, Bec was looking around commenting on the scenery, that says it all.

As for that hill, well all i can say is the photo doesnt do it justice, when Phil went off I didnt expect him to reappear, then Poodroo, Cruiser and Black Rat all went up. That left me and Paul. Paul and I looked at each other, decided that we where more than happy a Nissan had made it up and met them the otherside. Next time knowing what i do now id probably tackle it.

All i can say to all who went, thanks for the good times and laughs. Ill post some piccies later when i find the camera charger.

Brett1907
05-03-2007, 08:10 AM
Now that was a fun weekend. Met some great poeple, found some great tracks and lookouts, saw some wildlife and drank some amber and red fluids! Now to the explanations!!!

I'm Late again !

Well, this time it was anticipated. Had to take my daughter to dancing in the morning so couldn't get up there till after lunch anyway. Then I had every car on the D'Aguilera Highway doing 80 in the 100 zone. But I made it, and after dropping the more breakable supplies off at the camp site I was able to catch up to the convoy for some gravel road driving. 2WD is all you need in the 'lux!!

It started with the deckie showing off his new gas lantern. No matches needed! So out ame all the lights. I had a nice new dual fuel this with a clear glass so should have been the brightest. Well, first of all my flash clicker thingy broke so I couldn't light it. I borrowed Poodroos and got it lit. It was too bright so I turned it down. By the time I sat down it had decided to turn itself off. Over I go again and its still too bright. There is enough light so I just turn it off. IT STAYS ON for about 10 minutes!!

Campfire Dancing !

If a lady asks me to dance (& I've had enough to drink) I will always dance with her (whether or not I can dance).

Thats what too much red wine does to you.

Now, I decided to follow Phill back to camp on Saturday. We lost the rest of the group on one of his 'famous' short cuts. I was also the only one with enough courage (read: INSANITY) to keep up with him. Phill then turns into this little track and proceeds up the hill. By the time we were half way up I'm sure we were both thinking 'I should be in 4WD for this'! Too late now, I wasn't going to stop. So the right foot guts flattened to keep momentum (and engine revs) up. My spare tyre came loose in the back and I could hear it flying around in the canopy. Near the top the 'lux starts to labour a little (thats the problem with petrol, you need the revs if in 2WD) and I'm trying to push the pedal through the floor. We got to the top!! What a rush!!

Donut corner .. !

Some others may have experienced this, but I'm approaching an intersection only to see dust and Phills ute going in circles. I've heard of 'eenie meenie miny moe' to choose which way to go but thats rediculous! So after he started off down a track I just had to have some fun too!

I think thats it. It was a great weekend and 'The Hill' was interesting. As I came up and around one of the trees there is Phill pointing at the rock, Oh #^%$ I said and line it up with the left tyre. Over, bang, and continued up the hill. At the top there was smoke coming from under the bonnet!!!!! Checked it out and it was just a bit of old oil caught in the oil filter drain point. Thank #%^* for that. I'd never have lived that down!

Oh yeh, SOMEONE put a glow stick in my beer!!! At least I couldn't loose it that way!!

Westie CALOUNDRA
05-03-2007, 09:59 AM
Sorry guys but time was against me on this one.

Caloundra and I did intend to pop out an see you on Sunday.

That hill I remember it well along with a few others out there and for the first time you can just see this is just going to hurt the back pocket, but it is a buz when you get there in one piece.

No doubt there will be many more of there trips in the future cause it sounds like a real Hoot was had by all.

Will be looking out for the next one.

BrandonH
05-03-2007, 10:51 AM
Sounds like you all had a ball!!! Great stuff:) My dad (with a slightly bigger boat to me) was crook and didn't want to go fishing this weekend:( and a mate of mine who was keen missed a dentist appointment friday and had to rebook for sat morning so I never made it out:'(
Went sunday morning instead up the creek and caught nothing but catfish:-[ Going by this I should have come up to mt mee::)

Next time guys;) ;D

Brandon...

05-03-2007, 11:49 AM
Hopefully this little video says something. Obviously you cannot begin to understand how steep this is without being there.

There is no audio......... I have more video and may produce it later.

If you notice Poodroo's Paj coming up the hill, just after he hits the ' rock ' you'll see them front end hit hard and it left a good impression in the centre of the rod.

That's right Brett, forgot about the > night time illuminated beer bottle !!

9poDpnWsexE

05-03-2007, 04:13 PM
Cool video clip Phill. Here's a quick cryptic one for you.
What is the relation between a natural gas pipeline and chilly beans?::)
Got my car over to Brad this morning and all is fixed and good again. Needed new trailing arm bushes. Mine were gone completely.

05-03-2007, 06:58 PM
I have had some beauty sleep and feeling sort of awake. Now for the things I can remember.

Arriving at the camp site the ‘ girls ‘ decided that we should pitch the tents in the gully. After a brief explanation about gravity and water, sun and shade, we erected the ‘ palace ‘ on the flat close to the fire-ring and tap. Set up the kitchen ( how many stoves / bbq;s did we have ? )

All up in no time thanks to thedeckie and crew. Lunch consisted of fresh buns and a cooked chook we grabbed at Woodford on the way through. Time to hit the roads. I left my ‘ dirty weekends ‘ book at camp with some visitors ( Kimbras sister and bro-in-law ) as they were maybe going to hit the lookout, but not straight away as they only had a ‘ softroader ‘.

‘A’ Break was good so far as steep stuff and views, then came the Hill. Ok, for those with diff locks it probably is nothing, but there is a gap in between two trees that we’ll say is narrow. I hit both mirrors. Prior to me going up, I walked it a bit to get myself aquainted with the ‘ obstacles “. Upon return, I asked my passengers ( 2 x 10y/o’s ) to hop out. They agreed quickly. They could see the ‘ issues ‘ that may occur.

Tackled the hill and reached the top with a relief that not only did I make it without rolling back down, breaking anything or embarrassing myself. Go the Nissan.

Poodroo, Mal and Black_Rat followed, with the Poo and Damo having a second shot at the rock due to a mis-alignment. But, all’s good and to the top they went. Mal did it easy. All agreed it was an experience and that they have a new found appreciation of what a true ( and standard ) 4WD can do.

Headed home and ran into Brett at the bitumen, as we were about to head off for a nature walk. Some of us did the ‘ loop ‘ twice……..DOH ! No, it wasn’t me.:-X

The track alluded to in an above post by Brett… Yes, I saw it and took off , but before you realize it, you are going skywards and I ain’t stopping to slame it into low range. That’d mean…..going backwards. Seriously, I am still amazed we got up that hill/ track in 2WD. OK, we got bounced a little, spun the wheels just about all the way up, but we made it.

Had a swim and settled in for the night. Dinner was cooked and eaten, although the organized cook for our crew became entangled with a stranger called “ Black Douglas “ and resorted to only doing the salad.

The conversation ring of chairs…………plenty of lubrication…….full moon.. does it get any better ? ;D

The kids were all great, tending the fire, sparklers, glow sticks etc. Really a credit to the parents.

Well, one by one the gang headed to bed, with the boys, Damo, Mike, Brett, Paul and myself left at the death. With Brett holding a beer and sleeping we decided that maybe we can use some shuteye for tomorrow. In the morning, Mike told me it was 2.45am when we hit the mattress. Bugga, as I was up daybreak along with some of the kids. 8-)

A wake up swim, cuppa and time to cook breakie. Bacon, snags, eggs, onions, toast. Yummo. Again, one by one the troops arose looking a little worse for wear.

Off we head again I took an interesting side track and managed to put us at the A Break Y junction, which meant we bypassed ‘ The Gantry Day Use Area “. The Hill was in our sites once again. Myself, Poodroo and Brett beat it. Damo said that once was enough, Mike is, as he said, still a novice and may have a crack next time, Paul is taking the “ not my 4WD “ approach. It’d be hard to explain to the boss !!!

Headed back to camp and packed. ( thanks for the assist, Trudey and Andrew ) Did I gloss over it ? Yep. Why, well, turn up at the next one and you will find out. Ya just hadda be there !!!!!!!;)

Who turned up… mmm memory, we’ll have a try:- ::)

Phill ( me ) , Kimbra, Amber, Thomas, Paul, Liz, Mitchell, Mike, Bec, Andrew, Trudey, Kyle, Sheray, Mal, Tanya ( didn’t get meet the kids ), Damo, Brett, Greg, Sue, Andy, Linley and Niel. Goanna’s, Kookaburras and the rest of the wildlife.

05-03-2007, 08:41 PM
Poodroo, Mal and Black_Rat followed, with the Poo and Damo having a second shot at the rock due to a mis-alignment. But, all’s good and to the top they went. Mal did it easy. All agreed it was an experience and that they have a new found appreciation of what a true ( and standard ) 4WD can do.

I was suprised what they can do ! My first comment to someone when seeing the hill and Lucky_Phil at the bottom was "..is he (expleitive) serious ??? :o "

Getting up the hill made my weekend, only a few superfical scratches from the deadend tracks ::) ;D

And a few minor chips out of the rear tyres, self inflicted in 2WD going around corners with a bit too much right boot ;D

Pic of the offending rock with Lucky_Phil giving guidence, check out the rear wheel :o

05-03-2007, 09:25 PM
All i can say is the pics dont do it justice, that was a steep track, well done guys

Brett1907
06-03-2007, 09:38 AM
Yes, it was quite a challenging hill. I'm lucky, the diff locks made it an easy job. But it was still technically challenging trying to get the 'lux through without taking out the sides of the ute or removing the awning via a tree. Some VERY tight turns while negotiating huge washouts.

Cudos to the standard 4WDs, champion effort getting them up there!!

PS: I may have fallen asleap, BUT I DIDN'T SPILL THE BEER!!!!

thedeckie
06-03-2007, 03:42 PM
What can I say..........that hill was abit nasty for a novice like me and of course not wanting to damage the new girl.:P

I think someone else may have said it,no matter how many photo's or video you had of that hill it's not the same as being there.

Had a great weekend,finally put a few more faces to names.Thanks to the organisers and those people who couldn't be there all weekend but came up to say gidday.

can I make a suggestion for the next one.........Double Island Point,that way we could have a fish as well,maybe there are other spots that people could nominate.

06-03-2007, 07:24 PM
What can I say..........that hill was abit nasty for a novice like me and of course not wanting to damage the new girl.:P

I think someone else may have said it,no matter how many photo's or video you had of that hill it's not the same as being there.

Had a great weekend,finally put a few more faces to names.Thanks to the organisers and those people who couldn't be there all weekend but came up to say gidday.

can I make a suggestion for the next one.........Double Island Point,that way we could have a fish as well,maybe there are other spots that people could nominate.

G'day Paul. Always open to suggestions mate. Some time ago I did a thread which basically started the ball rolling. There were some very good ideas as to places to go in that thread. This is the link to it if you want to have a look through. http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=88402

07-03-2007, 07:50 AM
Sounds like a good time was had by all.

I'd love to say I was wondering how the M&G was going while I was sitting on a beach in Fiji drinking rum, but that'd be a lie.

Hopefully my ute will be back on the road this/next week, so we'll be ready for the next outing.

See you there.

C.J.

07-03-2007, 05:39 PM
GBC,
glad your trucks back on the road soon, Fiji drinking rum, now that wouldnt have been too bad either.

07-03-2007, 05:42 PM
who is the good looking bloke next to my missus in the pic????

07-03-2007, 07:13 PM
who is the good looking bloke next to my missus in the pic????

Um that would be you I believe Greg. ::) Once again thanks for dropping in on Sunday. Was good to see you and Sue again.

thedeckie
07-03-2007, 08:52 PM
That's not Greg,that's Sue's toy boy..........good looking young fella too!!!!!;D ;D

08-03-2007, 05:36 AM
LOL Paul...good looking is one thing I doubt I would ever be called...usually the grumpy old bugger.

08-03-2007, 07:12 AM
Retrieved a couple of shots off the other camera that Trudy was using and realized a couple of photos she took actually show to a slightly better degree of steepness and also difficulty with trees with the hill climb so I thought I would share them as well. One is of Phill heading up in the Navara and me in the Pajero. The shots also show the washouts we had to negotiate. ;D

08-03-2007, 04:07 PM
On a side note, I found ( or at least I think I have ) the whistling noise that started on the way up to Mt Mee on Saturday and bugged me the whole weekend.

It appears that a piece of plastic was broken on the radiator shroud and was getting caught in the fan, this only happen at speed as the air was sucking it towards the fan and therefore touching it making THAT sound. So, it was not the turbo, zippy tie around the tailshaft or a leaf caught in the aircon vents.

Also found a couple of small dings in the drivers door. looks like I threw up a stick or two !!!

Good to see NO incriminating photos went up. I will say that the folk at Woodford on Sunday were bemused at the sight of a person filling their ' onstreet ' wheelie bin with many things making glass like sounds. 4 bags of bottles and one carton. mmmmm somebody likes the giggle juice ????

bring on the rain I say. Good idea Paul, hit the beach next time, Bribie, Double Island, Rainbow.............. Sittin next to the fire, sucking a coldie watching the tailor cook on the barbie........ yep, I can live with that...!!!!!!!!!!

Leigh77
08-03-2007, 09:10 PM
Retrieved a couple of shots off the other camera that Trudy was using and realized a couple of photos she took actually show to a slightly better degree of steepness and also difficulty with trees with the hill climb so I thought I would share them as well. One is of Phill heading up in the Navara and me in the Pajero. The shots also show the washouts we had to negotiate. ;D

That looks to be a nice warm up track that one...was there anything else out there apart from this one hillclimb...anything more challenging? Could be worth a look if there is more challenging tracks out there.

08-03-2007, 09:43 PM
That looks to be a nice warm up track that one...was there anything else out there apart from this one hillclimb...anything more challenging? Could be worth a look if there is more challenging tracks out there.
This was the worst track we could find ;) it would have been more challenging if it had been wet. All the tracks we travelled on were bone dry.

The only other challenge would be to make your own tracks, which wouldn't be wise in a State Forrest ::)

09-03-2007, 12:37 AM

Well first of all I think we went on the trip because we enjoy the friendship and meeting fellow Ausfish members which is why it is called a M&G so regardless of how easy or hard the tracks are it is always worth going. Now as for the hill climb it was plenty challenging for those who turned up in fact not all of the members tried it as they felt it would push them past their comfort levels. One member did the climb once and decided once was enough. The rest of the tracks ranged from easy to fairly difficult and even one of the other hills caught a member (not mentioning who) off guard in the wrong gear and he didn't make the climb having to go back and try again. ::) We had fun which is all that counts! Have written down Leigh77 for the next M&G so he can show us how easy these tracks really are. ;)

Leigh77
09-03-2007, 09:14 AM
By no means was I having a go ay anyone...I apologise if thats what it sounded like.

I know different people have different levels of experience/confidence when offroad and I respect that.

And some people are not willing risk panel damage as well...again that is their choice.

I dont really do the whole M&G thing (sorry if that makes me sound like a snob) because I have a busy lifestyle as is, so I cant really warrant spending a weekend with people that I dont even know.

But...(just in case you are all thinking that I am bailing out on Poodroos' offer)...if an offroad M&G is ever organised (my style of offroad, not just cruising through a state forrest) I will be in for sure...and I could rustle up a few extra trucks as well.

To put it bluntly I didnt put all the time and $$$ into my truck so I could drive around in a state forrest with Stocko Rav4s', Pajeros', Prados' and the like...I come to play! and if that means panel damage...so be it!

Brett1907
09-03-2007, 09:39 AM
Wow Leigh, you do like to alienate people. Have you forgotten when you had a normal 4WD or did you just build a comp spec truck on day 1?

I had the most capable 4WD at the M&G and probably could have left everyone there for dead. But the whole point of this forum is to share opinions, give help to those who ask and to meet new people. How are those who are interested in getting into the more extreme forms of 4WDing when those with the experience (that is you from what you have said) aren't willing to give them the benefit of your experience?

There were a couple there on the weekend who would probably enjoy the chance to go to a park and learn what it is to tackle really difficult stuff. But others who weren't interested in that. That was the whole point of the M&G. To meet some people and do a bit of 4WDing.

And don't think just cause my ute is new I am afraid of panel damage. The photo of me taking to the front of the 'lux with a sledge was when the ute was 3 or 4 days old. I will try to take the line which will cause the least damage, but damage always occurs offroad. I have yet to own a 4WD I haven't broken, standard or modified.

geoff72
09-03-2007, 09:41 AM
leigh, busy lifestyle,blablabla,sounds to me like your
TO COOL FOR
SCHOOL, :P

Leigh77
09-03-2007, 02:04 PM
Ahh I somehow new I was going to be flamed for my last post. (just like I did for my first post...where all I did was ask if there was anything more challenging out there). I wasnt knocking anyone for not trying "the hill", or what they thought about it, or what they wrote about it....A simple question was all that was asked. Come to think of it, I never said that track was easy either...All I asked was if there is anything more challenging.

Perhaps I should explain it better...or perhaps not, it seems you have already made up your mind...But I will try in vain anyway.

Since none of you know me, you wouldnt know that I am self employed and work (on average) 12 hours a day...Most the time that includes Saturdays.

So when I do get the chance to do "what I do" I tend to do things that I really enjoy doing...4wd-ing, fishing and spending time with my family (most of the time the family thing co-incides with the other 2). But I am sorry to say that a M&G for a web forum is not one of those things. I didnt join this forum in a hope to meet new people. You seem (by the responces given) to be upset that I dont "want" to come to the M&Gs' and offer my experience, you seem to think that I think I am too good for that. I will gladly offer advice, assistance and even my keys (have done it before, and will do it again) to someone just learning the joys of 4wd-ing.

When we go on our adventures there is always a newbie...oops sorry...less experienced person tagging along as well. Do you honestly think we just let them go and see what happens?

But in the end, think what you want to think...I have a close circle of friends that know me, and what I am like.

Different people get a kick out of different things...build the bridge!

geoff72
09-03-2007, 02:58 PM
i guess its just your wording

09-03-2007, 03:15 PM
tis ok Leigh...a 12 hour day is a short one for some but I understand your reasons..and respect same..by your post your vast experience would probably overshadow that of anyone else on here...we would be out of our depth...and I don't even put my ute in 4WD often...don't gp thru the scrub much.

09-03-2007, 04:03 PM
Leigh, my highlight of the weekend was waking up WITHOUT a hangover !!! ;D

Yes, your first post sounded a tad ' snobish " but that's OK. Sometimes it is really hard to put into words what one wants to say and the ' emotion ' is taken out of it due to plain text, and that is why ' smilies ' are available.

Others on the weekend have varying degress of experience and willingness to ' experiment ', that was the point. For meeting new people, well I get a buzz out of that. We had one case of 2 members knowing a third party, the old six degrees of seperation thing. ( in this case 1 degree ). ::)

The others may have noticed that I drive , well.......... shall we say..... a wee bit faster or harder than most. But I can come back to the pack no problems, as I was once a novice, I remember being there and feeling anxious.

I have a mate that drives in the extreme comps around the traps and that weekend he was at Cruiser park breaking tailshafts etc. he loves that, I'd love to do it, I also love to watch it. I've driven speedway as well, all good fun.

Then again, a cold XXXX after a swim, then sitting by the campfire listening to others stories about life in general does do wonders for the soul. Waking up without a hangover is the icing on the cake. ( I may have looked like I was hungover ::) ;D )

Might get to see you in " The Pig Pen " one day Leigh ?

Hamish73
09-03-2007, 04:25 PM
Sorry for the thread hijack, but if anyone here rides trails aswell, I'm heading out with the trusty old KTM tomorrow for a bash. Havent riden since I discovered fishing :-[
www.putfile.com/hamish73 (http://www.putfile.com/hamish73) if anyone wants to see it from a different perspective

09-03-2007, 04:27 PM
Waking up without a hangover is the icing on the cake.

Or was that eating most of the cake:P Good cake it was ;D

09-03-2007, 04:33 PM
Sorry for the thread hijack, but if anyone here rides trails aswell, I'm heading out with the trusty old KTM tomorrow for a bash. Havent riden since I discovered fishing :-[
www.putfile.com/hamish73 (http://www.putfile.com/hamish73) if anyone wants to see it from a different perspective

As a side note, having a UHF or hand held radio in the 4wds help a lot. On a few occasions we had motor bikes and other 4WDs coming in the opposite direction and it was handy for the leader to let everyone know with all the dust and blind corners ;)

09-03-2007, 10:22 PM
Finally got around to recharging the camera batteries so thought id post a couple of pics

09-03-2007, 11:06 PM
Put a shirt on will ya ! :-X ;D ;D ;D

09-03-2007, 11:32 PM
i can blame bec for those photos, at least deckies got his on ;D

09-03-2007, 11:49 PM
Mike,

Spin us up a special toon ;D !!!!!!

10-03-2007, 12:35 AM
Yeah Mike. What Damo said. I have been waiting for that cartoon Mike style since this thread started. Lol Here is some more pics in the meantime. I have so many! The waterhole was a popular venue. Make the most of it while there is water in it I reckon. :-/

10-03-2007, 03:08 AM
Put a shirt on will ya ! :-X ;D ;D ;D

LOL Damo..I was thinking the same.

10-03-2007, 06:40 AM
Well after seeing that pic, I agree. ;D

Trouble is that bod looks great from above ( looking down on it ::) )

phill

10-03-2007, 08:39 AM
been holding of on that toon, still on holidays, ;D

mike

10-03-2007, 02:31 PM
I remember doing that track one time after torrential rain - it had torn the A-Break hill climb a new one. It was utterly knarled up - I was luck my Disco has traction control because the axle twisters were pretty hard. Without that or lockers I would have had problems. As it was it was pretty grueling given the angles. I crashed down pretty bloody hard on the trailing arms a couple of times. A mate behind me in an MU sustained a broken tie tod end taking the same line behind me. I spoke to the rangers up the top and they couldnt believe how chewed up it was - they said it would be graded and repaired. Sure enough next couple of times it was fixed up nicely and now that its steep but a doddle. First timers though will have their hearts in their mouths - its all about good clean (or dirty) fun and everyone has different levels to achieve that at.

10-03-2007, 07:24 PM
I remember doing that track one time after torrential rain - it had torn the A-Break hill climb a new one. It was utterly knarled up - I was luck my Disco has traction control because the axle twisters were pretty hard. Without that or lockers I would have had problems. As it was it was pretty grueling given the angles. I crashed down pretty bloody hard on the trailing arms a couple of times. A mate behind me in an MU sustained a broken tie tod end taking the same line behind me. I spoke to the rangers up the top and they couldnt believe how chewed up it was - they said it would be graded and repaired. Sure enough next couple of times it was fixed up nicely and now that its steep but a doddle. First timers though will have their hearts in their mouths - its all about good clean (or dirty) fun and everyone has different levels to achieve that at.

The trial run to Mt. Mee was done the day after a big storm went through needless to say there were large puddles to drive through and muddy climbs to traverse. Phill had some amusing video footage of me trying to launch the Pajero up a challenging washed out hill but it was never posted on Ausfish because of a few choice words that were slightly above the "G" rating. ::) But yes rain makes it a whole new ball game when taking on those tracks. So are you working on that toon yet Mike? ;D

10-03-2007, 07:40 PM
Im still officially on holidays until Monday, though admit to having a few ideas,
mike

12-03-2007, 07:35 PM
Come on Mike. You've been at work a whole day now. Where's the toon? ;D
Hope your first day back was a good one mate.

Boar
14-03-2007, 12:13 PM
Mate I'm interested in the Kumo tyres you have been talking about. I live in Pt Douglas if you can suggest any tyre dealers I should try. What is the details of the tyres?
Thanks for your help.

14-03-2007, 07:07 PM
Mate I'm interested in the Kumo tyres you have been talking about. I live in Pt Douglas if you can suggest any tyre dealers I should try. What is the details of the tyres?
Thanks for your help.

I can highly recommend them. First set went for 130,000 klms and this set I have had on since september and have given them a real hard time and to date they aren't showing real signs of wear. If you look up this link it is a dealer locator for Kumho Tyres. You should be able to find someone close to you. I am running the A/T''s and find them great especially for the money. I paid $195.00 each fitted and balanced.

http://www.kumho.com.au/dealer_locator.php

17-03-2007, 10:35 PM
Arrrrrrrrr come on Mike ! We want to see a toon ! ;D

How about one sitting around the fire with Brett zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzing ;D ;D ;D

I'll show my toon if you do ;D

Try and beat this ! I bet you can't beat stik man ! ;D ;D ;D

18-03-2007, 07:41 AM
LMAO Damo. Good one. I somehow think Mike's toon may show Stik man up a little.(Only marginally);D It's been a long time coming though. The suspense is near killing me. ::)

19-03-2007, 07:02 AM
Hey guys,

No pressure,, they'll be up soon, have to colour them,, ow where are those crayons

mike

20-03-2007, 06:43 PM
HI All,

Thought id post up one of the toons im working on, its one of quite a few im colouring up, ill post up another tomorrow, etc until im done, i was thinking of getting them into a sort of comic strip, anyway this one says it all,

mike

20-03-2007, 07:22 PM
Absolutely brilliant Mike. That's a classic. I had to laugh when Paul was feeding those goannas steak and one was having obvious troubles getting a big chunk of meat down its throat and Paul's comment was "I was having just as much trouble chewing that steak last night!" ::) Well done Mike for capturing the moment in your true artistic fashion. Looking forward to the sequential toons to follow. :)

20-03-2007, 08:47 PM
;D ;D ;D Look forward to the rest of them ! Poor thing is probably still passing it ! ;D

20-03-2007, 09:12 PM
chilli bean sauce helps digestion i hear, ;D

20-03-2007, 09:15 PM
BTW Mike, I finally got the courage to woof down ' those beans " tonight. Whimpy............... but then again, we'll see what's doin tomorrow morning :o ::)

Phill.

20-03-2007, 10:06 PM
Sorry to hear that,

yep cans of chilli can be disappointing, false advertising i reckon, the test is how many rolls of toilet paper in the frig mate, Also next time dont worry Ill bring my own recipie,,, guaranteed results next time mate, ;D

Brett1907
21-03-2007, 07:07 AM
Nice toon Mike, can't wait to see the others.

21-03-2007, 04:04 PM
:dizzy:......... the boys at work congratulate you Mike. :thumbsup: Those beans have worked a treat today, pity we were working outside though.

Apparently there was a new type of ' animal ' roaming around the site today...

" Odouress Extremous genus:- philliosous " ;D ;D

Hey you do the toons. I'll do the jokes :idea:

Stay tuned people, there is something in the wings regarding more offroad activities. Info due in this forum by first weekend in April.

21-03-2007, 04:12 PM
:dizzy:......... the boys at work congratulate you Mike. :thumbsup: Those beans have worked a treat today, pity we were working outside though.

Apparently there was a new type of ' animal ' roaming around the site today...

" Odouress Extremous genus:- philliosous " ;D ;D

Hey you do the toons. I'll do the jokes :idea:

Stay tuned people, there is something in the wings regarding more offroad activities. Info due in this forum by first weekend in April.

You going to take some joke writing lessons first? When can we expect the first joke to arrive on here?

21-03-2007, 06:58 PM
phil, only to happy to help,, anyway heres the next drawing, without captions, think it says it all about me and tent erecting, next one tommorrow

mike

21-03-2007, 07:18 PM
Lol Mike. Well captured yet again. Love them in colour. For those who didn't attend the M&G at Mt. Mee you really did miss a great weekend away.

21-03-2007, 07:34 PM
;D ;D ;D It wasn't that bad Mike :-/

Phil only had a weeks camping gear for one night :-X ;D

21-03-2007, 07:55 PM
;D Well credit wheres credits due, he brought everything except the chilli, ;D Id hate to see what his serious setup is,,,

21-03-2007, 08:05 PM
OK,, I do have Chilli..... I get it from here. It's the place I told you about.

Take a squizz around.

http://www.chilliwillies.com.au/

here's some of the names:-

Roast Garlic & Mustard
Hot Honey & Coconut
Roast Garlic & Papaya
Aussie Back Burn
Fire in the Hole
Blurter Hurter
Habanero Spontaneous Combustion
Mango & Ginger Hot Bot
Smack My Ass & Call Me Cindy
Calypso Tropical Butt Burner
Aussie Ring Stinger

phill

21-03-2007, 08:12 PM
Now thats some serious hot sauce there Phil, that smack my ass and call me cindy looks good ;D

21-03-2007, 09:42 PM
If ya want hot. go the habanero peppers every time.

You can order them thru that web site or most ' local ' butchers stock them.

Must get off this computer............................!!!!!!!!!!!

phill

23-03-2007, 11:01 AM
HI All,
heres the next one of Phil, Damo and Brett solving the worlds problems

mike

23-03-2007, 02:04 PM
I would definitely like a copy of these Mike. Awesome job once again mate. :thumbsup: :tekst-toppie: :laola:

25-03-2007, 09:45 PM
Um the toons have stopped Mike. What's happenning? lol

Brett1907
26-03-2007, 07:01 AM
See!!! I didn't spill the wine!!!! LOLOLOLOL

Geeze you do a good job Mike.

26-03-2007, 06:46 PM
Thanks for the comments, heres the next one, anyone remember that road which ended nowhere... but i kept up my end as tail end charlie... the UHF conversations where interesting to say the least ::) saving the best for last...next toons deal with the Hill :o

26-03-2007, 07:15 PM
:o :o :o 8-)

phil

27-03-2007, 05:53 AM
Thanks for the comments, heres the next one, anyone remember that road which ended nowhere... but i kept up my end as tail end charlie... the UHF conversations where interesting to say the least ::) saving the best for last...next toons deal with the Hill :o

Best for last? Mate those other toons are so good it is going to take some doing. Thanks for sharing them with us. ;)

youngharry52
28-03-2007, 03:36 PM
gday guys,

any idea where i can get a map of the forestry track through to Mt Archer camp ground? i am sure i used to have one, but ya know how things get lost when ya tidy up. is it true that ya still need a permit to traverse the track also.

thanks

28-03-2007, 03:58 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=106960

03-04-2007, 08:56 PM
So where are the rest of the toons? ? ? Lol
Ya didn't think we forgot about them did you Mike? :P

03-04-2007, 09:34 PM
Hi mate,

Thought I'd make you wait :D ;D , actually sort of laid up right now at home with temporary filling on a root canal which has just exploded Monday, got an appointment tomorrow for a temp filling for easter,,, will get back onto the rest of the toons after easter, now spending my time on Ausfish but with a mighty tooth ache i wouldnt wish on anyone ;(
mike

04-04-2007, 02:35 AM
Mate there is nothing worse than a bad toothache. I have a fear of dentists. It is not the tooth pain but rather the bill at the end of it all. Dentists share something in common with ducks. They can both shove their bills up there backsides!!! ::)
All the best with that Mike.